Page 12 of 15 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Thread: Ian Wright (and TV pundits in general)

After the Argies/German game ,Drunkphy was ranting on about players with heart , agression and courage to take a game by the scruff of the neck when he did his usual ''How great Roy Keane is '' comment . He just has to take his head out of Keanes arse . Every opportunity Eamon gets , its Roy Keane this , Roy Keane that , im sure Keane has a pain in his h**e too at this stage. Then he decides to patronise Giles and Brady again , how great players like John Giles and Liam Brady were , didnt hide from their responsabilitys , never gave up, great readers of the game , courage, determination , ability to get their team focused , blah blah f****n blah.

I hope England win the WC just to **** him off . Ok maybe thats taking it a bit far but ya know what i mean.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    The funny thing about that is he used to write scurrilous articles in the Sunday Indo giving out about Brady's lack of commitment

Well all the teams he has castigated are still there (Germany, Italy, England, Brazil, France). So Portugal is his last chance to get something correct.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Anyone hear John Giles call Peter Collins "Bill" twice this afternoon ?

Did the Panel of experts miss that the second Italian goal was offside ? No freeze frames but when the ball was kicked the Italian looked to be ahead of the Ukranian defender.

They have suddenly discovered Italy and Germany despite dismissing them as no hopers earlier on. That "suspect" German defence did very well - that's only 1 goal shipped in the last 4 games.
    In fairness, their defence is still brutal.

Hopefully more of this on Tuesday:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1pS2...%2C%20friendly

Dublin or lost in a backwater called England
    Anyone see ian wright before the ingurland game? they had a sketch with ricky gervase and someone impersonating rooney (a dwarf) and someone else meant to be crouch...

shortly after the sketch wright comes out with something along the lines of ''those little people crack me up ever time i see one''

cue an uneasy silence while wright shoves his foot in his gob
    'It's not because I'm uncouth, it's because I'm Irish. The English language is a wall between you and me and f**k is my chisel.' - Tommy Tiernan

Quote Originally Posted by Jon'o
    shortly after the sketch wright comes out with something along the lines of ''those little people crack me up ever time i see one''
    cue an uneasy silence while wright shoves his foot in his gob
    Was watching it as well couldn't believe he acutally said it. With him on board it's like having one of the apres match lads after a feed of pints sitting beside Giles and Dunphy.
    The fella playing Crouch in the sketch is Stephen Merchant - Ricky Gervais writting partner for all his work. He also made cameo appearance in The Office as The Ogg Monster in the comic relief episode.
    Speaking of Crouch the Apres Match crew described him perfectly - A cross between Ryan Tubridy and a ladder
    "If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff

Quote Originally Posted by $Leon$
    Was watching it as well couldn't believe he acutally said it. With him on board it's like having one of the apres match lads after a feed of pints sitting beside Giles and Dunphy.
    Had to laugh, what a remark. Like watching Only Fools & Horses in the 80's!

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by $Leon$
    Speaking of Crouch the Apres Match crew described him perfectly - A cross between Ryan Tubridy and a ladder
    best description ive heard of him!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

794 Posts

Talking

A few questions I'd like Bill O'H to ask the RTE Panel of Experts. which he won't:

(a) After the France vs Togo game, Dunphy said "France are a shambles". "They are run by a clique of 4 or 5 of the senior players". "Their manager hasn't a clue". "Bartez is a joke". "Spain will stuff them. You can bet your house on it Bill". Giles or Bill did not question any of these statements and agreed with them. Are you prepared to revise your opinion of France, Mr D ?

(b) All the panelists tipped either Brazil or Argentina to win the World Cup. A South American team hasn't won in Europe since 1958. Do the panelists ignore all previous history when making their predictions and just go for the apparently best team of the moment like the man in the street?

(c) Bill O'H asked the panel before Spain and Argentina were knocked out, whether they had peeked too early as there was a history of this in the World Cup. Giles and the rest of the panel were dismissive of this idea despite the fact that history bears it out. Again do the panelists ignore all previous history when making their predictions and just go for the apparently best team of the moment.

(d) The Panelists have spent many minutes analysising the weakeness of the German defence. They have conceded one goal in the last 4 games. Are they prepared to revise their opinion?

