Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: My view of Eircom League Supporters

Brendan, you should really get your facts right you know!

Were you present in Cobh when the window was broken? na, thought not.
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

hmmmm..seems very very one sided in this attack on the EL-

only last week a junior league final had a mass brawl between the teams,damage to the dressing rooms and a player and manager assaulted,
    I've personally witnessed adults beating 7 shades of sh!te out of each other on the touchlines due to perceived insults to someones son missing a chance,I've seen referres turning up to ref a game ,without protection, having to get a neutral spectator to step in to save him from a beating and call the guards due to a perceived wrong decision ,seen "managers" on the touchline using language that has no business at a underage game with young kids present ,and have witnessed the aftermath of young people dying due to incompetency regarding goalposts - yet you claim to witness this utopian football lala land where everyone loves each other and daisy's grow on the sidelines ....Time to stop reading Roy of the Rovers methinks
    The lunatic is on the grass
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

Two points:

1. Don't generalise from the particular - a few isolated incidents at Finn Park and the whole League is awash with mindless thuggery? If anything, Finn Park is one of the few grounds in the League where away fans DON'T complain about constant incidents. Methinks the gentleman doth protest too much.

2. There is almost nothing any club can do in advance to stop lone nutters doing something daft. All the can do is prevent it recurring by barring the lone nutters in question. As you pointed out yourself, Harps have already done that. So what's your beef?
    Revenge for 2002

He's dead right, ye are all a crowd of denim wearing leftie B*****ds! I'll never go to another match!David Ike lives!

Quote Originally Posted by Hecko
    The serious point in all this is that eL is cometing with other sports and other levels of football for fans - that's reality. In that context, it is a real worry that certain things happen at eL games taht don't happen elsewhere. whatever you think about the game itself, the atmosphere at rugby and GAA is seen by many as being better because you can enjoy the game and the few pints before/after with supporters from all sides without any danger of hassle (there may be exceptions but they're pretty rare).

I'm a regularly CCFC fan for 15 years and while before the incidents were rare but soemtimes serious, there is now a constant low level amount of idiots at a lot of el clubs (us included) who make it hard to enjoy a game and a bit of crack. Don't get me wrong, a lot of clubs are making a big effort (such as Cork's family enclosure to get in parents with young kids) and I'll never stop giong myself, but when "fans" are spitting at refs, linesmen and opposing players or throwng bricks/bottles- and this has happened at most grounds I've been at some stage in the past few years- then they're is something wrong.

A lot of fans downplay it, but it is one of the biggest factors holding the league back IMO. And it can be fixed as well. There are plenty of ties where there is a wonderful atmosphere - I would say between Derry and most clubs is generally recognised as the most good natured, but I've enjoyed great hospitality from Bohs and Pats over the years too.

Sorry for the rant
    disagree strongly.
    Ireland probably has the least amount of hassle at games of any league in Europe.(the low crowds is one reason,but the general nature of the fans that attend games is another) theres trouble regularly everywhere in Europe, but by and large it doesnt stop people going to games

Quote Originally Posted by Harpsbear
    Did you not break a window in a pub in Cobh after a league trip a few seasons back. I can safely assume you got a life time ban from that pub. Very acceptable and responsible behaviour. I dont of course have a grudge against you but I was around at that time. Not everything occured after I stopped going.
    Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps
    That is 100% untrue.

Some craic- one minute you're giving out about what people say about you, the next you make a totally untrue allegation against me.
    Credit to ya your fairly certain of that. Might I offer my apologies.
    Moderation :

Galways Harps hasn't reacted to this but i have to step in here.

Harpsbear, that is totally out of order. I am actually stunned you came out with that as it has nothing to do with the debate. Its my opinion at first glance that you have accused Galway Harps of this to try and sway the opinion in the thread. That is below the belt and totally out of order. Please do not do anything like that again.

