Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Lally QUITS

Dykes ?

Not a hope in hell.
    Mark Herrick could be a possible future manager, but not at the moment.

Full statements from both GUFC and Lal on www.galwayunitedfc.ie now.

Stephen is to be commended on the manner of his departure and the respect he has shown to the club and its supporters. He has left the club in a better position than when he came in.
    Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 27/05/2006 at 2:13 PM.

ya Stephen does deserve a lot of credit for what he has done, it is hard to tell why it didnt work after all the work he put into it, the team was given a fantastic pre season but obviously we need an experienced manager to get the best out of a good squad which isnt performing.

Patrick, why do you think Gavin Dykes is such a no no, im not saying it should be him but he does want to get back into Eircom League football, so he isnt the last possibility.Its hard to see anyone else who would want and is good enough for it.
    if you keep your head while all around you have lost theirs, then you obviously don't understand the seriousness of the situation!!

Utd Tilll I Die

Dykes track record is poor and he has a reputation as a Keelyesque mercenary. He has achieved little at Harps (except almost bankrupt the club) or Derry City.

The supporters of Sligo Rovers and Finn Harps would have very low opinions of him - perhaps sligoman or GalwayHarps could will us in with more information.

The opportuntity to give him relentless verbal abuse if he were to fail would almost be worth it, though !
    Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 27/05/2006 at 2:34 PM.

Realistically have we any chance of getting Pat Dolan?
    Is he an option to the club?
    Im glad PD that it won't be anyone local.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Dykes has less of a chance than I have, although we generally have few Dykes down the Dyke road

GUFC will be advertising for a replacement, as per the press release. You can be sure that we will have a wide selection of applications - no doubt some will be from the UK.

37 Posts

L E G E N D

Stepehen Lally has maroon blood flowing through his veins. He was one of a few players to be awarded a testimonial by the Club. In his playing career, he won FAI Cup, League Cup, Shield and First Division Champions medals, He was Club captain. He played in Europe for the Club on numerous occassions. He scored many goals for the Club. He is a legend. He did a very honourable thing by quitting. Above all, he is a family man in every sense and a true gentlreman.

Lal, thanks for the memories.

You are a Galway United L E G E N D

Nobody knows us, we don't care

Sean Connor also claims to be a Sligo Rovers legend.

In an interview with the Sligo Champion, he claimed "If you cut me, I bleed red".

123 Posts
    i would like to thanks stephen for all the time and effort he put into the club, and doing the honourable thing and not dragging it on like some other managers did

thanks stephen good luck in the future with whatever you do

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    Realistically have we any chance of getting Pat Dolan?
    Is he an option to the club?
    Im glad PD that it won't be anyone local.

in a word Conor H, No. Ashton is the man for ye lads but theres someone at the very top of ye're club who has his hands in too many pies.

Who's Ashton gael353?
    Would he be good?
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    Who's Ashton gael353?
    Would he be good?
    Yer former player Stuart Ashton, not sure if he'll be good but its a case of cutting cloth to measure here.

why do you think that Dolan isn't the option?

Dolan has always said that he would love to return to the club he
    supported as a boy, and played for.

I'm sure that both sides could come to an arrangement. However, there may be other candidates that GUFC would like to interview in relation to the managerial position.

Stuart Ashton would be one the better Irish-based possible candidates. His U-21 track record with Cork City is excellent and he
    is a former United player. Against that, he has never managed at senior level.
    Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 27/05/2006 at 5:06 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by JW.
    Dolan has no role whatever in Limerick.
    Seems to come to a lot of our games though, and has a residence in Limerick also...but you could be right.

"However, there may be other candidates that GUFC would like to interview in relation to the managerial position."
    Your language is becoming more management-speak (pardon the pun) with every passing day Pa!

Am going out for a few pints now, JW. Expect more GUISA style anti-club ramblings later. Corporate scum !

1,553 Posts
    I think Gavin Dykes would be the perfect choice for Galway United.

From a Harps (or anyone else in the first division) point of view!

Dolan's a great manager, but seems to have a habit to leave total chaos in his wake. Would cost serious bucks and has a reputation as a control freak and already has quite a few TV commitments. He may have a soft spot for GU, but he says that about everybody!
    Last edited by Mr A; 27/05/2006 at 7:16 PM.

115 Posts
    Fair play to Lally he did a decent job but ultimately couldn't get the best out of the players, whether that's his fault or the players fault remains to be seen but at least he had a dignified end to his short spell as manager.

As for a replacement whoever suggested Gavin Dykes must have a very short memory. He is possibly one of the worst managers in the history of the league and on top of that he is a complete and utter ****.
    Ask any Sligo or Harps fans about him...

Realistic possibilites would be:

Pat Dolan
    David Jeffreys
    Sven Goran Eriksson (after the WC)

or my favourite Showaddy Roddy Collins

Seriously though there don't seem to be many options out there - we really do need an experienced manager to take us out of the division.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

thanks lal,

a true legend and he will be remembered fondly by everyone at the club,but as i said in a post before the athlone game as a manager i just didnt think he was up to it at this level,when i wrote that post i never thought 2 days later he would be gone.
    i heard during the week a member of his family isnt well so was a distraction for him lately obviously,im not going into further detail,privacy etc.
    i texted someone this evening when i heard it and said jokingly that dolan would get it,now all ye guys are talking bout it,weird.
    id like to manage them,i won the e.l and got to the 3rd round of c.l qualfying with the club on championship manager for the p.c,thats my footie c.v anyway .
    next friday night should be very interesting now,a must win game without a manager,id like to think its not really must win though,still plenly of time left to go on a run,keep the faith.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast