Page 15 of 15 FirstFirst ... 5131415

Thread: Ian Wright (and TV pundits in general)

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    I dont watch ITV cause I think their coverage is rubbish. .
    I never said I did not watch other stations. I said I tried not to watch ITV. .
    Tried not to watch - what's that ? You say "I mustn't watch Gabby Yorath, I mustn't watch Gabby Yorath" and then succumb ?

Most people in Ireland prefer RTEs coverage and their style.

Most people in Ireland also preferred Charlie Haughey. I am not a "most people" person as following the Owls clearly demonstrates. Is it also not surprising that most people watch their own station - doesn't mean they prefer it.

I didn't say "just look at the results". I said look at both - result and performance and measure each against the other instead of just focusing on the performance. We don't need the panel to tell us the result but likewise we don't need them to tell us it was a poor performance. But you're like your heroes - you exaggerate for the sake of effect.
    Last edited by OwlsFan; 07/07/2006 at 8:54 AM.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Not sure who my hero is I dont have heroes.
    In Trap we trust

Not sure who my hero is I dont have heroes.
    How sad....Do I sense a lonely childhood??

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    I used have a picture of Eamon Dunphy is an Irish jersey on my wall cut out from GOAL magazine - think the match was at Dalyer vs Hungary. He wasn't the only one I hasten to add - whenever SHOOT or GOAL had a picture of an Irish player, up it went on the wall. Anyone who wore the green in those days was a hero to me even though they and we might have been cr*p at the time.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    I used have a picture of Eamon Dunphy is an Irish jersey on my wall cut out from GOAL magazine - think the match was at Dalyer vs Hungary. He wasn't the only one I hasten to add - whenever SHOOT or GOAL had a picture of an Irish player, up it went on the wall. Anyone who wore the green in those days was a hero to me even though they and we might have been cr*p at the time.
    Had one of Paddy Mulligan and Gerry Daly....not as bad as Dunphy !

Last edited by Sandro; 19/12/2006 at 4:42 PM.

Actually I do have one and I met him quite recently after the Swiss game. I said to him I wish you were out there for us tonight and he said he wishes he was out there too.

Oooh Ahh Paul Mc Grath a true legend.
    In Trap we trust

And no finer a legend to have as a hero.

Getting back on topic...now that the tournament is coming to an end, who, for you, was the best pundit on all channels and why?

I'll set the ball rolling. For me it has to be Souness. He genuinely surprised me, and came across clear, well, and knowledgeably. I certainly valued his opinions and thought he was by far the most constructive.

Second place for me goes to a novice, one for the future, Denis Irwin. Same comments as Souness apply, and the 'auld Cork brogue is entertaining.

At the opposite ends; In second last place comes our own Eamo...he's an idiot lads, pure and simple.

And bottom of the pile comes the itinerant that this thread was named after....for so many reasons....too many reasons....

Agree with you Mr Soap. I Think Souness has been top class and Irwin and Brady and Giles. Dunphy is a bit of a laugh and I dont take him too seriously really. I enjoy some of the nonsense that comes out of his mouth and for some reason he does not annoy me in the way that Ian Wright does. I think the RTE panel can be heavy going for some people so I think Dunphy is a good outlet of fun and frivolity on the panel but the best part is that Dunphy is trying to be serious when he is making the point but it comes out as Over the top nonsense a lot of the time.
    In Trap we trust

And bottom of the pile comes the itinerant that this thread was named after....for so many reasons....too many reasons....
    I agree with whoever said Ian "Wrighty" Wright Wright Wright should become an art critic. He seemed genuinely interested in that art museum and kept the anticipated "Wot's this all about? Is this supposed to be art" comments to a minimum. Anything to keep him away from the football!
    SIGNATURESCOPE

794 Posts
    Getting back on topic...now that the tournament is coming to an end, who, for you, was the best pundit on all channels and why?

I'll set the ball rolling. For me it has to be Souness. He genuinely surprised me, and came across clear, well, and knowledgeably. I certainly valued his opinions and thought he was by far the most constructive.

Second place for me goes to a novice, one for the future, Denis Irwin. Same comments as Souness apply, and the 'auld Cork brogue is entertaining.

At the opposite ends; In second last place comes our own Eamo...he's an idiot lads, pure and simple.

Agree with everything apart from the last line - I'd class the two idiots on a par with each other, except people actually listen to Dunphy.

I suppose the reason Souness was good was he is fresh from management (I use the word loosely) from the Premiership while Dinny and Cunningham have also just retired. It must be a long time since Messrs Giles and Dunphy kicked a ball in anger. I wonder why Souness did not appear for the two semis since they had used him for all the big games up to that.

Giles is good at commenting on what he has seen but he seldom expects the unexpected, which hardened football supporters are well used to. I have been disappointed with Brady. He used to disagree with the others - now he pretty much says the same thing.

Dunphy is a bit of a laugh :
    Don't get me started. He is personal, vindictive....no I won't get started.

On the other sides, despite some misgivings above Martin O'Neill I quite enjoy him as well as Hansen and Lawro, although the former is a bit arrogant at times. Venables I can't take seriously any more after the Apres Match Sky phone in sketches and Andy T is ok.

My favourite commentator has been Tylsley , I know a lot of people here dont like his style but I always enjoyed his comments and found him quite knowledgeable , my favourite comment of his was "Spain - the Kings of the ripped up betting slip"

794 Posts
    Amazed yet again - not by DUnphy saying at half time that Italy will dominate the second half , since you can take it as read that whatever he says, the opposite will happen, but Brady's choice as the highlight of the World Cup: Giles and the creature to his far left went for great goals but Brady went for a picture of Beckham in tears and gloated at it and then used this as a vidication of the panel's attitude to England He said he wondered whether he was crying over his "drop in endorsements" but by choosing that as the "highlight of the World Cup, rather than vindicating the panel, it vindictated those like me who said their reaction to the England games was not analysis but over the top scoffing.

I have lost all respect for Brady after that. Pathetic and very disappointed in Brady - I would have expected it from Dunphy but not Brady.

For feck sake Owls fan he had it there becaue Beckham represents in many ways everything that is wrong with the modern day footballer. Over paid over hyped and getting in the team for commercial reasons rather than footballing ones. To see him crying was a great moment also. I thought Dunphy went for the best moment also.
    In Trap we trust

To see him crying was a great moment also.
    The Brady choice seemed like something the Apres Match team decided not to put in because it was too ridiculous.

"We've been castigated in the media for being England-bashers but this clip of Beckham vindicates what we were saying, Bill. He's crying like A LIT-TLE BABY GIRL, BILL!!! HE'S MADE A FOOL OF HIMSELF!"

SIGNATURESCOPE

794 Posts
    For feck sake Owls fan he had it there becaue Beckham represents in many ways everything that is wrong with the modern day footballer. Over paid over hyped and getting in the team for commercial reasons rather than footballing ones. To see him crying was a great moment also. I thought Dunphy went for the best moment also.
    Unbelievable The highlight of an ex-professional footballer's World Cup was the picture of another professional crying in the despair of defeat, of which incidentally there have been many other than Beckham. The envy and jealousy of Beckham seems to reach no bounds. Why would Sven, who was at the end of his contract, pick him for "commercial reasons" ? And is that Beckham's fault if he was. I am an ABU but I am well able to spot green eyed monsters when I see them.

Could you imagine if we had been there and Robbie Keane was in tears after we had been knocked out and on the BBC Ian Wright or Shearer said that was the highlight of his World Cup seeing Ireland lose and their captain in tears. Madness and pathetic and we'd be all outraged. It was purely anti-English that choice.

ABU, surely the most sad people on earth.

Also your last point I would have no problem if Ian Wright or Alan Shearer made fun of us. We are rivals and as I said before I dont want their support. Brady does not like Beckham because he was captain of an over hyped team and he was not in the team on merit but their for commercial reasons. Martin O Neill did not take the England job as he would have been forced to play Beckham. When people like Beckhamf fail it is good for the game as he is a one trick pony. He was not the only one though as Lampard was rubbish also. I think Brady picked that moment as it represented something bigger than just the bare facts of the moment.
    In Trap we trust

3,501 Posts
    There were rumours that one of the major questions asked in the interviews for the England job was would the candidate keep Beckham on as a captain? Obviously the FA understand that he would sell the most jerseys abroad, so they would want him in the side, regardless of form, talent, use, fitness, etc

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    There were rumours that one of the major questions asked in the interviews for the England job was would the candidate keep Beckham on as a captain? Obviously the FA understand that he would sell the most jerseys abroad, so they would want him in the side, regardless of form, talent, use, fitness, etc
    I understand that there were "rumours" but can you imagine any self respecting manager taking on the job with the FA picking the team for them ? Rumours are easily spread and hard to counter. Personally, I don't believe it and Brady's choice was only part-anti Beckham anyway, the rest was based on delight in English failure. I really think a so-called expert should be beyond such sentiments - the barstooler I can understand but not someone of Brady's stature on TV. The highlight of a World Cup was someone's failure and distress rather than something positive

If the BBC had done something similar to Ireland, there would be questions raised in both Ireland and the Uk about racism and Paddy bashing and that's the truth.

We obviously haven't grown up as a nation yet. I usually want England to lose due to the "big neighbour" syndrome but RTE's reaction was way ott and Tabloidian (invented word) in its nature. Appeal to the lowest denominator and it works.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Tabloidian (invented word)
    Patent it...good word.

Page 15 of 15 FirstFirst ... 5131415