I would think that the thread has come to an abrupt end now as a result, but it has run its course anyway i would have thought but just in case, is there anything else to be added ?

1,550 Posts

Cool

I'd just like to add that of course I'm fooking certain! I did nothing of the kind- and as far as I remember it may well have turned out to have been a local or something (am not too sure on this, it was a while ago and I wasn't there when it happened). In any case I wasn't involved in that incident, nor have I ever been involved in anything like it.

Sometimes you just have to laugh really

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Moderation :

Galways Harps hasn't reacted to this but i have to step in here.

Harpsbear, that is totally out of order. I am actually stunned you came out with that as it has nothing to do with the debate. Its my opinion at first glance that you have accused Galway Harps of this to try and sway the opinion in the thread. That is below the belt and totally out of order. Please do not do anything like that again.

I would think that the thread has come to an abrupt end now as a result, but it has run its course anyway i would have thought but just in case, is there anything else to be added ?
    As i posted in response to Galway Harps I asked the question and I got my answer promptly and again I apologise. What has been my intention is to throw into the public domain the subject of their been an undercurrent of to put it mildly generally considered anti-social behaviour associated with the league. I accept as somebody has pointed out that such behaviour can be found in any league.Only a couple of seasons ago I remember a junior club in Donegal landing itself in hot water after locking a referee into a dressing room. I do however find less of the unsavoury stuff associated with junior football, possibly alot to do with profile. I did mention only a fraction of incidents, the kind of incidents that the average football supporter does not attend games to see. If we are to take the example at Finn Harps for example such poor publicity as has been prevalent in local press does nothing to endear anybody to the game. I'm not sure what happened to the drumstick thrower.According to their own forum it wasn't his first offence and was he not the one time commercial manager of the club? As I say this does nothing to endear people to the game and Its reflected in the attendances. I'm sure this club for example is particularly aware of this.

Brendan

If we are to take the example at Finn Harps for example such poor publicity as has been prevalent in local press does nothing to endear anybody to the game
    And what of the good publicity...for example, did you hear John Breslin's show on Highland yesterday by any chance?

There's a lot more positives than negatives I think you'll find. Then again, you wouldn't want to know about any of that now would you?!

Na, again didn't think so! You focus on the negatives solely without at all mentioning positives.

Sure there's problems - we didn't need you to tell us that - but the incidents you have mentioned have been dealt with.

You are intended to solely focus on the negativity - an extremely small amount might I add - and blow it up as if, as Rodney put it, Finn Park is like an Irish version of the Ali Sami Yen! f
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

46 Posts
    There's a very good reason I wouldn't return to watch Finn Harps. Now I realise you'll turn around and tell me that since I no longer go to Finn Park my opinion is worthless and to go away, all the regular shut up stuff. For me and my point is the negatives particularly in relation to Harps far outweigh the positives. That is why I would never return. For example consider the impact on as equally as small a community as Ballybofey when the schoolboys of their league were turned away by their own league secretary who happens to be commercial manager/treasurer and paid official of Finn Harps. That hasn't just impacted on me. It wasn't that they couldn't have been accomodated at Finn Park, it was purely an attitude and an individual ego. Chris that didnt just impact on me, it impacted on a small junior club and community. Can any Eircom League Club afford to display such an attitude. In my opinion. No.

Brendan

It wasn't that they couldn't have been accomodated at Finn Park, it was purely an attitude and an individual ego. Chris that didnt just impact on me, it impacted on a small junior club and community. Can any Eircom League Club afford to display such an attitude. In my opinion. No.
    You see there you go again with your accusations. The club in question have been back since you disappeared and indeed put on a grand wee half time spectacle for us.

We've had several other kids' teams play at half-time and before matches since that and the hope is to make it a regular occurence.

Also, the Donegal Special Olympics team have been sponsored by our supporters club who have provided jackets for them and they also are accomodated at the Park on a regular basis.

An attitude and individual ego....a bit like the pot calling the kettle black again.
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by harpskid
    You see there you go again with your accusations. The club in question have been back since you disappeared and indeed put on a grand wee half time spectacle for us.
    Highly unlikely Chris these were the same kids and ultimately the same families. By the way who was this 'club' you say were back since.

Quote Originally Posted by harpskid
    An attitude and individual ego....a bit like the pot calling the kettle black again.
    Chris while I might have attitude and thats blatantly obvious why should I have an ego. You don't like what I have to say nor does anybody associated with the club. You dont know me so dont try to decide what my ego is. I do this because I am entitled to offer my opinion on what I consider to be wrong and if somebody doesn't like what they hear then I'm sorry. I dont have an ego regardless of what you may wish to quote as you might consider evidence. I'm entitled to offer my opinion on the Eircom League by example or as a whole and how I view either the rights or wrongs of the league.

B

Brendan

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    FFS
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

Highly unlikely Chris these were the same kids and ultimately the same families. By the way who was this 'club' you say were back since.
    The same club whom you referred to in the above post. I know that it was the same one and also there were kids of varying ages there so unless they got an entiely new team it was the same kids.

I'm entitled to offer my opinion on the Eircom League by example or as a whole and how I view either the rights or wrongs of the league.
    Ah yes rights and wrongs....remember our pre-season friendly against Bohemians a couple of years ago and how you upset the Harps dressing room
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

Why are we even giving this fella the time of day? his 'opinions' as he calls them (most know its just spite) have been completely blown away. Not one person actually believes any word he has said. He made an amazing accusation against Galway_Harp who ive known for years and he wouldnt break a match stick in anger never mind a window.

I think the mods should make it very clear to Brendan that making accusations of that kind are unlawful and could get this whole forum into trouble if he continues to make them up.
    Finn Harps Belfast Supporters

Harps Bear - you clearly have an issue with Harps, rightly or wrongly.

Can you take this off to the Harps section of foot.ie or somewhere else. Without beign rude, you've had your say so please give it a fcukin rest.

Mods - can this be locked now ? I don't think this site should be used to allow aggrieved individuals to air their very specific issues ad nauseum.

Ah come on lads, it's highly entertaining stuff. Leave him be. If you read his posts in a Daniel O'Donnell (TodayFM) accent it's even funnier!
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson
    Ah come on lads, it's highly entertaining stuff. Leave him be. If you read his posts in a Daniel O'Donnell (TodayFM) accent it's even funnier!

Even funnier if you do it in a Mayo accent as believe it or not that is where he is from.

Brendan, your problem always comes back to one director. We get the fooking message.

We have Rovers, Pats, Bohs and other fans from all over the eircom League telling you politely that you are talking through your hole so gone run on like a good boy.

Moderation :

Harpsbear, you'll have to thread carefully from here on in. I'm about this now but your approach to this topic is 'menacing' to say the least. You are rattling off incidents here and you have nothing to back it up. I'm not saying they didn't happen, i am saying you seem to be trying to use them as ammunition against the club. It seems to me that there is some sort of a history between you and the club and i dont think here is the best place to resolve that.

If you were trying to resolve/debate the issue of anti-social behaviour, then that is fair enough but it has ended up like that and that is in large part you fault. I have deleted some posts that didn't contribute to the debate in the hope that it would steer in the right direction (to give you your say) but your own comments have prevented this happening.

It has definitely run its course at this stage so i am closing the thread now. If you have an issue with this, please post in the Support forum.

Edit :

Harpsbear, just to give some advice if i could. If you have a problem with Finn Harps football club, would it not be best to take it up with them. To go through the proper channels within the club to resolve your problem. Have you even tried that? Being honest, if the problem you have with the club is as bad as you make it out to be, what do you hope to achieve on a forum except exacerbate the problem. You should really give that some thought.
    Last edited by A face; 18/05/2006 at 1:04 PM.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123