Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Ian Wright (and TV pundits in general)

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Now, what did yesterday bring.

We had Drunkphy, not one to make sweeping or rash statements, say "every referee in the tournament is useless". I know all ex-footballers dislike referees but even for Drunkphy this was pushing the boat out. He then went on about the Fifa edicts which was fair enough tying their hands but to say the referees are uselss, these being the best in the world, is like saying every referee in the world is useless. An impossible job made even harder by clowns like him. The "referee spoilt the german/ Sweden game" by sending off the Swede. DOh, it might not have been a great decision but the game was over by then as a spectacle. And does the player not bear some responsibility when on a yellow to avoid needless offences like the one he commited - no mention of that. Blame the ref.

After the panel had spent 20 minutes attacking the German defence, which hasn't conceded a goal in 270 minutes of football, Laughing Bill said he had read some where that the Argentinian defence was suspect. Drunkphy scoffed and mentioned that this defence has Heinze "one of the best defenders in the world who plays for Manchester United" ((yeah, like Rio and John O'Shea)). This player then proceeded to lose his marker for the Mexican goal and should have been sent off when he failed to control a pass from his keeper and hacked down the Mexican forward. Best in the world ok, Drunkphy .
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Both (Drunkphy and Giles) also predicted Ecuador to beat England. If they are wrong and England win, be ready for Ecuador are a "mediocre" side.
    All very predictable

The RTE Panel is of course the purveyors of truth - every other panel is full of bullsh*t. Amazing how I could predict the bullsh*t from the RTE Panel a few days in advance.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

All very predictable

The RTE Panel is of course the purveyors of truth - every other panel is full of bullsh*t. Amazing how I could predict the bullsh*t from the RTE Panel a few days in advance.
    Thats because they're consistent. England are a poor side and Ecuador are worse. Are you trying to say they're wrong?

794 Posts
    I thought it was funny that before the game the RTE panel warned us that the English were under-estimating this Ecuador team, forget the game against
    Germany. Ecuador are a good side and England could be in trouble against them etc. After the game we were told that England had only beaten a bunch of no-hopers.

They are not consistent at all. We were also told Germany were a bunch of no hopers by the Panel. Now they're singing their praises when anyone who knows anything about football could tell you that Germany at home in a World Cup, no matter even if they put out a team of John O'Sheas, would be there or there abouts.

You're talking things to the extreme. Some said they had no hope. Brady said they'd score lots off goals but defence was suspect. He's right. Over on the other channels, nobody gave Germany anychance at all. You're trying to nitpick here. No pundit gets everything right, RTE get more right than most.

Owls fan as I said before if you dont like it turn off. Simple as that.
    In Trap we trust

185 Posts
    best commentator on RTE : Jimmy Magee - infectious enthusiam and always likely to include a boxing analogy at some stage in a game.
    best commentator on BBB: Steve Wilson - good on facts & figures and seems to enjoy the game in fromt without talkin shi-ite
    UTV- forgetaboutit.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Quote Originally Posted by placid casual
    best commentator on BBB: Steve Wilson - good on facts & figures and seems to enjoy the game in fromt without talkin shi-ite
    Yeah he's good but had an unfortunate case of the Hamiltons in the Argentina/Mexico game when the ref OBVIOUSLY booked a guy for kicking it away. TV even showed a replay of him doing so but Wilson continued to talk about ref booking a guy through mistaken identity. Een when he was booked in injury time "he should be off now..."

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Yeah he's good but had an unfortunate case of the Hamiltons in the Argentina/Mexico game when the ref OBVIOUSLY booked a guy for kicking it away. TV even showed a replay of him doing so but Wilson continued to talk about ref booking a guy through mistaken identity. Een when he was booked in injury time "he should be off now..."
    yeah I spotted that too !!!!
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

214 Posts
    Is Lawro English or Irish? Once again last night he was "we" when talking about England. I know he has a well paid job for the BBC but his arse kissing of the ING ER LAND team at times makes me reach for the sick bucket.

Well, he was born, reared, educated and worked all his life in Ing er land as you put it.

Lawro while commentating on the Ecuador match the other day.

'' We are passing it well. ''All we need now it the Hollywood pass for the first.''

There were quite a few other references made. I will leave it at this.

214 Posts
    But at some point in his life he must have decided "I need an Irish passport to play for Ireland". When he appears on RTE I'm sure has his Irish hat on but how many nationalities can one man have?!

I think its grand that Lawrenson should be going for England but calling them we is a bit much in my view. But fair play he has a grand old life for himself. Handy number and he wants to keept it going.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982
    Is Lawro English or Irish? Once again last night he was "we" when talking about England. I know he has a well paid job for the BBC but his arse kissing of the ING ER LAND team at times makes me reach for the sick bucket.
    He's both. Chances are if I was born in England with an English mother or father I'd have a soft spot for them. No big deal

Well said Dodge.Commonsense.

794 Posts
    Exactly. While it does grate slightly since we consider him one of ours, it is perfectly understandable.

214 Posts
    Well let him be English for this WC but when we qualify for the Euros and RTE comes running I'm sure he'll have his Irish tricolour waving in the background.

794 Posts
    Please God

214 Posts
    I'm optimistic after seeing the Czechs struggle in Germany, expect Sir Bobby to be wheeled into the dugout to help Stan with tactics!!!

Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast