Thanks for putting it into words. Saves me having to type it![]()
The man should be a fishmonger. His mastery of the English language is quite amazing.....innit?? He offers nothing constructively and has nothing at all to offer but mumble after mumble and good old bulldog English supremacy.
God I hate him!!
Sorry....just had to get this off my chest...![]()
Thanks for putting it into words. Saves me having to type it![]()
"...and it's Charlie Chaplin on the wing..."
Agree - he adds nothing to the coverage of the matches. He knows nothing about any of the teams except England, rubbish pundit.
He has got to be the most annoying man ever to sit, stand or attempt to present behind a TV camera. He is totally clueless and I can’t imagine his IQ being above 70.I just detest the bloke.
used to think he was alright but after the Gerrard peno incident i have no repect for him.
Actually all the BBC are so biased towards england i cant bear to listen to them
Are any TV station naturally going to be biased towards their home country ?
Having said that though Wright is a cretin with his own agenda
I haven't really listened to any of the pundits before, during or after the games so luckily I haven't heard any of his waffle. Someone here told me that he was quite bitter about the fact that SWP didn't get into the squad though so he might even be critical of them when things go wrong.
loved his theory that Shaun Wright Phillips was dropped by Sven just to spite Ian Wright. what a plonker... who'd in their right mind would listen to him anyway....
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
He is a muppet and I only see him during the add breaks on RTE. RTE have by far and the best panel about. Its the production and freedom that allows RTE Pundits to look so good. Hansen and O Neill and Strachan would be great on RTE but on BBC they are not allowed the freedom to debate issues. Not enough credit is given to O Herlihy for encouraging these debates with his open questions. O Herlihy plays the gombeen to perfection.
In Trap we trust
I watched Irwin and Cunningham show up Dunphy for what he really knows about the modern game in the Czech - USA game. For all his harping on and on about the ball being lighter (it's not) Denis and Kenny just stayed calm, said that they didn't think the ball was making much of a difference and talked about the tactics and skill of the Czechs, while Eamon was trying to make the point that the States had no "heart". That said RTE are streets ahead of the Beeb in punditry, Martin O'Neill aside, with Dermot Gallacher still to come in. They can get away with saying what they really think about every player and team without fear of recrimination, and I think this is really bringing the best out of Souness - now there's something I never thought I'd say. Over on BBC, Lineker is trying to make everyone laugh, Lawro is laughing at himself, Ian Wright is off his game and Hanson hasn't said anything of note. Leonardo and Desailly were interesting choices but the old boys seem to be ganging up on them, in Desailly in particular. I haven't watched any game on ITV. Nor have I any great desire to.
Johnny Giles is the best analyst/pundit on TV in m opinion. He's been there, done that and bought several t-shirts and knows what he's talking about. No nonsense, gazing at the camera, trying to be funny-just simple, direct, and to the point....kinda like he was as a footballer. 10/10.
I don't like Brady as a pundit. He comes across as a bit of a smarmy, patronising git if you ask me. Maybe its his half dub, half cockney twang, or just the fact that he's so droll. I don't know, but he kills me as a pundit. 4/10.
Souness has surprised me. I thought I'd hate him. I don't. He's knowledgeable, witty and a good inter-acter. 7.5/10.
Denis Irwin has potential. The Cork accent biy goes well with the situations, and he seems to enjoy talking about the game. Has a future. 7/10.
Same applies to Kenny Cunningham, although he needs to brush up on his english a bit, and someone needs to tell him that the rug is receding rapidly and he needs to shave his head....fast!! 6.5/10
Dunphy is Dunphy....no more to be said...8/10 purely for controversy...you never know when he's going to kick off into a rattle-throwing tantrum.
O'neill was anyway, and rightly so. Its half the language difference but these two lads are a complete waste of space as analysts. Fair play to O'Neill for putting Desailly in his place yesterday.Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
Ian Wright's command of the English language is being put to shame by Leonardo. Which one is the native speaker?
That would be the one where he praised Gerrard for diving in a friendly, right??Originally Posted by The Stars
Typical of the man.
Would you mind explaining to me what that situation was about Roadend? I have a work colleague here who is a Rangers man and was mouthing off to me yesterday about how MON was bang out of order and a pr!ck etc over that. I hadn't seen it so couldn't offer my opinion but he is (my colleague) a little bitter and twisted so I assumed he was looking through blue tinted glasses...Originally Posted by Roadend
The best thing about the BBC so far is that you can switch off the commentary. Especially when you have a particularly annoying combination of commentator/co-commentator.
Ceci n'est pas une signature
O'Neill and Hansen and Strachen are topclass pundits, Leonardo and Desailly are amicable chaps but they are by the numbers with no meat on the bone wheeling out Cliches (leonardo had Roy Keane and John Travolta in the same bracket at one stage because his english couldn't extend beyond "big character"), Wright well he is just there for eejit value, a bit like the unfortunate Paul Gascoigne was ruthlessly exploited by UTV in the 2002 World Cup for comic value..but thank god that plonker Schmeichal hasn't appeared yet
Oh yeah John Motson is a Racist as well, anyone catching him saying during a hand to ball incident in the England V Paraguay "Is that another one of those South American Paws".. Lawros lazy commentry last nite during the early stages of Brazilian Croatian match was embarassing..basic extolling the virtues of the Brazilians Oh they don't need to chase down the ball they'll get it back anyway attitude, it was insulting to the Croats who thankfully outplayed the Brazilians for large parts of game..
Motson and Wright epitomise al that is to be hated about England. Their disgusting over the top supremacy is appalling. I'm all for patriotism...it's commendable, but these guys really do seem to think theres an empire out there still.
Great programme on Sky One last night, showing World Cup blips and mad moments. They showed Chile v Italy in 1962...the most violent game of ball I'd say has ever been recorded. France in 1978 having to borrow a kit from a local junior club, and lining out in green and white stripes, blue shorts and red socks....can't remember the name of it...good though
I noticed that too. If they mis-placed a pass he'd almost say they meant it such was his arse-kissing.Originally Posted by Reality Bites