Page 6 of 15 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Ian Wright (and TV pundits in general)

25 Posts
    That's him, Haven't heard him but I hope he doesn't "Welcome welcome welcome" us to Germany each game.

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roadend
    That's him, Haven't heard him but I hope he doesn't "Welcome welcome welcome" us to Germany each game.
    or 'havin it large'.... the Irish version of Tim Westwood he was...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7
    didnt he used to work for TV3? and isnt he ex 2FM DJ Michael MacNamara's (Mickey Mac) young fella? fair play to him...
    And he used a similar fake accent as his da's when working on TV3 - "Danny Mehhphy with the ball etc." so he's been preparing for the BBC gig for a while. The comical part is that his real-life voice is very thickly Limerick-accented. At least Craig Doyle went to Blackrock College so he has an excuse for sounding the way he does.

Mini-Mickey-Mac is guaranteed his place in commentary history for both his "Cunny Kenningham" gaffe and the legendary post-9/11 moment when he was surprised at the amount of injury time being played "The trainers weren't on the pitch at all… but of course the referee does have to take into account the minute's silence for the victims of the terrorist attacks in America..."

By the by, what's the deal with cricketers taking on the punditry gig - Phil Tufnell on that crappy UK Gold station and Warney doing the Brazil game RTE need to get Ed Joyce in there to put manners on the rest of the panel.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Beavis
    I heard that. He also said that it was disgusting that the Scotland fan interviewed wasnt supporting England and if he ever was to meet him he would have some very serious words to say. He's also one of the worst offenders for bias towards England. Basically,a right plonker and as you say it must have been a very sheltered life in Ulster.
    Yep, he was going to have some very harsh words with the man from Scotland if he ever met him. My money would be on the Scotsman
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

794 Posts
    A couple of things
    1) This harping on about Bill and the fact he doesn't contradict the lads, would you mind explaining to me how this essentially non-football background person is supposed to contradict panelsists who have been years in the game? What utter nonsese. He's not there to give his opinion and I wouldn't want it either, this is why I don't like Linekar as a presenter, granted he knows his stuff, but he doesn't ask questions that lead to debate, because he can't. .
    What is "essentially a non football man" doing chairing the programme then. In any walk of life a chair person usually knows and understands the topic the meeting is about. Otherwise the chair person is a waste of time. And after Sven's comments about hoping to beat Sweden he mutters "I don't think you'll beat them this time anyway". Very professional.

2) The scoffing at the England post match interviews, I scoffed at them myself. They were blatantly ignoring the fact they were absoultely awful, did not have the guts to admit it, but instead spoke about sticking to their gameplan. Why on earth shouldn't the panel cut to the chase and call these interviews for what they were, a load of tosh.
    You may well have scoffed at them. However, you are not on the national broadcaster's football panel. Jeering and scoffing are all very well for a supporter but hardly for so-called analysts. Laughing Bill's only interest seems to be to create a bit of controversy and have the viewers tuning in - and this seems to be working. It's probably like a feeding frenzy when you have Laughing Bill and the sharks together - they just want to add more and more nonsense and unprofessionalism to get the biggest reaction. Any insult will do.....
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

I've taken to turning the sound off on RTE and listening to the Radio 5 commentary instead, much better.

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    What is "essentially a non football man" doing chairing the programme then. In any walk of life a chair person usually knows and understands the topic the meeting is about. ..
    Errr.... Look at every station we see covering the World Cup, of all 4 stations, Linekar is the only presenter to have been involved in Football. Why is it any sort of surprise when someone who hasn't been involved in football is a presenter, Bill included.

794 Posts
    Gabby Yorath UTV. Brought up in the game with her father a Welsh international and a former manager of Sheffield Wednesday

Laughing Bill O'Herlihy - a marketing executive who has allowed Drunkphy to vent his prejudices against Charlton, McCarthy, English soccer, League of Ireland soccer and incorrect predictions for 18 years almost without contradiction, and indeed mostly support, to the entertainment of the great unwashed. I would say O'H is similar to Richard Keys (SKY) who might perhaps be even worse when it comes to having his head up Andy Gray's nether reaches.

Someday, when Drunkphy contradicts himself yet again, I pray that O'H will say: "but you predicted on your radio show this morning that England would be a good bet for the World cup because they have class players (D's words) like Gerrard and Lampard".

The thing is McCoist and Wright are the UK's versions of Dumpy but I am not paying a licence fee to watch them.

Owls fan there is more than you paying a licence fee. The majority of people seem to prefer RTEs coverage and enjoy it so tough luck is what I say. If you dont like him watching something else or dont pay your licence fee and get rid of your TV. The majority of people on here and on various vox pops etc dont agree with Dunphy but enjoy how he stirs up debate.
    In Trap we trust

As well as the great coverage, RTE has also got Apres Match pure class. See here http://www.rte.ie/sport/worldcup/apresmatch.html and click on Football Focus one for a fantastic parody of Gary and Lawro. The Your on Sky sports is worth watching for a fine example of how Terry Venners comes across
    Last edited by beautifulrock; 20/06/2006 at 8:45 PM.

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Gabby Yorath UTV. Brought up in the game with her father a Welsh international and a former manager of Sheffield Wednesday

She replaced her dolls with subbutteo men

I certainly don't take Dumpy with anything more than a pinch of salt as I know he's a bitter bitter man who loves controversy.
    Last edited by Roadend; 20/06/2006 at 9:50 PM.

Bill o H is an absolute shambles . Bill and football are not even on nodding terms and how RTE can leave him there is a disgrace . He knows nothing about the game , has no passion for it , he's not qualified in the art of talking anything remotely intelligent regarding any incidents , has his questions prepared for him by the panel [ thats official ] , struggles to pay attention to whats going on , and his constant use of the following phrases ''Talk us through this one John '' or ''lets have a look at it now '' or You made the point Eamon '' .
    So who do you replace him with ? Peter [ not a clue ] Collins , Ger Canning [ actually forget Canning , im takin the **** ] , so Who ?? Answers on a postcard to Patsy Mcgowan .

It would be nothing without Bill. I had a great time last night laughing at him.

She replaced her dolls with subbutteo men

I certainly don't take Dumpy with anything more than a pinch of salt as I know he's a bitter bitter man who loves controversy.

Not sure he is bitter the guy is a millionaire, lucky ****er.
    In Trap we trust

794 Posts
    It's a pity that Collins is such a plank as he does know about football. I met him at a party once and I had a good chat about soccer, Drunkphy etc etc

What about the guy who does Setanta and Today FM in the evening (name eludes me) ?

Last night the panel was on their best behaviour although they were all geared up to have a laugh at Sven's interview and there was only time for 1 sentence. The disappointment was palpable.

Bill predicted that England would stuff Sweden (I don't think he believed it for a minute) and Drunkphy predicted an England win because of "the class of player they have". The last programme he scoffed at the class of English player and said they were over hyped so plus ca change there. Brady predicted a no contest and Giles used his favourite phrase "a poor Premiership game".

The interesting part was when Giles and Souness had a discussion about England's lack of a creative midfield player and how Lampard and Gerrard liked to play off the forwards rather than the other way round - Drunkphy looked all at sea that there was a reall football discussion going on and could only utter the truism "Rooney is important to England". Wow, as Laughing Bill would say, thanks for that "insightful" comment.

Then we closed with Brady telling us it would be a "huge story" Rooney's petulance at being taken off (a brief scan of the papers hasn't shown any headline to that effect). Giles and Souness said no doubt Sven had promised him a full 90 minutes and managers shouldn't make such promises - however, this was only conjecture on their part that they used as a stick (an appropriate word for Sven) to beat the English manager.

UTV was good with Pearce and Allardyce but alas they also had Venables - how some Irish people wanted him as our manager I'll never know. Apres Match have killed him like poor old Frank S (is he getting a gig any where for the WC ?).

Thanks as ever for the "insightful" comments.

25 Posts
    Neil, I refer you to his outburst against Quinn and that journo.

That journo is a **** and a lot of his article verge on racism and anti irish so fair play to Dunphy for having a go at him and it was great TV, I have never laughed so much. I also think Quinn is a **** also.
    In Trap we trust

I thought RTEs coverage last night was top class, their analylsis of the game was informative and it was a good healthy debate on various issues. Owls fan you really need to stop watching RTE as you seem to hate it so much. Why do you put yourself through so much pain. I dont watch ITV cause I think their coverage is rubbish. Are you a sado masochist.
    In Trap we trust

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    I thought RTEs coverage last night was top class, their analylsis of the game was informative and it was a good healthy debate on various issues.
    The only interesting "debate" was Giles and Souness on England's lack of a creative midfielder which left Drunkphy all at sea. That was excellent. The rest was incorrect predictions and obvious stuff about Rooney and Beckam's being ineffectual.

I dont watch ITV cause I think their coverage is rubbish.
    Very strange statement. How do you know it's rubbish if you don't watch it

Are you a sado masochist.
    I follow Sheffield Wednesday - does that answer your question ?

25 Posts
    Just on your point about predictions Owls, I suppose all the ITV sages went for a draw?

Page 6 of 15 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast