Done and dusted.
    www.westportunited.com - Real Passion.

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    Point taken about our ego's. Is it true that UTD have secured land from the Town Council?
    That good to here that you wil get the land you wish to get.
    But remember one thing most other clubs had to go out and scrape and buy the ground they have including Ballyheane and are continue to pay for it. We on the other hand dont get hand out only what we have earned.
    So when you built san sero remember you did with a helping hand

We have won our National title and on the field for that matter and moved on to the Eircom league, So Utd are now only interested in one competition Mayo Leagues and Connacht Cups are minor trophies. Eircom league clubs consider the FAI Junior Cup as a minor trophy so what are Utd then a minor club. Of course Celtic would loved to win the Junior cup but it is not the main goal for the club anymore we are after bigger tophies now. We are paying our manager but not as much as yee are paying your Galway man. The fundraising we are doing at prseent is going towards our full size astro turf pitch @ Celtic Park. Come over some night and we will turn the lights on for you so can have have a look around.
    This is a great fued- Closing time Vs Unreal Madrid- first to 10 insults/jibes/put-downs wins! Great stuff lads, excellent points by both of ye- gives me a great laugh! Its about time we had some healthy banter on here. This foot.ie has got too tame!

new grounds

congrats to committee on the buying of new grounds for pitches etc.now get underage structure right so you will have persons to play there.....

Where were they bought? Is the sports ground now not going to be used by Westport United?

Quote Originally Posted by terrier View Post
    congrats to committee on the buying of new grounds for pitches etc.now get underage structure right so you will have persons to play there.....
    Is there a sting in the tail!!!

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    Where were they bought? Is the sports ground now not going to be used by Westport United?
    did here they bought land out the Ballinrobe road, dont know how true it is.did here about 14acers.
    Can't see them leaving da Sports park untill grounds ready to call there home.
    May be thunder might tell us more

Quote Originally Posted by terrier View Post
    Well done to all concerned. Good pitches does not mean a winning club.This club won a Junior Tilte in the Sports park.

Fair play to Westport if they got their own pitches sorted.

. Good pitches does not mean a winning club..

celtic are prime examples of this statement.

Quote Originally Posted by Unreal Madrid View Post
    How do u figure this?

Well done to all concerned. Good pitches does not mean a winning club.This club won a Junior Tilte in the Sports park.
    They say a dog bark is worse than his bite.lets close on say by starting a new chapter by wishing them well.and I am sure there memorys of the Sports park will live with them.
    Just may be they may bring new beginings and solve there youth problems.

Red face

You have to have a sneaky comment to make on all your posts haven`t you.
    Westport will be ok on and off the pitch, they don`t need to scour and poach the county for players and then call it an underage set up.
    Maybe a name change to "mayo celtic" would make ye more recognisable as a club and scouting system.
    When dykes ego has been inflated enough and a better job( € ) comes around you will be left to pick up the pieces for a club that has lost its identity in mayo.

You have to have a sneaky comment to make on all your posts haven`t you.
    Westport will be ok on and off the pitch, they don`t need to scour and poach the county for players and then call it an underage set up.
    Maybe a name change to "mayo celtic" would make ye more recognisable as a club and scouting system.
    When dykes ego has been inflated enough and a better job( € ) comes around you will be left to pick up the pieces for a club that has lost its identity in mayo.
    hard coments but alot of what is said could be true,but are you who lives in glass houses should not throw stones (€manager)
    thread lightly

Long time no post my friends!!

The barbecue was a success, the food was brilliant, the drink flowed, the spot prizes were excellent and DJ Dave Lyons was cracking on the discs. Out of ten, I would give the night ten.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Underage News

The Vinny Rigney U.14 Football Tournament in McConville Park was a success.

Westport United U.14B team won the U.14 Division Two B league, well done to them.

A cracking U.12 Cup final coming up on the 1st September. Westport United V Castlebar Celtic!!

The FAI Summer Camp is currently in town.

Nice to see the Juniors hitting form at the right time in their quest for glory, demolishing Ballyheane 4-0 with a brace from Vinny and goals from Louisburgh Lion and Flawless, and beating Ballina Town 3-2 with a brace from the Louisburgh Lion and Dave Horkan. The B team are on the march with wins over Manulla B (2-0) and Achill Rovers (8-0). Cup semi final against Erris United B on Thursday evening at 6:30. Hopefully, the gaffer will lead the team to glory.

Post Vote of Sympathy

A Vote of Sympathy has been extended to the family of Jackie Foley, ex Westport United goalkeeper, to Mary McDonnell, mother of Westport United vice chairman, Michael McDonnell and to Eamon Duffy, former club chairman and president. May their gentle souls rest in peace, amen!!

Congrats to Westport United on the recent news concerning a site. It means exciting times ahead for the club and what is planned for the new ground will make the new home of Westport United the most progressive football development in Mayo. Hopefully, we can be in our new ground for the centenerary celebrations.

Agree,Celtic with one pitch but still winning Connacht & Irish titles. Another Irish title won at the weekend. Two in one year not bad. Its a pity that Celtic do not purchase land and sell Celtic Park to fund a development like Salthill Devon.

Page 33 of 91 FirstFirst ... 2331323334354383 ... LastLast