Page 9 of 24 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI proposals for future of Eircom League...

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader
    I don't think it will matter if you have plans to build a ground I don't think that will be considered IMO if it was not in place by next year.
    It wasn't stated as far as I know, but I think I'd agree. Which is nonsense, as grounds take time to build, and some were delayed because the Governement withheld grant funding because of Delaney's appointment!

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Danny
    Anyone wanna take it on them selves to do this up for each team ?
    Done it already. Will try and dig up results.

Edit - forgot to include European results, but they won't make any appreciable difference. I added in marks for the league standings at present too and got the following -

Code:
    Derry City	1
    Bohemians	2
    Cork City	3
    Shelbourne	4
    Drogheda United	5
    Longford Town	6
    St Patrick's Athletic	6
    UCD	8
    Shamrock Rovers	9
    Dublin City	10
    Waterford United	11
    Bray Wanderers	12
    Sligo Rovers	13
    Finn Harps	14
    Galway United	15
    Dundalk	16
    Limerick FC	16
    Cobh Ramblers	18
    Kildare County	19
    Athlone Town	20
    Monaghan United	21
    Kilkenny City	22
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 26/05/2006 at 12:45 PM.

1,550 Posts
    Yes it will Rogue Trader, plans for development are specifically mentioned. I was just pointing out that going back 5 years hurts ye as you're higher than at any time in those 5 seasons, and were midtable in the first for some of them. However, ye should do well on a lot of other areas.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps
    Yes it will Rogue Trader, plans for development are specifically mentioned.
    Interesting. I stand corrected.

3,488 Posts
    Just don't take it as Gospel!!!

It's a guesstimate based on the vague information given so far.

Looks positive on the whole, but one major problem: why is Niall Quinn among those who will decide the fates of clubs, given that he is actively engaged in taking sports investment out of this country?

Sorry will nail my colours to the mast and say this won't work.

Firstly does anyone think the FAI will do this right given their track record. I don't and as soon as the buzz dies off, the league will be left rot again. Delaney and Co want a super league, full time pro. increased attendance etc yet have not given any indication on how they will achieve this.

Next the wage cap. I agree its needed to force clubs to run their affairs right. However I have no confidence the FAI will enforce it and we will still see clubs spending far more than they have got. What happens then?

Next on the 50% for football, clubs like Bohs/Rovers etc will get points for spending money they never had over the last 5 years while clubs who ran their affairs right won't. Rovers for example point out it was not them but the old board but will not benefit greatly for those actions.

As for future plan, well we hope to have a brand new 10,000 seater stadium and €25m in the bank. Makes us, in theory, the biggest club in the land. However given planning etc it might never happen. How do the FAI decide how realistic plans are or not?

Next I have no doubt this will end up in court, does that do the league any good? Can't see how it will.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader
    Considered maybe the wrong word that I used but what I was saying is that you ye won't get many marks for this. Sure everybody has grand plans for their ground
    This is where subjectivity and court cases are going to come into it.

30 Posts
    In the last 5 years we've had 1 promotion play-off and 2 re-elections
    so that dosen't bode well for us.

On the other hand we're doing Ok this season so far, have a new stadium
    coming along nicely and our youth teams etc are decent so theres emerging talent.

30 Posts
    PDF's now available on www.fai.ie

I haven't read the details yet but it does not appear to be radical enough. The league is floundering & needs radical shakeup. All we can ask is the rules are the same for all clubs. If clubs cannot meet the criteria then sorry but tough.

Wages restrictions are very important. If the league is to be taken anyway seriously then have to ensure no boom & bust clubs.

Will be very interested to read any media & maketing schemes planned centrally by the FAI.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by northside hoop
    Fair enough but what makes you think Rovers will fail to get a Licence?
    Yez fell down badly on the fact that youz failed UEFA Licencing last year (i.e. only club to have licence revoked) and the fact that yez don't have a ground with 3000 safe capacity (don't know if groundshares are allowed).

I don't necessarily agree with my own results, I should point out.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Yez fell down badly on the fact that youz failed UEFA Licencing last year (i.e. only club to have licence revoked) and the fact that yez don't have a ground with 3000 safe capacity (don't know if groundshares are allowed).
    We failed last year, this year we passed with flying colours.

As for having no ground, ironically it looks like UCD & Bohs maybe the only 2 Dublin clubs with grounds of their own very soon. Rumours (and no small amount of facts) suggest that Olly's little mob have already been given their marching orders by Ossie Kilkenny and his Mulden mates and that Pats are also on the way out of Richmond - if not senior football altogether.

Having said that the FAI will shaft who they want and look after who they want - and I say that as a Rovers fan who realises that we'll be looked after when others won't. Doesn't make it right though.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

3,488 Posts
    UEFA Licencing over the past three years is looked at, I think. So yez'd score worst there as only youz have had a licence revoked.

Your last paragraph is spot on, I think.

[QUOTE=Jerry The Saint]And I cannot understand how anybody with the league at heart thinks it's acceptable that the Premier Division will consist of teams arbitrarily chosen by a panel of individuals appointed by John Delaney:

What's the alternative? We stand still and let the league flounder along? IF this is implemented to the letter it is good for the league. I know stu's results are not the finished article but it doesnt look like there will be much difference between who's in what division now and 2007.

I'm not saying this cos some think we'll be "looked after" either. Our league record over the last 5 years is pretty average: 2nd, 3rd, 7th, 9th and 11th.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    10% location
    Will all Dublin teams get the same amount of points for this?

Pats are also on the way out of Richmond - if not senior football altogether.
    Jaysus WeAreHomeless, you really do like to be sensationalist dont ya....

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc
    But I find myself being envious of the way that the IRFU radically changed rugby on this island 10 years (or so) ago. Look at Munster and Leinster now. They are huge.
    But they are provinces. If you add up all the fans from Shels, Bohs, Pats, Rovers, UCD and Dublin City it would be more than Leinsters. You can't compare a province to a club.

[QUOTE=NY Hoop
    I'm not saying this cos some think we'll be "looked after" either. Our league record over the last 5 years is pretty average: 2nd, 3rd, 7th, 9th and 11th.

KOH[/QUOTE]

But is that fair given you spent money on wages you never had. Otherwise your record would be a lot worse maybe in a lower division. So now you are being accessed in an unfair manner given that you only paid 4% of the debts incurred. Not trying to start a Rovers/Bohs thing just trying to highlight how unfair this is.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    What's the alternative? We stand still and let the league flounder along? IF this is implemented to the letter it is good for the league. I know stu's results are not the finished article but it doesnt look like there will be much difference between who's in what division now and 2007.
    My figures were for on-field only. Add in off-field and you can replace UCD, Rovers and Dublin City with Bray, Waterford and Sligo.

But WeAreRovers highlighted the problem - it's so subjective, they can (and likely will) cherry-pick who they want.

The alternative is proper implementation of UEFA Licencing.

Chippie's point is interesting too.

Page 9 of 24 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast