Page 36 of 91 FirstFirst ... 2634353637384686 ... LastLast

Thread: Westport United FC

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    The lads are badly needed based on the balance of the team on Sunday. I was very surprised that your team finished the game with five centre-halfs (JL, EMcH, PB, LJ,& O'C) what is the manager thinking, is he been told who not to drop. Looks that way on Sunday.
    The gaffer could only work with the players at his disposal.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Are you telling us that you are moving up a standard and joining the EIRCOM LEAGUE. Well done.
    Not an immediate priority but a possible long term priority plan. First up is the new super stadium in Mountbrowne.

You should have seen Horkan's face after he missed your last Peno & handed Celtic the Cup (3 times in 4 seasons), now that would have won your prize.
    However, I didn't see any photograph of dejected players on the local media. What did you think of Padraig Burns' summary on the CT?

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    However, I didn't see any photograph of dejected players on the local media. What did you think of Padraig Burns' summary on the CT?
    Its a summary of what Rafa is hoping to achieve, squad rotation or the need to in Westports case. In this case it worked successfully, for other teams including Liverpool is has fallen on its face.

It calls for strong players and characters to be able to step in for 1 match and sit on the bench for the next, the baby faced assassin been a prime example of this.

Westport have to be commended for this, it has worked out well this season, will it work next or work again, who knows.

Have you any plans online or dates on the developments for the pitches TB?
    Last edited by irishyop; 04/10/2007 at 10:22 AM.

Not an immediate priority but a possible long term priority plan. First up is the new super stadium in Mountbrowne.
    Best of luck with this development. What is the plan & time scale

Yes PB summary for once was well balanced and not a PR excerise for Utd. The one issue he did not mention was the lack of new young player coming into the squad. I very disappionted with a number of the Utd players last Sunday based on how I have seen them play in the past, maybe an off day. I was surpised that he picked out BK as a new Centre-half, pace would not be his strongest point. With McL, DS & DC coming back, this will give the team the attacking option that was badly missed last Sunday. I do fancy Celtic (if U-21 players are used) & Utd to have a big say in the Connacht Cup but based on Sunday well off the pace for a tilt at the FAI Cup.

Well Celtic won't have a say, knocked out last night by Ballinasloe

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    Well Celtic won't have a say, knocked out last night by Ballinasloe
    That was the Senior Cup. Super League teams enter the Connacht Junior Cup in the 3rd Rd.

Ah, sorry CT

Best of luck with this development. What is the plan & time scale

Quote Originally Posted by Mayo County Council
    Westport United Football Club Lugravagh Aughagower North Westport. Construct changing rooms with proprietary treatment system, parking facilities, 3 senior pitches, 2 junior pitches and access road.
    Plans are up for discussion on October 21st and all going well the machinery will be moving in and the funds would be accumulated. The target is the club's Centenerary Year, 2011.

Who will be the next manager of Westport United after today's reportedly dramatic events with the gaffer? Will the dream team of Cuey and Bunsy make a comeback? Any confirmation on BO'C's departure?

Learned today that no job is safe in football. Two weeks ago its was Jossie. Now its been confirmed to me that Brendan O'Connor has been shown the door, after failing to win the A.I.B. Cup. Despite he having won The Super League, and westro Cup.
    Can't comfirm, I have reason to believe, that number of players were not happy in the way he ran the team, by playing himself or his style of management.
    It appears its a sad day one way or another.
    Hope he Brendan gets back in the game

Well that has to b the daftest decision yet, has he someit else lined up?

Funds not there maybe to keep him?

I heard that a number of supporters were not happy with his team selection last Sunday and some players were not happy with him as their manager. Will Cuey leave Westport GAA team after getting them relegated out of the Senior Championship, didnt see him as a man that would run from a challenge. Would be great for Utd to get him back with PB. By the way what happened to your Galway player JO'B, he didnt last long. What targets will the new manager be set?

What ever the out come is there egg on those faces who fired him B.O'C
    At the end of the day the manager has to be able to manage without interference was it some supporters were not happy continue paying him, so they want to call the shots, on who plays.
    He only lost on penalty shoot out.
    would he been sacked if he won? I dare say yes.
    Reason you cant pay someone and development at the same time.
    Looks like big changes ahead.

Sounds like some of the players had the knives out for the manager !!! What sort of a committee would listen to these spineless players who were not happy to win a league & cup double....

It's not often you get a chance to win an FAI Junior cup,and when you do win it,it requires alot of luck along the way.Was he sacked because he did'nt win it ?

Sounds like some of the older players are lookinng for the job themselves ??

You don't have to be liked to be a manager !! You have to do the job to the best of your ability..God help who takes up the position next .

Sad day for Westport,sad when a committee listens to a shower of cry babies who met a manager who did'nt take any of there bu*ls*it..

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    What ever the out come is there egg on those faces who fired him B.O'C
    At the end of the day the manager has to be able to manage without interference was it some supporters were not happy continue paying him, so they want to call the shots, on who plays.
    He only lost on penalty shoot out.
    would he been sacked if he won? I dare say yes.
    Reason you cant pay someone and development at the same time.
    Looks like big changes ahead.
    thats rich coming from you after slaughtering k.murphy all year!

Quote Originally Posted by taztkblue View Post
    thats rich coming from you after slaughtering k.murphy all year!
    I ave my reasons, but I didn't sack him!!
    but may be I was using the net work to get my message across.The end of the day it worked.
    The question u should be asking will he be sacked!!
    Only I know that.Watch the space

Quote Originally Posted by billyc View Post

Sounds like some of the older players are lookinng for the job themselves ??
    I heard a rumour here in Athens to a similar effect, but I feel that it is wise not to make further comment on it.

Quote Originally Posted by billyc View Post

You don't have to be liked to be a manager !! You have to do the job to the best of your ability..
    The top managers in the game are ruthless personalities in their own right.

Page 36 of 91 FirstFirst ... 2634353637384686 ... LastLast