Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Rico threatens to throw toys from pram

I read in the paper this morning which said that the Cork website could be in trouble also for uploading the interview???
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red
    I read in the paper this morning which said that the Cork website could be in trouble also for uploading the interview???
    I doubt it !!

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red
    Which paper?

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    I doubt it !!
    there was something about official websites and programmes being held responsible for silliness published on/in them a few months back.

this would fit

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    I'm a tosser who has to make up and edit others quotes in order to have anything to say. Even after this pathetic move my points are still childish and irrelevant. I should really just leave.

I agree with all of that. Certainly the best post I've seen from you.

That is exactly my point .... What happened to Devlin over those comments, complete double standards.

I'm keeping my mouth shut till i know the outcome, but you needed worry .... its not going unnoticed

I'm not saying a word ..... but just on that, Nutsy broken his ban how many times ?? and i didn't open my mouth.
    Your hypocrisy(sp?) isn't suprising. If you were honest enough you would admit that you would be kicking up a fuss if it was any other manager who made the comments. Rico made allegations which we can be nearly certain he has no proof of.
    If Doolin or Fenlon made the same allegations or gave a similar interview you would be on here baying for blood and posting up info@fai.ie urging people to email so they didnt get away with it.

Interesting quote from Rico that this Dublin-based conspiracy "worked in our favour" during his time with a previous club and is now working against him. Shelbourne and/or Shamrock should ask him to explain his allegations that one or both of them were/are implicit in this corruption.

This goes a good way beyond Pat Devlin expressing an opinion as to the relative merits of various leagues.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley
    Which paper?
    The Sun
    Who Cares?!

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    Do me a favour, SHUT UP! Boo hoo we are the real capital and Dublin hates us so much. If there is a Dublin conspiracy then you better believe it will hit us and Drogs in the same way it will CCFC. To be honest this is the arrogance manifesting itself as paranoia, just accept you aren't as good as last year.

i think this is a shrewd move once again from Rico, despite being very unprofessional it will mean that Stokes will be wary of decisions when refereeing Cork matches in the future.
    My quote I believe. not from Soko, forgot to put the smiley at the end, probably what upset you, poor soul.
    Glad you agree its a shrewd move by Rico.
    Last edited by razor; 29/05/2006 at 6:09 PM.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

176 Posts
    Any suggestion that Dublin officials deliberately set out in games to conspire against non-Dublin teams is hysterical shyte.

Last year, 2 of our players were sent off against Cork for no reason. Our next game was against Waterford, and there were rumours going round our camp that Delaney had instructed refs to favour our opponents in games, to aid Waterford's survival bid. However, everyone knew there was no truth in it.

Lads, this is not Serie A. We have ineft officials/admins in this league certainly, but I have never seen any evidence that refs here are corrupt.
    Last edited by mypost; 29/05/2006 at 6:39 PM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

That is exactly my point .... What happened to Devlin over those comments, complete double standards.
    You don't know what happened Richardson yet so how can it be double standards?

Oh and I think kicking down the door at Longford won't help his case

Unfortunately a lot of our fans are extremely fickle and reactionary (look at how some turned against Kearney, Morley, Dolan etc in the past and even Rico when he left the first time) so recent results and his lack of new signings will have had Rico worried about how some of our fans would react.

He is using the same tactic that Dolan always used after a poor performance. He's creating an us versus them attitude and making the fans think everyone is out to get us. This results in them giving out about refs, the FAI etc instead of Rico or the players. It's a good move by Rico imo.
    Champions!

Having listened to the recording, I think Rico let himself down bigtime. Lots of "fat arses", "ridden rock solid", "bo...fat cats", even one "fcuking" - but absolutely no long words. The mask has finally slipped.
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Unfortunately a lot of our fans are extremely fickle and reactionary (look at how some turned against Kearney, Morley, Dolan etc in the past and even Rico when he left the first time) so recent results and his lack of new signings will have had Rico worried about how some of our fans would react.

He is using the same tactic that Dolan always used after a poor performance. He's creating an us versus them attitude and making the fans think everyone is out to get us. This results in them giving out about refs, the FAI etc instead of Rico or the players. It's a good move by Rico imo.
    We hardly noticed this fickleness and the reactionary nature of Cork fans, thanks for tipping us off!

And you Cork lot fall for it every time, while everyone else can see through it and laughs at the 'great Cork conspiracy theory'
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by Colm

What exactly is the problem with CCFC fans turning against Kearney and Morely? What exactly is fickle about turning against players that leave for an opposition team? Do you know anything about football culture?
    Rico got very little grief when he left. People in them days had cop on and could see what he had to put up with, dealing with the chairman of the time, there was a huge ammount of support for him.
    Fickle and reactionary is what Rico and Lennox had to put up with after the Portadown Setanta cup match last season, a bunch of knuckle dragging, Pat Dolan infatuated, numbskulls with their Lennox\Rico out protest.
    Still it is worrying that Rico could start using Dolanisms as excuses, but hopefully that was only in the heat of the moment, and he won't start turning into Dolan. That would be a worrying scenario.
    They say what about the meek?
    I say they’ve got a bloody cheek

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    If they have the TV footage of course they should use it. Are you saying they shouldn't?
    I think this is a big issue actually.

IMO TV footage has to either be used in all circumstances or none,you just cant pick and choose.The situation with Dan Connor is the perfect case because it worked in Drogheda's favour,and against us.

Of course we then subsequently have a player banned for 3 matches using video evidence in the same competition.(this is just the best example available,i didnt pick it because it involves City)

This could easily allow clubs to just not bother recording games for fear of what could happen
    "They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson

Quote Originally Posted by dmandmythdledge
    The player that was "fouled" admitted that he dived.
    Andy Myler did exactly the same thing in an interview in 2003...doesn't matter a f@ck really. If teams are willing to accept instances of "gamesmanship" that benefit them, then they have to prepare to recieve a karmic slap on the @rse in the same suit.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    When your team is playing badly its hard not to feel like getting no luck.

Roy O'Donovan got 3 match ban in the Setanta Cup for attempted retaliation (2 match ban might have been fairly but not too many gripes from city fans as stupid retaliation). Dan Connor punches Denis Behan & gets red card & 1 match ban so he returns for the final & makes 2 crucial saves. Unlucky or unfair?

You could say no tv cameras in Unted Park but does this mean teams on tv treated differently?
    Roy O'Donovan did not have attempted retaliation - he did retaliate and headbutted him. Dan Connor says he never touched Behan, same as Rico said about Devine. You say punch, Rico says headbutt - at least one of you is telling porkies.

Danny Murphy punched Keith Fahey after the Setanta Cup final and then got another red in the Conh match - of course he is going to get a bigger ban.

Only conspiracy in the Setanta cup was Kelly deciding to ref the Cork Drogs game in Cork at short notice. Remember Behan blocking two Fahey frees with his hands - blantant free and penalty but not given.
    Didn't hear Rico complaining about a Dublin conspiracy that night.
    Funnily enough Doolo didn't comment about being ridden rock solid that night either - we just got on with things and won the cup.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Last edited by Sniffer; 30/05/2006 at 7:58 PM.

Well he did moan a lot, early last season, about the likes of UCD and Bray going to Turner's Cross and refusing to roll over and play dead and allow City beat them. I mean the cheek of College and the Seagulls to go there and come back with a point each from draws. Who do those teams think they are? Was the general gist of his post match interviews!

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast