what were the starting line ups?

Great night nice crowd and Limerick deserving the win hope it continues on Friday. One thing bad though one of our flags went missing "super blues" has been all over the country and its sad that it should go missing at the first time of meeting Rovers in so long. So if any fans have any knowledge of its whereabouts can ye try and get it back or let someone know in Limerick on Friday.

Thats awful. We have never had Trouble with the Flag before. It's a bad reflection on Shamrock Rovers Supporters that this has happened. Overall I thought we just about to deserve to win although it must be said that the Shams were very poor. Different Game on Fri Night however. Waters on the wing for me does not fit and we had no width on the flanks last night. Also we tended to defend too deep at times but overall we just about deserved it.

Once again Paul Rose and Tommy Barrett were head and Shoulders above all on the pitch.

BTW The New look Badges are great..Fair Play Gael
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Really enjoyed the game - thought there was very little between teh sides and Friday could go either way - should be a cracker.

My man of the match was Robbie - closely followed by Tommy (he just hit a couple of wayward passes but otherwise he was fantastic). A proper referee and Robbie would have been more effective - every time the ball came up to him the centre half was over his like a rash.

Great craic in the shed too - but I am not convinced by the birdie song .

I'll post a message on the Ultras site about the flag - see what happens.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by lim abroad
    what were the starting line ups?
    Limerick FC, Mooney, Woulfe (Sinnott 87) Buckley, Kiely, Purcell, Barrett, Molan, Lester, Kelleher (McCarthy 90) Rose,Waters.

Shamrock Rvs, Murphy, McGill, Clarke, Price, Kenny, Scully, Duffy, Doolan (Ryan 68) Purcell, Flood (Ammond 59) Cassidy.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Lads,we beat Rovers in the quarter final when we won the LC a couple of years ago. We beat derry in the final but who did we beat in the semi. I'm racking my brains but can't remember - must be old age coming on.

I thought we beat 4 premier teams on the way. Cork in Turners Cross, Rovers in the Jacks, Derry in the final. Was it Galway?

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD
    Thats awful. We have never had Trouble with the Flag before. It's a bad reflection on Shamrock Rovers Supporters that this has happened. Overall I thought we just about to deserve to win although it must be said that the Shams were very poor. Different Game on Fri Night however. Waters on the wing for me does not fit and we had no width on the flanks last night. Also we tended to defend too deep at times but overall we just about deserved it.

Once again Paul Rose and Tommy Barrett were head and Shoulders above all on the pitch.

BTW The New look Badges are great..Fair Play Gael
    Firstly its Rovers. Secondly your flag goes missing and you automatically blame us. Has it occured to you that one of your own might have taken it?

Rather lose last night than friday to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    Lads,we beat Rovers in the quarter final when we won the LC a couple of years ago. We beat derry in the final but who did we beat in the semi. I'm racking my brains but can't remember - must be old age coming on.

I thought we beat 4 premier teams on the way. Cork in Turners Cross, Rovers in the Jacks, Derry in the final. Was it Galway?
    1st Round: Galway Utd 0-1 Limerick. (Derek Whyte winner in extra time)

Qtr Final: Cork City 0-1 Limerick. Carthy late winner.

Semi-Final: Limerick 1-0 Shamrock Rovers. Brian Donnellan.

Final: Limerick FC 2-1 Derry City
    (Foley 45, J Whyte 84pen) (Deery 42]

Second Leg [ Brandywell]
    Derry City 1-0 Limerick FC [aet, 2-3 pen]
    [Coyle 73pen]

(penalties (Limerick shoot first):
    John Paul Stokes 0-1, Tommy McCallion 1-1;
    Pat Purcell 1-2, Eddie McCallion (saved) 1-2;
    John Whyte (saved) 1-2, Darren Kelly 2-2;
    Paul Finucane 2-3, Gareth Mullan (saved) 2-3;
    Ciaran Foley (saved) 2-3, Jamie Hughes (hit bar) 2-3

Who do you want in the next round?When is the draw taking place?

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Has it occured to you that one of your own might have taken it?
    Well there's some Rovers fans on your message board taking credit for it anyway. So no, I don't think it was some of our own fans.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    Well there's some Rovers fans on your message board taking credit for it anyway. So no, I don't think it was some of our own fans.
    Eh no there's not. Fans saying check under Noel Mooney's wig means they have a sense of humour about it.

Few posters are saying it was some local kids. Check again.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    They're not taking credit - they're taking the p1ss.

Also, it may not have been a Rovers fan. But there is huge circumstantial evidence that it was. It was down in that corner near the Rovers fans. The flag has been displayed in Limerick for a few seasons and has never been touched. It has been at all the other 1st division grounds and has arrived home safe. Also, Rovers fans have previous.

Although now you mention it it could have been those pesky Bohs fans dressed up in Hoops just to give you a bad name. Isn't that what it always is?

Eh no there's not. Fans saying check under Noel Mooney's wig means they have a sense of humour about it.
    I will apologise on this one. I was e-mailed a partial link by another Limerick fan...

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    Also, Rovers fans have previous.
    And there you have it folks - all the evidence you need.

You'd think that Limerick fans, of all people, would know how ridiculous lazy stereotyping is......obviously not.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

1,552 Posts
    Rather lose last night than friday to be honest.
    I see your point- but consider this. Last nights result earns Limerick an extra two ranking points (at least) over Rovers, meaning that if both reach the same stage of the FAI cup that Limerick can finish one league place behind Rovers but be ranked ahead. That's only for this years 20% of the points anyway....

Of course Rovers will more than make that up from taking more of the 30% on offer for 5 year record. That factor and Hogan Park make it hard to see how Limerick can get promoted this year. It may actually make more sense to get rid of a few players and put the money into structure and the like. Interesting times as we approach the FAI league!

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps
    It may actually make more sense to get rid of a few players and put the money into structure and the like. Interesting times as we approach the FAI league!
    Can seehow you'd come to this conclusion but it ain't necessarily so. There is money there for structure. But we can't draw it down until our former chairman, the reverend father, agrees to sign a long term lease. This is the single factor holding back structural investment - not money.

In the absence of this, what keeps attendances up is winning so we would have the worst of all worlds if we had a sh1te team and the money in the bank but no way of spending it.

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    And there you have it folks - all the evidence you need.

You'd think that Limerick fans, of all people, would know how ridiculous lazy stereotyping is......obviously not.

It was one point of many. I don't think it's stereotyping. I don't believe all or even a majority of Rovers fans would even contemplate nicking a flag. It is just a coincidence that the first time it happens it is against Rovers.

More like some local knackers turned up cos we were in town. Did you not just get an explanation on the Rovers MB from a Rovers fan who was one of the last to leave the ground?

Well, I speak for myself and I responded to that message.

Anyway, we'll keep a better eye tonight when there will be even more "knackers" at the game. Let's forget all about flags, tonight is all about three points and staying top of the league.