Thread: Jerry McCabe Documentary

Jerry McCabe Documentary

Anybody see this?Thought it was fairly well put together.Cant beleive it is ten years since this happened .I didnt remember the funeral been so large.Thought the bits about witness intimidation were fairly shocking.
    Walsh the head of the gang who shot him came across as an unrepentant pscyho.

Quote Originally Posted by cheifo
    Walsh the head of the gang who shot him came across as an unrepentant pscyho.
    There aren't words that describe the piece of scum...."did it for the cause" my arse... Thet did it cos they're robbing, murdering scum.

they literally sprayed the car with bullets. fooken terrible.

im from caislean riabhach, and my neighbour is a prison warden down there, he says he( and all wardens )sees them as much as he sees me and i live in London and im home about 3 times a year!!!!!

The scum seem to be having a great time in prison down there.
    Paul Williams had an article in the Sunday World last week where he claimed that the sewers need unblocking every so often because these murders are having the wifes and girlfriends in regularly and throwing their used condons down the jacks and blocking them.

Apparantly they don't even eat the prison food they get food delivered 3 times a day. It seems a bit like the scene from Goodfellas where they're all in prison cooking lobster and drinking wine.I'm sure they have a massive plasma and a few kegs in for the World Cup (or would they be into foreign games?)

The IRA have the line that all of their members in prison are glorious warriors fighting the brits. Prime example would be that "great republican hero" Bobby Sands who was in jail for burning down a closed furniture shop.
    "If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff

Adams did not do himself any favours either the way he spoke down to Ann McCabe.BTW how come everythings gone quiet regarding the bank raid money.

the way he danced around her question reminded me of yer man in killinaskully peter power the politician

Keep it on topic folks.

Did not see the documentary but whats the latest status of these prisoners - how long were they sentenced for & how long they got left?

I've no doubt they would be greeted as heros on their release...

Quote Originally Posted by pete

Did not see the documentary but whats the latest status of these prisoners - how long were they sentenced for & how long they got left?

I've no doubt they would be greeted as heros on their release...
    They plea-bargained themselves a manslaughter charge and a 14 year sentence. This was opposed to a Capital Murder charge and life meaning at least 40 years. Our Government were too lily-livered to press ahead with the Capital Murder charge, and settled for what they could get.

Their sentence goes back to 1996 when they were arrested, with the exception of McAuley(1998), so they will be released in 2010.

Its disgusting.

The reason they got a manslaughter charge was according to the documentary the witnesses recieved phone calls/visits and were "terrified".
    Sinn Fein told their lads to do a bit of time so they wouldnt have to put up with a backlash.Why does our media who are obsessed with financial scandals from the eighties not badger Adams and SF about this?I mean
    witness intimidation?We are meant to be a modern country for God sake.

firstly bobby sands was arrested because he was in a car with a gun in the boot.

secondly the capital murder charges were dropped partially because of the kicking the guys got from the cops, next defence witness up was the governor who was going to say he sent them straight to hospital on recieving them.

interesting they avoided the question of what one of the gardai in the car did to earn one (and it was only one of them) of the robbers spraying him and his collegue with bullets.

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    firstly bobby sands was arrested because he was in a car with a gun in the boot.

secondly the capital murder charges were dropped partially because of the kicking the guys got from the cops, next defence witness up was the governor who was going to say he sent them straight to hospital on recieving them.

interesting they avoided the question of what one of the gardai in the car did to earn one (and it was only one of them) of the robbers spraying him and his collegue with bullets.
    Alas the apologist! how do you earn being sprayed with bullets...? oh sorry doing your job as a garda, upholding a peaceful society.....

Quote Originally Posted by leather
    Alas the apologist! how do you earn being sprayed with bullets...? oh sorry doing your job as a garda, upholding a peaceful society.....
    far from it, just the show was (understandibly) a vehicle for ann mccabe and doesnt address a fundamental question: why did walsh break disciple and shoot the specific cops in that car? it wasnt the random killing of any old garda.

there is more to this murder than the show was willing to delve into.

Point Taken...pls Elaborate...

the story i heard at the time from a fenian i know was, and i add this is just his version and cannot be in any way shape or form backed up, that gda ben o'sullivan had a lot of previous with walsh and when walsh was on the run o'sullivan pulled a gun on walshs wife and tried to scare his whereabouts out of her.

walsh heard this and swore to kill him next time he saw him. which was adare.

probably ******, but the story i heard at the time which may or may not explain why one of the IRA men went dipso instead of doing what he was there to do.

the story i heard at the time from a fenian i know was, and i add this is just his version and cannot be in any way shape or form backed up, that gda ben o'sullivan had a lot of previous with walsh and when walsh was on the run o'sullivan pulled a gun on walshs wife and tried to scare his whereabouts out of her.

walsh heard this and swore to kill him next time he saw him. which was adare.

probably ******, but the story i heard at the time which may or may not explain why one of the IRA men went dipso instead of doing what he was there to do.
    Even if true in no way excuses the killing & actually makes it worse as could be argued was premeditated.

This issues does bring topic of why prisoners would be treated differently for similar crimes in the North & South. I am sure must be a few jailed for killing RUC members during robberies?

Total and absolute bullsh1t and an attempt to sway public opinion away from the reality of the situation. If they were kicked to within an inch of their lives, which I truly hope they were, this could not have been brought up as evidence in court, and it was not a mitigating factor in why the Capital Murder charges were dropped. The injured arrestees had the right to have charges brought against the gardai for assault if they so desired to try, but this would have been a totally seperate issue, and nothing at all to do with the fact that prior to these beatings they murdered a detective. The Capital Murder charges were dropped because the government sh1t themselves over the Good Friday agreement and thought they would lose the prosecution altogether. They would have done, only for public outcry.

Interesting how you develop these 'opinions', or have them drip-fed to you. Ask yourself why Walsh was on the run in the first place. And please don't honestly tell me that they knew that Ben O'Sullivan was on that checkpoint at 6 o'clock in the morning. They went there with armed robbery in mind, pure and simple. Nobody knows why shots were fired, but it has been proven forensically that the first shots were from the jeep that rammed the unmarked squad car.

This was capital murder, pure and simple, and these bastrads deserve nothing more than pure misery and hell for the rest of their lives.

joe, i have tried to put forward an explaination GIVEN TO ME by someone who is clued into these sorts of things, and i get that abuse? drip fed? what are you on about.

i am not trying to justify this by any stretch, bit the eye witnessess reported a nothern accent (presumably mccauly) screaming at the gun man 'what the **** are you at, get in the car'. check the court transcripts and the press at the time. it clearly, and no-one ever claimed, was not a murder mission. but they did murder a garda. why? why did one of the gang lose the head and spray 2 cops with bullets against a: orders and b: standing provo rules?

im not in any, way shape or form defending this crime Joe despite your rant, but there is something else going on here and i heard it was a vendetta.

the IRA men were beaten up. thats a legal technicality right there. see when i used the word PARTIALLY. i have no doubt the boys did there best to harass witnessess, sure some did time for contempt (another debate) but i am saying the cops did themselves no favours by hospitalising them. and letting rte capture them going to hospital in stretchers.

and your last bit there helps proves that guy i know's thesis despite yourself. they DIDNT know he would be there. it was 1 provo losing the head against a cop he had a beef with.

now joe, could you think before you reply. im not a provo. i think what happend in adare was appaling, even if walsh didnt lose the plot.

whats the point of 'its been proved forensically'? no one disargrees who shot the 2 guys, the question is why?

Robert McCartney found out what happens when provos lose their code of "discipline".Also in similar style to this case there was a so called whispering caimpaign started to damage the reputation of McCartney and then his sisters.Hard to believe this is not a tactic used to justify the indefencible.
    Last edited by cheifo; 16/06/2006 at 1:12 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by cheifo
    Robert McCartney found out what happens when provos lose their code of "discipline".Also in similar style to this case there was a so called whispering caimpaign started to damage the reputation of McCartney and then his sisters.Hard to believe this is not a tactic used to justify the indefencible.
    agreed, but im not trying to justify anything.

there was a bar brawl in the mccartney incident that ended in murder and a cover up by the local IRA.

all im saying is that something doesnt fit in the way the mccabe killing was reported. thats not to justify the murder by any stretch, but why did this guy snap at that place at that time?

Pearse McAuley's release date is in fact early 2008, not sure about the others.
    Finn Harps Belfast Supporters