Page 78 of 91 FirstFirst ... 2868767778798088 ... LastLast
Results 1,541 to 1,560 of 1816

Thread: Westport United FC

We (Ballygawley Celtic) had the privilge of a trip to Kilmore in the Con Cup yesterday, a long f'n trip from a few miles shy of Sligo town. Lovely pitch out there and some fine Thunder too........We won 3-0 and were rarely troubled, I'd imagine they didnt have there strongest team out, f they did they will really struggle next year in the Super League......Anyone know when the next round draw will be done???

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    Beating Inver 10-0 is hardly going to do anything to help ye for the next round!

Maybe they could've given ye more notice though, im sure they tried to round up people and couldn't field on the day, not everyone has 40+ players to choose from
    They dont have 40 plus players, thats the point, I am sure they knew they wouldnt field a team so why bother entering the competition in the first place?

The club should make Inver pay for the bus.
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

Any thoughts on the Mayo game this weekend??

Westport United 8-0 Mulranny

Goals from Cam (3), Vinny, Gerry, Kipper, Spiderman and El Matador were enough to set up the Red and Black with a trip to Dillons Cross on January 4th in a very close and entralling contest!!
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Underage SFAI Progress

It was a mixed weekend on the SFAI front.

The U.14s beat Ballymahon 6-2 to advance to the last 32 of the SFAI U.14 Goodson Cup. The national draw for that will be made on Wednesday night.

The U.16s were defeated 4-0 away to Salthill Devon. Season over for them.

The future Ronnie Ring is on hand on the production line!!

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    The U.14s beat Ballymahon 6-2 to advance to the last 32 of the SFAI U.14 Goodson Cup. The national draw for that will be made on Wednesday night.
    U.14s got a home tie against DDSL Major Division outfit, Templeogue United with the game to be played on or before W/E 31st Jan/1st Feb.

Hi ho, hi ho, it's off to Cork we go!! To beat Dillons Cross on Sunday in the FAI Junior Cup. Kick off is at 2:00 on Sunday in either Dillons Cross or Mayfield. Pre-match reception for the supporters on Saturday evening in the Shelbourne Hotel on MacCurtain Street in Cork. Heard that there are two bus loads travelling down. As they say, they don't talk in Cork boy, they sing, you langer.

Anyhow, yours truly will not be at the game!! aaawwwww!! I'm in Liverpool and the last time that I was in Liverpool when Westport United were playing an FAI Junior Cup game, Westport United won the FAI Junior Cup that season. If anyone thinks that Westport United has an easy ride on Sunday, I shall post a particular team as a reminder....Heatmerchants of Athlone. We were expected to beat them but came out with the tail between our legs.

The U.14s are at home to Corrib Celtic in the Connacht Cup on Saturday at 2:00. A win will put them into the quarter final against Merville United of Sligo in the quarter final. Should be an interesting game.

Two days to go and Westport are psyching themselves up for the long trip to Cork. The players are determined and focused, the supporters are going to drink the city dry. Extra consignments of liquor has been deployed into the clubs and pubs. Extra strippers are brought into the city to keep the broody blokes happy!! On behalf of the Liverpool Branch of the Westport United Supporters Club, I wish the team good luck and God speed as Westport United embark on the mission to regain the Holy Grail of Irish Junior football, the holy grail that denied so many players in the past, but the holy grail that we are so hungry to see come back to Westport. Only when we win the FAI Junior Cup again will we be remembered as a great club; in the same league as Fairview Rangers.

Kick off is at 2:00 on Sunday
    Kick off is brought forward to 12:00. As I type, the team are on the bus heading south to beat the boys of Cork.

Checked the FAI Junior Cup thread, and the game is down for Silverheights.

21 Posts
    Love to hear the Wesport comments on 'Silverheights'. Worst pitch in Cork, maybe Ireland?

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    Love to hear the Wesport comments on 'Silverheights'. Worst pitch in Cork, maybe Ireland?
    Worst in Ireland without a shadow of a doubt. I am surprised that they are allowed to play football on it. It is not even flat.
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

41 Posts

Talking Flat,,,,I'm offended

This is the Cork Aul,,,,,,,,we dont do flat.We specalise in 2 goalposts,wonky lines an lots of slopes an bumps.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Checked the FAI Junior Cup thread, and the game is down for Silverheights.

Just wondering if you could help me? you lads are playing a junior cup game sunday week? can you tell me what time is it on?

What is this rumour about Derek Glynn that I spotted on the Transfer Rumour thread?

Quote Originally Posted by spcorp View Post
    Just wondering if you could help me? you lads are playing a junior cup game sunday week? can you tell me what time is it on?

???????

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post

I cannot comment cos I wasn't even there!!

The U.14s are at home to Corrib Celtic in the Connacht Cup on Saturday at 2:00. A win will put them into the quarter final against Merville United of Sligo in the quarter final. Should be an interesting game.
    And they won 5-0.

And won it we did. Cam, Lovejoy and Vinny banged in the goals to win 3-2 and thanks to the supporters that kept me updated.

Page 78 of 91 FirstFirst ... 2868767778798088 ... LastLast