48 Posts
    Kildare County have signed:

Alan McDermott from Dundalk
    Philly Gorman - back from army duty
    Alan Kelly - played with Dublin City last season
    Trevor Bowers - signed from Coill Dubh in the non-league. He scored 25 goals for them last season and scored four goals in five games for the Oscar Traynor Kildare side, as well as being an ammateur international.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint
    Surely they'd be much better off getting the ground sorted out/wiping out any debts they have?
    Work on the new 1700 seater stand, complementing press boxes, toilets and offices are due to start towards the end of the season. This will bring seating capacity of the RSC up to 3000. The athletics track has already been installed. WE dont owe any substantial debts AFAIK and the Management Committee are running the business side of things very astutely.

The Club is under intense pressure from supporters and the local press to improve matters on the pitch, hence our delve into the transfer market.

Alan McDermott from Dundalk
    Trevor Bowers - signed from Coill Dubh in the non-league. He scored 25 goals for them last season and scored four goals in five games for the Oscar Traynor Kildare side, as well as being an ammateur international.
    Gorman and McDermott are decent signings. I don't think Alan Kelly will play much because i don't think he is fully commiting to training after a year playing GAA for Carlow. Bowers is interesting, i saw bits of him playing for Coill Dubh. He is quick but a bit small. It's a massive step up for him though, i would imagine that it could be next season before he makes a real impact. What has happend to Derek Delaney by the way? he hasn't been involved in a long time.

It's interesting that the club is starting to bring in the likes of bowers, Eoin Kavanagh and John Flynn. Good to see local players getting a look in but i hope that the board and John Ryan remember that we are still an Eircom League team so there is no point in just filling the team with junior players. We need experienced Eircom League players too if we are to ever get away from the bottom of the league.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Philly
    Is that the same Liberian tour he's been on since late last year or has he returned home since? Very effective striker at First Divison level, provided he keeps his temper in check.
    I know he's popular in Kildare, but his best days are long behind him, sadly. Still puts forth the effort, at least.

No new signings at DC that I'm aware of. The comically rotund Brendan Markey (last sighted at Pat's) re-signed on a free transfer about a month ago and has hauled himself off the bench for a couple of substitute appearances.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan
    The comically rotund Brendan Markey (last sighted at Pat's) re-signed on a free transfer about a month ago and has hauled himself off the bench for a couple of substitute appearances.
    You missed a sighting - he was at Kildare County briefly earlier in the season

Originally Posted by Sheridan
    The comically rotund Brendan Markey (last sighted at Pat's) re-signed on a free transfer about a month ago and has hauled himself off the bench for a couple of substitute appearances.

You missed a sighting - he was at Kildare County briefly earlier in the season
    Only for a couple of friendlies, never played a competitive game. Goes to show how bad he was, if we didn't even sign him!!!

Heres one thing I don’t understand

Lots of Bohs fans saying that Crowe would love a move back to Bohs.
    Lots of posters here saying Shels have not paid their players in two weeks.
    Lots of posters here saying contracts are null and void if you don’t pay a player for two week.

Now heres the bit I don’t get !

Why have Bohs offered Shels money to take an unhappy player with no contract
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    Come on, this is Bohs we're talking about - they can't help p!ssing away their hard-earned cash.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Heres one thing I don’t understand

Lots of Bohs fans saying that Crowe would love a move back to Bohs.
    Lots of posters here saying Shels have not paid their players in two weeks.
    Lots of posters here saying contracts are null and void if you don’t pay a player for two week.

Now heres the bit I don’t get !

We like to help our poor neighbours. Thats just the kind of club we are!
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Or maybe one of the above three statements is untrue.

You work out for yourselves which one it is
    Last edited by higgins; 12/07/2006 at 5:08 PM.
    www.ssdg.ie

Just confirmed on www.waterford-united.ie that Alan Reynolds has resigned for the blues for this year and for the rest of next season, also james chambers is staying on at the club, also heard of another 1 or 2 more major signings to be announced before the deadline is up, will post up if i hear anymore.

Whats your opinon on Mr Chambers ?
    www.ssdg.ie

There is no evidence to suggest that Bohs have offered MONEY for Crowe.
    GF wants him, Crowe wants back but Ollie is doing his best to scupper the deal!

Dublin city have signe Lee Roche from Pats. Not sure if its permanent or loan deal. Pats expect to have one more player leave and up to 4 to come in. Have heard the rumours but will won't name names until they sign

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans
    There is no evidence to suggest that Bohs have offered MONEY for Crowe.
    GF wants him, Crowe wants back but Ollie is doing his best to scupper the deal!

How could Ollie scupper a deal between a player who wants to sign (fair play Schumi ) for Bohs if his contract is null and void

Have you figured out yet which of the above three is incorrect ?
    Last edited by higgins; 13/07/2006 at 4:19 PM.
    www.ssdg.ie

How could Ollie scupper a deal between a player who wants to sing for Bohs if his contract is null and void
    He could **** up his vocal chords in some way.

164 Posts
    Whats your opinon on Mr Chambers ?
    A bit disappointing so far, but it would be difficult for anyone to show their potential in our team so far this season. Great passing ability at times. Usually plays the two or three best passes in each game, but then gives it away a load too. We've played him in in a three man centre midfield. In the early part of the season, he was giving 100% - certainly not afraid of a tackle. Since the break, I think he's looked lethargic and possibly not fit enough. Yet to score for us, although he's been terribly unlucky half a dozen times. His discipline has been poor. He missed the Bray game through suspension (for 4 bookings) and has since been booked in both games he's played!

Could be a good player in time, but I wouldn't have lost sleep if he'd gone back to Shels for the rest of the season.

Thanks bluemovie.

I only got to see him play as a sub a couple of times and he looked ok but he was never going to get a look in at Shels with the amount of midfielders we have.

Will Reynolds take the place of Chambers in the middle?
    www.ssdg.ie

164 Posts
    We played three in the middle cos they were all light young lads which meant we never got a sniff up front. Hopefully, Rennie's return will allow us go 4-4-2 in which case, it'd be Grant and Reynolds in the middle and Chambers might have a chance on the right of midfield or as a second striker?? I'd say we'll still play 4-5-1 for tomorrow and Monday until we sign another striker. So that would mean Chambers will probably keep his place against Sligo, but he's ineligible for Monday anyway cos it's a loan deal.

In return, PM me if you hear anything about Harris coming to us!

I think Fenlon has suggested that them two Reynolds and Deegan are the only two players who he sees leaving the club.

Apart from Crowe Ndo to Drogheda and Ryan Moore etc etc to Bohs of course

Actually you might want to ask the Rovers fans as they normally know before us. Actually I think its the rovers fans who will inform Harris if and when he is to move!!
    www.ssdg.ie

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast