Maybe he just hates Rooney.
To be honest I know for fact that John Motson said in a friendly that we all hope that Wayne Rooney does not get injured before the summer and Lawrenson butted in and said speak for yourself. Thats not a word for word quote but the gist of it was that Lawrenson did not want to be seen as an England fan.
He does have the co commentators job for the England games ahead of Le Saux during the summer.
In Trap we trust
Maybe he just hates Rooney.
Anybody who has not heard Lawro say "we" when England is playing must never watch BBC or else just never listen.
really?why would he bother saying something like that?-i think joe brit public would consider lawro to be an england fan at this stage. in what context did he say that can u remember?Originally Posted by NeilMcD
I
well, never heard it myself and if i did i'd be the first to be on here giving out about itOriginally Posted by Dodge
Fine. But don't having a go at the numerous who have heard it (and its been mentioned here before too)
From Liverpool v Man Utd game:
John Motson: "We all get a little worried when you see Wayne Rooney
go down injured... from an England perspective.
Mark Lawrenson: "Speak for yourself."
In Trap we trust
Well I personally never heard Lawro refer to England as "we". I also heard him say what Neil has referred to and he definitely wanted to make it clear he doesn't support England.Originally Posted by as_i_say
Andy Gray is fine between two teams in the EPL but when it comes to British teams in Europe he is so over the top and biased its unreal. Townsend and Mc Coist are a joke to be honest but that is more to do with ITV in my view. They ruin all good football coverage. Venables used to be great on BBC but then went to ITV and became rubbish.
The BBC are getting that way with Muppet Ian Wright and Peter Schmeichael.
In Trap we trust
I agreee.Originally Posted by gonzo
In Trap we trust
Who cares whether Lawrenson has said "we" or not.
The real problem we have is our seedings. We're constantly going to be thrown into groups with 2 to 3 better teams. This is the cycle that Charlton broke (with a little help from Gary McKay) and is one the major obstacles we face. A good showing in this campaign is, I believe, crucial to our seeding.
There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.
He's English/Irish sure - he's entitled to call England "us".Originally Posted by Macy
Don't agree with the assertion though (pending quote, obviously). "Never" is a long time. Other countries will go through a lull like us. We'll go through an up period again. We need a strong third-place finish in the 2008 group at worst though to maintain our seeding and build up some momentum.
No chance!Originally Posted by beautifulrock
To be fair to Lawernson he never refers to England as "we" and considers himself Irish. He often puts down John Motson in commentary when Motson refers to England as "we". Lawernson will come out with something like "speak for yourself John". He's done this loads of times and often does it along with Hansen to Lineker in studio.
That's the one Neil, jesus you must have some memory to remember the exact game and all!Originally Posted by NeilMcD
I just remember him saying it cos I said 'good on ya Lawro' at the time.
There's at least 3 of us on this threa dwho have heard it numerous timesOriginally Posted by 4tothefloor
Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
How are you so sure about that? Maybe he did say what you think he said to Motson but how do you know what he was actually talking about?I have seen enough evidence on tele to assure me where Mark Lawernson's allegiances lie and its not with the boys in green.Lets wait for another few months toi see, and it will settle this silly debate. Don’t forget to tune into BBC for all the England games though so listen carefully now.![]()
Last edited by FarBeag; 29/05/2006 at 11:05 PM.
I've been keeping tracks on this. Quite a few times recently Lawrenson has been insistent on being Irish and has been far more objective than most about the English. Most notably after Engalnd won the Rugby WC in '02 when Lineker was being his smug self and Lawrenson said it was hard for him to take all the gloating, being an Irishman. Motson threw a jibe at him about being having been an Irishman in the past during the 2006 FA Cup Final commentry (I think) and Lawrenson didn't react, disappointingly. Motson is a **** by the way, but that's a different story! But honestly, the only time I ever hear Lawrenson referring to "we" or "us" it's about the Irish.Originally Posted by as_i_say
I remember that vividly too. Excellent example.Originally Posted by NeilMcD
Ok maybe I am wrong but my perception was that he liked to consider himself English. Anyway as was said plenty of opportunities for this debate to be sorted out in the coming weeks. Maybe there is other reasons why he gets on my nerves other than that then. I guess we are all off topic here in one way or another. But I still dont agree with what he said in the Sunday Worst either.
fair enough. ive never heard him describing himself as irish myself but have heard him talk about england and use "we" (BBC only of course) so maybe he's having some sort of identity crisis or the lads at the times are giving him grief!
it stands to reason he probably considers himself both, erm for some reason.
I