(e) Dunphy wrote Italy, France and Germany off in his usual contemptuos manner at the start of the tournament. Is he prepared to revise his opinion ?

(f) Should RTE televise the Premiership and should Giles and Dunphy have their names linked to it since they perpetually attack the poor standard of the players and the quality of the football on offer despite the fact that on the Radio before the tournament started Dunphy predicted England as a good outside bet because of the "class of player they have like Terry, Lampard, Rooney and Gerrard".

(g) Why is it when the predictions go awry (e.g. England vs Ecuador), despite talking up the losers before the game, the losers are then castigated as being "mediocre" or "just happy to be there" ?

(h) Why is it, apart from the Roy Keane/Saipan affair, Giles and Dunphy agree on 95% of all matters ? Does this lead to lack of balance ?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

I have one question for you

(a) Why do you watch RTE if you dont like its coverage.
    In Trap we trust

43 Posts
    Couldn't have put it better myself Owls fan, you'll be waiting on those answers however as they are like Bertie and his croonies - accountable to no one. They are allowed spout all sorts of BS and all the sheep swallow it continually.

Viva la France
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Missed the aftermatch pundits after the English defeat. Did Wright make an ass out of himself again>>

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Missed the aftermatch pundits after the English defeat. Did Wright make an ass out of himself again>>
    Dunno but he lashed into them at half time and predicted Rooneys sending off

230 Posts
    Speaking of pundits....do those 2 American 'pundits' working for the Budweiser ads annoy the bejaysus out of anyone else, or is it just me??
    I think the boys on Apres match agree with you. Click on Big sponsor.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

794 Posts
    Anyone see Andy Gray, Roy Hodson and Richard Keyes yesterday evening ? Keyes, who knows even less than O'Herlihy, asked which players of the four semi-finalists would be an addition to the English squad ? They could only come up with 3: Henry, Rinaldo and Buffon. "It just goes to show" says Keyes.

I had to laugh - they've learned nothing.
    Last edited by OwlsFan; 04/07/2006 at 7:01 AM.

794 Posts
    He was "gutted".

I think that Denis Irwin and Kenny Cunningham were very much underused during this tournament, and are probably the ' future of Irish TV punditry '.....

Gilesy, although tactically very sound, really needs to become a little more animated, stop wearing all grey suits that perfectly match his grey hair and grey complexion, and develop a sense of humour.

Souness might see the success of this punditry lark and concentrate on it full-time. He's quite good at it for a black hun, and knows his stuff.

I can't warm to Brady at all...don't know why, just can't.

As for Eamo...............

I think they are all good to be honest and they all have their own characteristics and the chemistry is good and there is some great debates. Best moment so far has been the debate on Riquelme. Only on RTE would you get such a debate. That moment alone is why RTE are the best in these Islands and football coverage in my opinion.
    In Trap we trust

794 Posts
    As far as I remember that was the only "debate" -whether Riquelme was a good or great player. As for the rest they have pretty much been all singing from the same hymm sheet, although Dinny isn't afraid to express an opinion contrary to the perceived wisdom (e.g. France vs Spain). Your idea of a "debate" seems to be brash and attempted controversial statements which usually end up being wrong

We all know football is about opinions so how come the RTE panel nearly always has the same opinion, especially Giles and Drunkphy. Quite frankly I see very little debate - plenty uniform prejudiced opinion but not much debate. Since Brady and Drunkphy kissed and made up, even they now agree on most things.

Ian Wright is the BBC's version of Drunkphy (albeit not so articulate) - just says the first stupid thing that comes in to his head.

My choice Panel would be: Matt Cooper (Chair): Martin O'Neill, Dinny, Souness and Giles (without his love child beside him agreeing with nearly everything he says unless the K name is mentioned ).

Owls fan why do you watch Rte.
    In Trap we trust

794 Posts
    I would have thought that self-evident: I like to see pundits, Drunkphy in particular, make a fool of himself and yet think he is the voice of Irish football or to use one of his favourite expressions "serious football people" when referring to himself and his surrogate father, John Giles. I also watch the other channels as well - the video recorder is an amazing piece of equipment you know but they don't interest me as much because they don't influence Irish public opinion, which Mutt & Jeff aided by Laughing Bill have tried to do down the years.

Page 12 of 15 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast