Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Henry the cheat

1,928 Posts
    Don't forget Neil, when it comes to things relating to Arsenal, I'm a neutral and objective.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    No thread is objective by its nature, its an expression of opinion by people who have formed that opinion by living their live. Their live is influenced by both outside and internal influences. Nurture and nature as it is often put. My morals are influenced by my parents my friends and the culture that I live in. I bring all of those influences when I post on this thread. Therefore a thread by its very nature cannot be objective unless its a statement of fact i.e a list of results of world cup matches. Now that would not make very interesting reading. None of your posts are ojective either Karlos, and wait a minute not one post in this whole forum is objective unless it states basic hard facts which I woudl say less than 1% of posts do.
    Wow Neil....that was insightful but unnecessary. All I am saying is that if you are so apalled by this sort of thing then this should have been the last in a long line of threads in this world cup. Predictably it wasn't.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Quote Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
    Wow Neil....that was insightful but unnecessary. All I am saying is that if you are so apalled by this sort of thing then this should have been the last in a long line of threads in this world cup. Predictably it wasn't.
    haven't commented on this thread to date, but i think it is fair to say that henry has been easily the biggest 'star' to be unmasked as a cheat so far, and accordingly gets a thread. if you look at the 2002 threads, amid all the roy keane threads the only one about a cheat is rivaldo. there was other cheating in that world cup, but rivaldo was the biggest name to be caught on camera deliberately trying to get an opponent sent off. 4 years on, henry is the biggest name that is caught cheating on camera.

he probably doesn't deserve a reputation for it, because off the top of my head, i cannot remember him ever diving for arsenal, but he will now be always known as an amazing and brilliant footballer, but also a dirty cheater.

1,928 Posts
    Henry cheated once and people want to mark him for life. Mentioning Roy Keane there, is it forgotten that he was the first or one of the first to be booked for a blatant dive in the the penalty area?

Quote Originally Posted by KarlosIRL

Not sure what you are getting at here. I cannot post on every player as I simply dont have the time. I have answered this question already. The reason I posted was timing but it was also the fact that Henry has been so outspoken about diving in the game. In addition he still denies he dived. I think Arsenal fans get very touchy when you dare criticise their players. I wish people would take off their Man Utd, Or Spurs or Liverpool or Arsenal hats when commenting on football and try to look at incidents in a fair and balanced manner. oh to Finish Ginola was a diving ****er also.
    In Trap we trust

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Henry did not dive - of that there is no doubt I think since there was clearly contact between the players. What he did was feign injury to his face.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Semantics. I would class feigning injury and diving in the same category and feigning injury is possibly worse.
    In Trap we trust

70 Posts

cheating

IMO we are to naieve when it comes to "cheating"
    As far as im concerned Henry done what benefited his team its his duty to do what ever he can to win.If someone sticks a leg out in the box go down
    if someone catches you after missing the ball in a tackle go down like a ton of bricks get him booked sent off even better.Its your responsibility to your team mates and manager the sooner we cop on the better.Managers encourage it believe me in this country and england we just arent as good at it.
    Divers and cheaters are the modern day hard men they use cunning and deceit instead of physical intimidation
    Its an art in itself if a very black one

Well I dont like it and it should be stamped out of the game, the same way that the hard men were stamped out of the game and ruined the 1990 world cup, are you watching Mick Mc Carthy
    In Trap we trust

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Semantics. I would class feigning injury and diving in the same category and feigning injury is possibly worse.
    Not semantics at all. A dive and feigning injury are two totally different things, albeit both are cheating. It is also important in the context of the game since if it was a dive, a free kick should not have been awarded and France would not have scored.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

I think it was not a free and it should not have been awarded and I am not the only person who thinks that.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1
    Henry done what benefited his team its his duty to do what ever he can to win.If someone sticks a leg out in the box go down
    if someone catches you after missing the ball in a tackle go down like a ton of bricks get him booked sent off even better.Its your responsibility to your team mates and manager
    You seem to be confusing duty with self-interest.

I wish people would take off their Man Utd, Or Spurs or Liverpool or Arsenal hats when commenting on football and try to look at incidents in a fair and balanced manner.
    Amen to that. Lead by example, I say!

Anyway, I'll leave yis to it.

The only hat I have is the Ireland ha Fair play to France by the way hope they win the tournament now.
    In Trap we trust

43 Posts
    Peeps into forum, sit's and waits for Rooney the Cheat and Ronaldo the cheat threads to be started by outraged football observers....dum de dum.....
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford
    Peeps into forum, sit's and waits for Rooney the Cheat and Ronaldo the cheat threads to be started by outraged football observers....dum de dum.....

You'll have a long wait as everyone has taken off their 'hats' at Neil's request!

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford

both lived up to their stereotypes, and played as expected. henry's mask was dropped and we got to see that he is a cheat like van nistlerooy, gerrard, robben etc. the difference is the hypicrosy of henry leads to this thread.

I dont understand the sensitivity regarding Henry.
    In Trap we trust

43 Posts
    I don't understand the vitriol for once holding his face when struck. That's all.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Where is the vitriol.
    In Trap we trust

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast