Thread: GUFC 0-0 Dundalk

GUFC 0-0 Dundalk

Anybody care to comment on last nights result?

Couldnt make it, to much going on with being told yesterday that I was going to be made redundant Anybody got a job for me? how do you write a CV again

Poor game in front of a maximum of 300 people. A World Cup break is a good
    idea, but it has being structured appallingly. There should have been no midweek games until the competition was over.

There is a good match report up on www.galwayunitedfc.ie. Dundalk defended well and were physically stronger than our lads. Our players were often pushed off the ball. We had a lot of possession but lacked the killer instinct in the Dundal half.

Michael Kennedy made his home debut. He is a big lad who puts himself
    about the place, doesn't appear to be outstandingly skilful, but he deserves a chance.

We were badly missing Cretaro, and to a lesser extent O'Dowd and Moran. Cousins took off Murphy in the second half and brought on Rojas. Murphy was below par, but Rojas is not up to the standard required.

A Limerick victory tonight vs Los Rambleros will put them in a commanding position.

Roll on Athlone !

Condolences about the APC situation. There's plenty more where that came from, so dust yourself off, get a two page CV together, get some training and don't stop believing in yourself.

About the match: The GUFC webiste did well to put up any sort of report. To say it was dire is the understatement of the year. I thought David Cooke was our best performer over the 90 minutes. Ciaran Foley who replaced Derek O'Brien wide on the left for the last 20 minutes or so, did better than I expected, because he is similar to Fran in style and more suited to a central midfield berth. Phil Reilly was very disappointing for me. His distribution was so wayward. Neither goalie had a save to make. John Gill obviously came to shore up a situation that is sliding away from him in Dundalk and he succeeded.

The most notable talking point for me was the decision of our new manager to withdraw Alan Murphy. For me it was a brave and correct move. Murph led the pre-match huddle and was very pumped up, but had a very poor game by his standards.

Tony Cousins can only be getting to know his players, but it was pretty obvious from where I watched that Murphy was, (how do I put this?) less than pleased to be taken off. Juan Rojas (who I almost didn't recognise without the ponytail) replaced Alan, but made no impact. Michael Kennedy who replaced Dave Goldbey at half time, was bright, showed up well, took up good positions, and MIGHT have made more of one or two through passes from Alan. But as a home debutant, he did very well.

75 Posts

Very dissapointed

with Murphs last night and i felt Dave Goldby was doing a hell of lot more work than him and was very unlucky to be taken off before Alan. We are now well into the saeson and murphs has performed at less than half his potential as a player and doesnt seem hungry or interested.

Goughy saved us at the end with an outstanding block about 5 minutes from the end and i was impressed with Michael Kennedy but he is very raw and will take time to find his feet.

Possibly the worst game in year or two in Terryland.Nothing more to comment really.They were bad in Harps and Bad last night.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

You can't really blame Cousins. Unfortunately, we have to be patient.
    He needs to bring in some new players in the transfer window and clear
    out players who are not up to it, of which there are quite a few.

The local policy has to be abandoned. We are not Athletico Bilbao !

Thumbs down

an absolute bore. it made switzerland v ukraine look like a world cup classic. hopefully cousins can sort it out.he will have his work cut out, murphy is only half the player he used to be. too many players didnt seem interested and they wouldnt have impressed their new boss much they impressed the paying public even less.

I think its too late in the season for Cousins to get us promoted as champions. He has to do a lot of weeding out in the current squad with 12 games gone. Earlier in the season I thought the lads had the talent and it just needed to be harnessed but now the rose tints are fading rapidly. Could we have a training session taking place in Dublin soon? At this stage I dont give two hoots as long as we win games and bring crowds through the gates.

75 Posts

There is 36 games this

season lads so there is plenty of time to turn it around. PD i dont think anyone could start blaming Tony yet as he hasnt had a chance to bring in his own men and our injury list is the worst we have had in quite a while. Give him 5 games and id say we would be fairly sure of where we are going in the future.

Ok gufct.2 games-2 draws.
    Nothing but 3 wins will suffice so?
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

We lost no ground on Rovers thank God. A bad result but there's a long way to go. Fair play to him for taking off Murph.

Another contender for worst game of the season. We seem to have had quite a few of those so far. And mostly at home too. Even the Rovers game, although a good win, was not the greatest footballing spectacle. Hopefully Cousins can bring in a good passing midfielder. We have enough ball winner/defensive midfilder types. We need someone to provide better service for both the wide men and the lads up front. Or we're going nowhere. Fast.
    Last edited by Gaillimh Al; 28/06/2006 at 5:44 PM.

We need a passer like Russell in the middle. Terrible performance on Tuesday night, defence was good but after that we were hopeless.

people was this match as bad as athlone at home this season - which was the worst game ive ever seen?
    more water!

I think the biggest problem last night was that neither of the midfielders tried to take control of the game and pass the ball around. They were inclined to lash it forward instead. A lot of the ball, particularly in the first half, that was played forward was hit into open space where it became a 50/50 ball, rather than being played to our players. I think the criticism of Alan Murphy is a little unfair because he got little or no decent ball played to him.

24 Posts

Smile last nights game

what a bore to watch not even one decent attack by united we need to be more attacking minded at home if we are going to win games only good thing from last night was it didnt rain and the pitch seems to have recovered well during the break at least the players cant blame the surface anymore

Hard luck on the employment situation Terry....am sure you will get something soon tho.

brutal match,

wasnt as bad as athlone earlier in the season though but ran it close,i dragged a friend to the game and he said before it he thought he would regret going coz he wantd to watch the spain-france game,i said he wouldnt regret it,oh how wrong was i!!!!!hes not going to another game for a long time he told me after coz previous game he was at was the athlone game aswell.i know we had injuries and was cousins 2nd game but still thats no excuse for the way they played in the first half,long high aimless balls up to small light forwards,you dont need training to know thats wrong,got a little better in the 2nd half coz tried playing it to feet on the ground but we rarely looked like getting a chance nevermind scoring.some players dont give a damm either,whats the point of supporters doing all this fundraising if the players on the pitch couldnt be bothered putting in a decent effort,some players were trying last night,but others are just not up to this standard,derek,dave goldbey,ronan to name a few,cant wait for a clearout and new faces to come in.
    limerick lost tonight which is very good news,cobh have gone above us but have played 2 games more,3 more then limerick,still 20 odd games to go though,still plenty of time.

weve all been talking about this terrible attitude some of the players have for months now - is it ever going to change - whatever about the football - this is the first thing cousins has to control, the sooner the better
    more water!