Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Good luck to Shels

i dont want shels or drogheda or cark in the group stages! you get millions from the CL group stages,money with which to dominate your domestic league.why would i want shels/cark etc winnig 10 leagues in a row?? rosenborg got into the group stages 14 years ago and dominated the norwegian league for 12 years straight. yeah it would be great if that happened in ireland alright.cop on ffs

Quote Originally Posted by anto eile
    i dont want shels or drogheda or cark in the group stages! you get millions from the CL group stages,money with which to dominate your domestic league.why would i want shels/cark etc winnig 10 leagues in a row?? rosenborg got into the group stages 14 years ago and dominated the norwegian league for 12 years straight. yeah it would be great if that happened in ireland alright.
    I want any El team to get into the group stages. Preferably a few being of the same standard and being able to do it close enough to each other. Getting any team into the group stages will bring the EL huge exposure, draw sponsorship for the league and the clubs in it and draw new fans causing the league to grow. But obviously you can't see past your own team

cop on ffs
    grow up and get over yourself.......i think you'l find the majority of fans would want the same to happen

Agree with everything you're saying there micls. Anto eile doesnt seem to grasp the fact that qualification for the CL group stages could in fact bring money into the whole domestic game benefiting his club along the way. There are some occasions when rivalries can be removed. Especially when you arent competing against each other dirdctly or indirectly as is the case here. You can actually benefit from Shels, Drogs, etc success

Lads,its an inferiority complex with these Shams!

176 Posts
    supporting each other in wurope is pathetic and makes a mockery of our own rivalries. milan fans dont support juve in europe.Barcelona fans dont support real madrid in europe.so why should we put aside our allegiances?? it makes light of our own clubs and league
    That would be Bohs in our case obviously.

Barcelona and Real fans don't support each other in Europe, but support the other teams from their league who play in Europe. Same goes for every other country. As a Rovers fan, I can't support Bohs in Europe, but with them not playing, I can support everyone from our league when they play in Europe this year.

you get millions from the CL group stages,money with which to dominate your domestic league.why would i want shels/cark etc winnig 10 leagues in a row??
    Rubbish!!!

When Shels got to the third round, the media were pising themselves over how much they'd get, and how the league would be a permanent walkover for Shels every year. The fact is, our league is one of the most competitive in Europe, with it often going to the last game before it's decided. Whereas in the bigger countries, the league is often won by 10+ points, several weeks early. You won't see Rosenborg-like domination here.

i dont want shels or drogheda or cark in the group stages! you get millions from the CL group stages,money with which to dominate your domestic league.why would i want shels/cark etc winnig 10 leagues in a row?? rosenborg got into the group stages 14 years ago and dominated the norwegian league for 12 years straight. yeah it would be great if that happened in ireland alright.cop on ffs

So we'll all continue to swim in a stagnant pond full of inbreds in the hope that the Hoops can dominate that for eternity, and we'll somehow convince ourselves that we don't need to improve; everything in the smelly pond is hunky dory. Who needs European football, who needs growth and improvement in playing standards and facilities, your club don't even have a ground at the moment; doesn't matter because with your attitude we can all go back to playing in the Phoenix Park.

Vetra Vilnius 11 - 8 Draw 11 - 5 Shelbourne 13 - 8
    Who Cares?!

Best of luck Shels, they should win both games in my opinion.

Live Updates for the Shels game here:

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/matchzone...p?matchid=9148

Kick off 4pm
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    Best of luck Shels but we wont need any of it

Were going to make an example of Lithuanian football and humilate Vetra (or who ever it is).
    Didn't ye say that about a certain team from Malta a few years back?

Complacency is a very dangerous fellow
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Jollyroger, your optimism is scary. Esp as you probably never seen this team play.

Latest

Fenlons negative 4-5-1 as usual

I don't want any rival team in the CL Group stages as would make them too powerful. Other teams can go as far as they want in the Inter Two Bob or Uefa Cup as even the Uefa cup groups stages won't mean huge revenues.

1,552 Posts
    Shels are one up- Dillon got it.

Looks like they may ride the Lithuanians rock solid.

Missed a fair few chances. 1-0 shels, 2 mins to HT.
    God

Its all go!!! The weather is very humid lads!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    The weather is very humid lads!!!
    And the pitch is ****e, the hotel was double booked, ye didn't get the right sized tapes etc. .

Are you over there Gareth?.

C'mon Shels! Under the cosh a bit at the mo

Crowe replaces Byrne after 62mins.

It's all over, finished 1-0 to Shelbourne - Sean Dillon.

Vetra had a shot off the line, as did Shels. Shels had a goal ruled out for offside, and Alan Moore spurned a two 1v1 chances. In all sounds alright!
    God

Good win. I don't think he'll chance it but Fenlon should go back to 4-4-2 to finish the game next week.

Danish team in 2nd round?

I presume Longford game next weekend is already postponed?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast