Barry Murphy is in the U21's as well. About time too.
Gamble called into Senior International squad
Republic of Ireland senior international manger, Stephen Staunton has called up Cork City’s Joe Gamble into his squad for the training camp in Portugal and the friendly international against Chile on May 24th. Gamble will join up with the squad on Sunday May 21st following Cork City’s eircom League game against Derry City next Saturday night in the Brandywell. Staunton made this addition following the unavailability of Liam Miller and Jonathan Douglas who will feature in the Championship play off final while Stephen Elliott has been withdrawn through injury.
-----
Congrats to Joe!!
For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie
Barry Murphy is in the U21's as well. About time too.
Stan must watch eL weekly, Pat Scully flagged Gamble for the squad last Monday.
Absolutely great news!!!
Easilly the best player in the league and its well deserved!
Fantastic stuff! Congrats to the man himself and his club! Lets hope its the first of many!![]()
God
Excellent player, fair play to him. Absolutely great to see
Also saw Stan interviewed on Tv3-Ireland AM I think its called and he had great things to say about the league!
Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?
Originally Posted by Maz
Exellent news and its not a token gesture well deserved,well done Joe.
Great news and well deserved,been Citys best player over the last 2 seasons,
wont leave Ireland down if he gets a game
Well done Joe!![]()
"They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson
Why so? Quigley who is just as good as him and established longer was in the squad.Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
Great to see that Stan isn't going to be ignoring the Eircom League!
Now why couldn't Eoin Mullen be in his prime at the moment? Would have been great to see him pull on an Irish shirt!![]()
Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!
"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991
2005 - a great year for Irish football
Quigley isnt just as good as him, Quigley is better IMOOriginally Posted by Poor Student
Good to see. If he can keep a warm heart and cool head it will the first of many. I criticised 'Stan' and his simpleton stlye in the past but this is a side of him I like. The sort of: Ah sure it all work out in the end, may as well pick him.
A man is never really poor,
if he can still laugh.
quigley, played 9 goals against 10Originally Posted by Dyl10
murphy played 10, goals against 2
for students youse are dense.....![]()
The fact he got himself sent off the day, and is now suspended for the return leg, might have something to do with Baz's deserved call-up.Originally Posted by Poor Student
Congrats ! excellent player.
It's amazing thou, the difference between this thread and the thread about Jason Byrne making the squad......
No doubt, but you make it sound like there wasn't equally as good, if not better options ahead of him.Originally Posted by mypost
This is brilliant. I would have expected Kerr with his links to eL to have had more lads in. Great to see Stan picking the Lads. Lets hope they can get in and more importantly make some impact
Congrats to Both
ill spell it out, baz is 100% hoop on and off the pitch, quigley is some mucksaveage who happens to play for our feeder side....Originally Posted by Poor Student
baz will bring much needed glamour, and 300 rovers fans, to proceedings.
Willie Doyle scored 15 goals in his first half a season for us, but he's still ****e. Ah, the First Division...Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
As soon as a player turns 24, they go from being a sorely neglected superstar in waiting to a has-been wasting space in the national team squad.