if this film is being shown in only a minority of Uk cinema then its ludicrous because its made with their lottery money.
No I didn't. It's a turd.
Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com
if this film is being shown in only a minority of Uk cinema then its ludicrous because its made with their lottery money.
Great piece in yesterday's Guardian by George Monbiot in which he rubbishes the film's critics - none of whom had even bothered to watch it, letting their blinkered prejudices do the work instead.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/Columnists...791176,00.html
No One Likes Us, We Don't Care
Saw this today.Good if not brillant but def worth seeing.
saw it last night, my two housemates are actually in it. the guy who played finbar and another lesser part played by another lad.
Quality, very powerful and hard-hitting. tough to watch at times. What i really found very good about this movie, was the script, when you thought one character was coming out with a very strong/profound point, he would be outdone by a better point by the next character. i think this was best summed up when the donovan brothers were in jail and on different sides and cillian murphy ( younger o'donovan ) says:
"and let me tell you something, I killed cian (? ) reilly"
for those who havent seen it, that line will make sense when you do![]()
If that's a spoiler, you're a knob who should be banned.
If it's not, then ignore me.
no its not, not at all.
and i notice the second line in your post isnt half as strong as your first i.e. "..ignore me, cos im a little **** stirrer" that may balance out the two![]()
and dont worry i always ignore you![]()
Tough Scene invovling young O reilly.Cillian Murphy was excellant but I had just seen Breakfast On Pluto the night before and had to adapt mentally![]()
Thought the film was very powerful and definitely stirred up emotions. The openin scene is very powerful and sets the scene well. Great performances from Cillian Murphy. Liam Cunningham,yer one that plays sinead and the fella who plays cillian's brother.
I have never actually been in a cinema and heard so many people laugh at such as serious film. People weren't laughing at the story but rather at some of the terrible performances of some of the supporting cast. The scene that really sums it up is the "i'm goin to sleep in the chicken coup scene". I understand the characters logic and reasoning put the acting was terrible.
A few times during the film I thought some of the extras were going to wave to the camera as they ran by.
The dublin character in the film reminded me alot of Gareth Keenan from the office especially towards the end of the film.
"If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff
she isnt an actress. thats probably why you spotted that. hwoever i actually thought she was quite good."i'm goin to sleep in the chicken coup scene".
It was gas, she had the biggest country oul wan head on her. The definition of an old country biddy.Originally Posted by $Leon$
I thought it was good, well acted and real but maybe the story was a little thin and it progresses quite slowly.4 stars seems to be the general newspaper verdict and I'd go along with that.
<insert witty remark>
Loach does a lot of that, going for a more "naturalistic" approach I suppose. I usually find it more distracting than anything else.Originally Posted by paul_oshea
SIGNATURESCOPE
A lot of lottery funded films don't even get to a cinema, so that won't be an issueOriginally Posted by cheifo
I thought there was great emotion in the "chicken coop" scene. I'd imagine most people with a rural background would know of such folk who aren't the most emotionally articulate...hence I thought it was well acted. Viewers were probably laughing at this scene as it made them feel uncomfortable.
Im good buddies with the lad who played Chris O'Reilly, he got 10 grand and was only in it for about 25 minutes!Originally Posted by cheifo
I thought the movie was decent but way too bias, some of the acting was attrocious aswell though!
nail on head, this is exactly what i thought, because the woman was just matter of fact abotu the whole thing, like a good aul stern and stubborn irish woman.who aren't the most emotionally articulate...hence I thought it was well acted.
how did he get that much, he was barely in the flim!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the lads i know didnt get a great deal more than that!!LOL, to think that he wasnt even an actor as well!!!
Not that the funny scenes were the most memorable but i thought the moneylenders trial was very funny.
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
Firstly I don't think you need to be from a rural background to regognise "folk who aren't the most emotionally articulate" as you put it. Take a trip into Dublin or any city centre any day of the week and you'll find these people. Every village may have an idoit but urban areas have just as many or possibly even more per capita. The difference is everyone knows everyone in rural areas where people in towns and citys may not even knows their neighbours.Originally Posted by Eoingull
I do understand the type of "never say die" emotion that Loach was trying to portray here but I just found the scene commical. The woman didn't wanted to be driven out of her home by $cumbags in uniforms, I understand that but i do think a more accomplished actress could have played the scene alot better.
As for the actor playing Joe O'Reilly getting €10,000 for his part I find this difficult to believe. If my memory serves me correctly he appeared in 3 scenes. One with the squad, second with the General and landlord and third where he gets shot. I'd guess between 1 and 2 weeks work in total?? At that sort of money we should all do a bit of acting on the side.
"If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff
No, Leon its true, the boys at home confirmed it for me, when acting in a loach film, nearly everyone is there for about the same lenght of time, as there is no real lead part as such and no one knows until the film is created just how many scenes everyone is in. on about 2,000 a week for 5 - 6 weeks. its standard payment.As for the actor playing Joe O'Reilly getting €10,000 for his part I find this difficult to believe.
irish reviewer on aintitcoolnews liked the film and lauded the director's hiring of cork non-actors for the minor roles but had a huge problem with what he called the 2 dimensional portrayal of the black and tans. BAD GUYS with no depth, too over the top and caricaturish.