Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork Winding up Notice?

Cork Winding up Notice?

Just got a call saying that it will be in the papers tomorrow that the Revenue have served a winding up notice on Cork City? Anyone hear anything about this, true/false etc?

Have a feeling the Cork lads are going to bite your head off for starting this thread

So called Big clubs being maladministered... are there any of you lot that are well run?

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed
    Have a feeling the Cork lads are going to bite your head off for starting this thread
    Got a text (probably from same source) saying just that. This source has always been correct in the past. Without a ground to sell Cork could be in a spot of bother if true. Let's see how much influence Colly O'Brien really has at Merrion Sq!

Notice has been given alright but i don't think its happened yet.
    Not with me anyway.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    So called Big clubs being maladministered... are there any of you lot that are well run?
    Yes..

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Yes ...
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Are they ironic yes's. It wasn't that long ago that Roddy was auctioning Steve Collins's gloves to help Derry pay their debts and that Drogs had a transfer embargo on them until they paid a bond over due to debts.

Quote Originally Posted by chippie0001
    Are they ironic yes's. It wasn't that long ago that Roddy was auctioning Steve Collins's gloves to help Derry pay their debts and that Drogs had a transfer embargo on them until they paid a bond over due to debts.
    It wasn't too long ago that Bohs were challenging for and winning trophies.
    Times change you know. Clubs can and do get their act together., some can even do it on the pitch as well as off

Where is the source for the Cork thing?
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Derry and Drogheda have both come close to going bust during the past 20 years as have Cork come to think of it!

Are you sure this winding up notice isn't a wind up? I believe there were statements by the Chairman in the last few months detailing how much we paying in tax.

The thread title was a temptation too far i'd say.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by chippie0001
    Just got a call saying that it will be in the papers tomorrow that the Revenue have served a winding up notice on Cork City? Anyone hear anything about this, true/false etc?
    If its gonna be in the papers tomorrow would it not have made more sense to wait til then to make the thread. Then you could answer your own questions.....

Doesn't bother me personally but would save the hassle like

I hear that it will be in the Sunday Business Post this weekend.

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die
    I hear that it will be in the Sunday Business Post this weekend.
    Ye all hearing this from the same source.....

yes we are and to be honest I'd be surprised if it is not true

This was posted by smidge on the forum on the Cork official website on June 20th.

Lads

One of my mates living in Limerick was having a discussion with a member of the Revenue Commissioners, who passed a comment that Cork City were in difficulty with them and that the some was in the region of €400K. He also said that this news would probably break in a couple of weeks.

Have any of you heard anything to this affect?. I hope to God that it's not true, this is the last thing we need, although it would explain a lot in terms of the non signing of new players etc.

But if it's true and given a some of €400K, where the fcuk has the money been spent from the Setanta Cup, League win, Doyle & Long's transfers, UEFA Cup money last year. Our wage bills are not that big.

As I said at the start this is not officially confirmed but given that it came from the Rev comms Office, you'd begin to wonder. I hope though that in a couple of weeks ye'll be able to say g'wan ya langer Smidge sure there's no bother biy!

Moderation :

Provide a link to the post ASAP
    Last edited by A face; 01/07/2006 at 12:02 AM.

I hope it's not true,it's a shame to see any club in serious money trouble!!

Is it time for the Shels fans to dig up all the old Cork fans posts from when the Reds were in trouble with the tax man.
    Cogito ergo Bohs

lads, knowing how frustratingly conservative our chairman is with the finances its extremly unlikely.

add up the 800K in prize oney the last 2 seasons and the leagues richest sponsorship deal combined with this conservative spending policy and its not likely.

At our recent fans forum BL said that in the 7 weeks since we had a home game over the break the wage bill plus tax contributions was €197,000. Make of that what you will.

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast