Page 18 of 19 FirstFirst ... 816171819 LastLast

Thread: Fools guide to buying German tickets

Guys , just to let you know that the game is sold out . A colleague here told me that the German Fa Allocation are all sold. So thats the evintim.de Allocation and The DFB gone with the FAI sitting on 5,000 tickets to be allocated to the countless thousands who applied. oh and please check out my blog !!
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

57 Posts
    Treacy gets tickets as he is the F.A.I.'s official Travel Agent. He runs good trips but they ar eoverpriced. I did travel with him 10 years ago when I won a free trip. I also know one of his regulars and they all swear by him.

None of the other agents get F.A.I. tickets AFAIK. Obviously for many away games they can buy them as Joe Public where demand does not exceed supply. However in most cases they source local tickets typically i nthe home end. They sometimes just don't offer a match ticket. For the game in Germany it would have been very easy to source tickets. A German Travel Agent would have bought 100-300 or whatever tickets as required.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain
    Treacy gets tickets as he is the F.A.I.'s official Travel Agent. He runs good trips but they ar eoverpriced. I did travel with him 10 years ago when I won a free trip. I also know one of his regulars and they all swear by him.

None of the other agents get F.A.I. tickets AFAIK. Obviously for many away games they can buy them as Joe Public where demand does not exceed supply. However in most cases they source local tickets typically i nthe home end. They sometimes just don't offer a match ticket. For the game in Germany it would have been very easy to source tickets. A German Travel Agent would have bought 100-300 or whatever tickets as required.
    only time i actually travelled with him was a stowaaway on his bus from amsterdam to rotterdam in 81 or 82

never heard one bad word about him except the price but you get what you pay for, and hea a real down to earth lad

reder
    Michael at 747 always gets tickets in the irish section along with Abbey travel. On many occasion I have bumped into people who travelled with them in bars and they are always sitting in the away end. In France last campaign and Switz in the last euros he had a few hundred and all had tickets in the fai allocated irish section.

I contacted the FAI and was told that they were still going through applications and it will be another few weeks before they inform applicants as to whether they were successful or not. Im expecting to find out in the first week of august.

First time to post a msg on the forum and feel a bit stupid now to have only only discovered the guide to the eventim.de website in the last week when of course they've no tkts left. Have flights and accommodation (I think) sorted but alas no tkts. Applied to FAI but as I'm not a bb etc, didn't have any joy there. Also trying on ebay but prices are getting a bit mad.
    Anyone have any other suggestions? There's about six of us heading over....

Quote Originally Posted by reder
    Michael at 747 always gets tickets in the irish section along with Abbey travel.
    Travelled with 747 to Paris. Michael sold us tickets of face value of €20 in the French end for €45. We were origionally told they were face value of €30 until we got them in our hands after we payed for them.Alot of other things didn't run smoothly with that trip as far as 747's arrangements were concerned. Transfers were late, he kept changing hotels and trying to get us to pay more for the privilage.
    "If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff

182 Posts
    the eejits should have had the match at a bigger stadium, like dortmund, munich or berlin

Quote Originally Posted by brine3
    the eejits should have had the match at a bigger stadium, like dortmund, munich or berlin
    It´s the fourth biggest in the country and those 3 all had 2 Germany matches at the WC. We haven´t had a qualifier here in ages!

182 Posts
    Sure, ye deserve a match, but I think the DFB might have underestimated the Irish travelling support here. We brought 40,000 to Stade de France, for example.

And why should the amount of travelling fans concern us? If you go without a ticket, that´s your problem ... and the FAI´s, but not ours.

Don't be Stupid..............

Seems most fans were on the ball with eventim for tickets, within the 1st couple of weeks when going on sale and posted on foot.ie they were delivered to Irish addresses without any problems.

Ask the majority of the fans travelling where they would rather play this game. This is a return to where Ireland hit the big time , thanks to eventim have got tickets for virtually the same seats we were sitting in when Ray put the ball in the England net 18 years ago..................

BA flights / 2 nights 5* Hotel / match ticket - £240.......roll on September !!!
    CAPTAIN MORGANS GREENFORD Welcomes all Irish Football fans, live music every weekend

Quote Originally Posted by Bring Back Mick
    Seems most fans were on the ball with eventim for tickets, within the 1st couple of weeks when going on sale and posted on foot.ie they were delivered to Irish addresses without any problems.

Ask the majority of the fans travelling where they would rather play this game. This is a return to where Ireland hit the big time , thanks to eventim have got tickets for virtually the same seats we were sitting in when Ray put the ball in the England net 18 years ago..................

BA flights / 2 nights 5* Hotel / match ticket - £240.......roll on September !!!
    You won´t recognize the stadium if the last time you saw it was in 1988.

The Germans have shown with this WC how many top class stadiums they have. Seen as the DFB doesn't have it's own stadium they use different grounds around the country. Why shouldn't they use Stuttgart the countries 4th largest? It's a 55000 seater stadium remember. You are making it sound like some run down eL ground.
    "If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff

71 Posts
    Given I have free accomodation in Stuttgart, I commend the DFB on their wise decision.

Quote Originally Posted by $Leon$
    Travelled with 747 to Paris. Michael sold us tickets of face value of €20 in the French end for €45. We were origionally told they were face value of €30 until we got them in our hands after we payed for them.Alot of other things didn't run smoothly with that trip as far as 747's arrangements were concerned. Transfers were late, he kept changing hotels and trying to get us to pay more for the privilage.
    nothing new about that

and do you think that the Germans care about how many we will bring, they could have sold out anygroud they wanted with their own supporters and we would only get 10% of the ground.

what is most important is our friends in eventim gave us loads of tickets

Hi Lads

im looking for one ticket for this if anyone can help me please?
    cheers!

I'd prefer Munich or Dortmund due to the absence of a running track

reder
    The german fa just have to take care of the german fans. As a previous poster said they can fill any ground in their country easily and they are following the rules by giving us 10%. Just because ireland bring a large away support to 1 or maybe 2 games in every campaign shouldnt entitle us to extra tickets. We only give away teams 3,000 for Lansdowne! Basel away part 1 had 20,000 irish fans in the city but the game in the WC qualifiers had about 2,500 at it max. The irish section wasnt even full.

I have 2 friends in Germany who were at all their world cup games and sales for the ireland match passed them by. They have no ticket now as do many other regular german fans. They are rightly annoyed and are all writing to the powers that be to get something done about it. (Personally, I dont think they can do squat about it but you can understand their frustration.)

To be honest the fact they have a system were the general public can buy tickets like ticketmaster for games is a joke to be honest. If I was a german fan I would be ****ed off with the German FA. The Irish fans did the right thing and used their resources.

I think the German FA underestimated the resources of the Irish fan. The French made the same mistake but I suppose the French public did not care for that team much until Zidane came back and they got to a world cup semi final and subsequent final
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 13/07/2006 at 10:46 AM.
    In Trap we trust

Page 18 of 19 FirstFirst ... 816171819 LastLast