Im not a ref but i would say yes, the goal should stand.
EDIT: In a penalty shoot-out:
Any Refs or anybody have a view on this?:
Penalty kick strikes the cross bar and goes downwards and hits the goalkeepers back(standing on/beside his line) & goes into the goal.Is the goal allowed?
Last edited by the 12 th man; 30/05/2006 at 11:47 AM.
Im not a ref but i would say yes, the goal should stand.
I'm not certain, but I think if it's a penalty shoot-out the kick is deemed complete when the ball stops travelling forward. In that case if it came back and rebounded off the keeper it shouldn't stand. I think.
A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes for his friends.
The only way that wouldn't stand would be in a shoot out, no reason for it not to stand during the actual game but I assume you meant a shoot out.
Has there not been a few cases when a peno has been taken, hit the post came off the back of the keepers head and went in the net. The goal stood. For some reason i think this happened to France in the Mexico 56 world cup ?
I presume you mean Mexico 86. Yep France were awarded a goal in a penalty shoot out against Brazil incorrectly when the ball struck the post and came back out hit the keeper on the back and went in. It happened so fast the ref didnt see it. The rules say as pointed out earlier that the kick is over when the ball ceases to go forward. An ordinary penalty is different obviously.Originally Posted by Roo69
It was in a shoot out.Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
What happens so if the ball hits the cross bar bounces before the line ( stopped going foward ) but because of the spin it rolls over the goal line again with out hitting the keeper ?
My understanding is that it shouldn't count in a shootout but I couldn't be certain.Originally Posted by anto1208
We're not arrogant, we're just better.
PM Reitoir here..
54,321 sold - wws will never die - ***
---
New blog if anyone's interested - http://loihistory.wordpress.com/
LOI section on balls.ie - http://balls.ie/league-of-ireland/
AFAIK, that's correct. In a shootout, once the ball stops going forwards, it's dead. It's been awarded plenty of times though.Originally Posted by Schumi
Personally, I think the rule's being intperpreted too strictly there. It's just meant to stop anyone scoring from a rebound, and it seems perfectly reasonable to let that sort of penalty stand.
You can't spell failure without FAI
I don't know if that's actually physically possible though? You'd be lifting the ball and putting heavy top spin on it? Maybe an engineer or someone can clarify.Originally Posted by anto1208
Sounds tricky. I could see it happening with a volley, but probably not from a dead ball.Originally Posted by pineapple stu
You can't spell failure without FAI
Divet.Originally Posted by pineapple stu
Goalkeeper gets a touch before it hit the bar..........Originally Posted by Bald Student
But how does the top spin come into it? You have to hit over the top to get top spin and from the bottom to lift it onto the bar. Plus, the keeper's glove would take any spin off the ball. Similarly, possibly, with the divot.
No, Mullet is right. If there's a divot, you don't need any top spin.Originally Posted by pineapple stu
You can't spell failure without FAI
Ah yes - hadn't thought of the divot there...![]()
This actually happened in Mexico '86, France vs Brazil I think, in the last 16 or last 8.*Originally Posted by the 12 th man
The ball hit the bar or post (can't remember) and came out bit hit the 'keeper and went back in. The keeper was a few feet off his line at the point of contact. The goal stood. I'm not sure what you mean by "beside his line".
However, following frantic efforts from the TV analysts to see exactly what the rule was, it transpired that the goal shouldn't have been allowed. Once the ball had hit the woodwork and travelled outwards the penalty should have been deemed to have been missed. In effect the penalty was scored from a rebound.
There was a certain "moral justice" in the outcome though, because the same goalkeeper had committed a totally blatant professional foul in normal time. What would have been a certain red card these days only attracted a yellow. It was only a free kick and France missed so Brazil completely got away with it. Not sure about the teams, but recall the scenario well!
Has Reitoir seen the question?
* The exact question was what happens if the keeper was actually ON his line. This is different I suppose.
Bruno Bellone was the player in question. Can't remember the keeper. The goal was allowed but shouldn't've stood.
Bookmarks