Page 29 of 91 FirstFirst ... 1927282930313979 ... LastLast

Thread: Westport United FC

51 Posts
    i wish to make a small comment - i know the westport manager and i think he does have the coaching to be a top manager and from i see at the moment - westport are flying - last season was first season and he still won the AIB Cup - i think the super league is theirs this year

Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    johnny o brien has no commitment and will let ye down on many occasions. all the talkin ye do about celtic bringing in players and payin managers and giving them cars and what are ye doin now????????at least celtic got a manager with qualifications and experience thats worth the money!!!! ye are jealous of celtic who did it right i just wish that everyone would shut up on about what celtic are doing when ye are doin it yourselves, it's the way forward!!! not tryin to be a w#*ker lads sorry but just thought i'd say it!!
    dont know anything about obrien lad but ten out of ten with the rest.

I heard that the Gaffer got his Youth Cert on Saturday. Well done to him.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    3-0 against Ballyheane and played some sharp football. Vinny, Louisburgh Lion and Brian Fahy netted. Very impressed with Johnny O'Brien in the middle of the park. Very much a clone of Danny Scahill. I have a nickname for him to be inducted into the Hall of Names!! Makelele, because he likes to break up attacks in the middle of the park!!
    Is that the same Johnny O'Brien that played with Celtic for a few seasons.

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    i wish to make a small comment - i know the westport manager and i think he does have the coaching to be a top manager and from i see at the moment - westport are flying - last season was first season and he still won the AIB Cup - i think the super league is theirs this year
    I cannot see anyone touching Westport for the league this year. Maybe Celtic depending if Dykes can or will use the youth players. Ballina will put up a good fight but if you take Duffy out of the team they are very average when they meet quality sides.

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    This guy came from Corrib Rangers.

So if Peter Burke signs for Celtic and I was asked if he played for Ballyheane I would say he came from Westport Utd.

I heard that the Gaffer got his Youth Cert on Saturday. Well done to him.
    fair play to him considering he didnt have to do his kickstarts like everyone else...
    also tb is it true dan fallon and torphy gone to celtic ?

The Prodigal Son

I think the Ballyheane game was a closer game than the score line suggest. after all Westport scored in the first 5min next goal came in the 62 min.the rest is history.
    Well today they went back to winning ways with 5-1 win over crossmolina away.
    it there first time to beat them in 4 attempts.
    At lease they should be out of any relegation battles. and look for ward next year with the return of the Prodigal Son

So if Peter Burke signs for Celtic and I was asked if he played for Ballyheane I would say he came from Westport Utd.
    You can take the bog from the man, but you can't take the man from the bog.
    if you translate.He will always be Ballyheane!!

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    if you translate.He will always be Ballyheane!!
    maybe so ,but he wins a few things with westport, i couldn't see him wanting to go back to b/heane to play in a team where he is the main man and has to carry the whole team, i bet his back isn't sore playing with westport..

Quote Originally Posted by quay heart View Post
    fair play to him considering he didnt have to do his kickstarts like everyone else...
    if you play 5 years eircom league you don't need to do kickstart 1 or 2. he is hardly benefiting from some major conspiricy or anything.

also the experience gained from playing at the top domestic level would outweight that gained from doing courses which are aimed at training coaches of children from 7 to 12 yrs old!

Kick Start 1 + 2 would be off no benefit to him to go back and do.

I heard he is looking at starting his Uefa B badge (Level 2) in the next few months as well but has to work around fixtures and stuff like that with Westport.

[QUOTE=Thunderblaster;671180]Westport United has shouted a serious warning to Super League contenders on Saturday evening after wiping the floor with Glenhest Rovers on a 6-1 scoreline.

someone forgot to tell ballina !!!!!

As per any ex or current Eircom League footballer with 5+ years experience.

also tb is it true dan fallon and torphy gone to celtic ?
    100% accurate. They were free agents at the end of the season and they were entitled to join any club they deemed fit within the rules of the SFAI. These two players have every right to progress to a higher level.

Quote Originally Posted by terrier View Post
    someone forgot to tell ballina !!!!!
    The wind spoiled the game. Had a good goal disallowed. Gave away a silly penalty. Missed Makelele as he had a christening or a wedding in Galway. Some players were not let play with Ballina's high tempo pressing game with tough tackles. At the end of the day, the Elvery's Mayo Super League title was never won on the 27th May!!

Quote Originally Posted by gazza2 View Post
    Kick Start 1 + 2 would be off no benefit to him to go back and do.

I heard he is looking at starting his Uefa B badge (Level 2) in the next few months as well but has to work around fixtures and stuff like that with Westport.
    Now that is real ambition!!

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    Who is famous for this particular quote?? I can see this on the national curriculum for the Junior Cert next year!!

The wind spoiled the game. Had a good goal disallowed. Gave away a silly penalty. Missed Makelele as he had a christening or a wedding in Galway. Some players were not let play with Ballina's high tempo pressing game with tough tackles. At the end of the day, the Elvery's Mayo Super League title was never won on the 27th May!!
    Great game to watch, dont think the wind spoiled it at all, Westport and Ballina games are always entertaining and this one was no different. Dont think makelele would have made any difference, Quinn was superb for Ballina. The tackles were flying in from both sides but the game wasn't a dirty one. Ballina wanted it more, and were value for the win. As for the goal disallowed, it was tight but thats what linesmen are there for. The town had a very close call off the line in the first half also.

Cool

Who is famous for this particular quote?? I can see this on the national curriculum for the Junior Cert next year!!
    Seamus Mac an Tailleur, a musician and Gaelic scholar living in Southern California. He performs in a group called "An Fior Bhlas".
    Willy Clancy on Traditional Irish Music
    Tom Standeven wrote: "I well recall that day in July, 1962, in Miltown Malbay, Co. Clare when John Vesey asked Willie Clancy his opinion on Irish traditional music and how it should be played."

Willie Clancy: "The standards are set! As far as fiddle playing goes, you can ask anyone all over Ireland and he will refer you to Sligo. Can you pass the master, Michael Coleman? I haven't many of his records but I heard quite a few and it is the "Ceol Draoichta" as is said in West Clare—the "fairy music"—that's what I think of Michael Coleman's music.

The pipes, of course, is another instrument, but they are (the fiddle and pipes) first cousins. The flute is a grand instrument, too. If I were asked to choose my favorite instruments to do justice to Irish music, I pick the uilleann pipes, the fiddle, and the concert flute. I don't know what you boys think, but those are my three. I won't say anything hard against the other instruments, but those are the three to do justice to it.

"Micín" Coleman, as they called him, I think, was the "boss." Some fellows have tried to improve on it or change it but by God, they never will, nor I hope......

Now, we have the piper, Patrick Touhey, the American, Chicago, but we are proud to say that he was horn in Loughrea, Co. Galway, went to America at the age of four years. I had some records of "Patsy." He was a "citeog" (left-handed) like m'self, but, by God, I think no better man ever handled the chanter.

We have two men here today, John Vesey, ... and who is my other friend here?"

John: "Tom Standeven."

Willie: "By God, they uphold the prestige of the Old Country in every corner of the world. We are very proud to have them here in Miltown."

John: "Thank you, Mr. Clancy. It is a pleasure to meet you and to hear a man play the pipes like you play them. Not alone does he play the pipes but he plays a wonderful fiddle, and he is a traditional man all the way down the line, and hates to hear the Irish music spoiled as some of our friends are spoiling it today. 'Tin pan alley' boys."

Willie: "I heard a man say something one time, and I think it was very wise: he says that jazz was the folk music of the Negro before it became "tin pan alleyed". That is what is happening to our Irish music today - that's a very sad case. You have men taking up their fiddles and just because they got a classical knowledge of the fiddle, they try to apply that classical knowledge to folk music which is a sacrilege. They can play Italian* music too, but they try to put Italian touches into the traditional Irish fiddle, and it's a catastrophe, in my opinion!"

* (NOTE: i.e., "classical", the old term for which was "Italian"—FJT)

John: "Mr. Clancy, I thank you for your comment on that particular point."

Willie: (In answer to a question from Tom on the origins of Irish music) "Well, like most folk musics, it comes from the soil. What people sang when cutting the hay and cutting the turf, their sorrows and joys. It is not something you get from somebody who came back from the U.S.A., or came hack from England; it isn't a borrowed thing. It is something that Mother Nature gave us and unfortunately, some have gone astray from it."

John: "Is that the way it should be kept?"

Willie: "Good God, of course! Can anyone copy from Mother Nature?"

John: "Would you like to see it kept that way?"

Willie: "By God, there is no more staunch a supporter than I for that! ' I don't like to see it given the "new look." When that happens, God help us!"

John: "You say yourself that they are trying to give it a new look today,are they?"

Willie: "Well, they are, but it is not in ignorance or on purpose—because I don't blame the people so much from the cities. You know you can take the man from the bog but not the bog from the man or something like that.

enjoy
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

Page 29 of 91 FirstFirst ... 1927282930313979 ... LastLast