Thread: Joe Gamble

Caught fair and square!

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc
    Is that an indictment?
    If you saw the state of me you'd know that's exactly what it is.

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc
    Didn't you know the FA coaching system is not well regarded outside of England?
    I can't say I'm surprised to be honest. Thankfully (for the sake of both the poor players and for the system's reputation) I've not used my qualification for some years now...

PP
    Last edited by Plastic Paddy; 14/05/2006 at 8:28 AM.
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101
    Interesting. Are you saying that Stan is incompetent in picking Gamble?....
    I am surprised that no one has yet suggested that Pat Devlin might be to blame or due some credit for Gamble's call-up, after all he is Staunton's EL adviser!

People should also put this issue into perspective. Gamble has been called into a big training squad to replace 2 players who are unavailable because of the Championship play-offs and one injured player. Also, he will only be joining the squad in Portugal halfway through their training camp. Finally, I would think that unless there are several injuries or withdrawals there is no chance of him having any involvement into the Chile game.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    What sort of signal does this send out to the likes of Lee Carsley, Rory Delap, Mark Kennedy, Glenn Whelan, Gareth and James O'Connor, etc. Even Willie Boland is of a higher standard to Gamble.
    Carsley has started 3 games this season because of injury. I haven't seen Delap recently but he wasn't rated at all by Southampton fans, certainly not as a central midfielder. Maybe things have changed with Sunderland. Hasn't Kennedy being playing at left back? Glenn Whelan has had a very bad season and certainly doesn't deserve a callup. Garreth O'Connor is a real attacking midfielder and Gamble's place shouldn't affect him. James O'Connor is the only player I believe is a worthy candidate for a callup for the training camp.

Another picture

I don't think anyone is suggesting that Gamble is going to get into a 22 man squad when all players are fit but he deserves his chance in extended squad.

None of the players mentioned above him at playing at a significantly higher level. Aside from Carsley who retired when couldn't get in the squad all are playing in lower CHampionship teams or below.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    Glenn Whelan has had a very bad season and certainly doesn't deserve a callup. Garreth O'Connor is a real attacking midfielder and Gamble's place shouldn't affect him. James O'Connor is the only player I believe is a worthy candidate for a callup for the training camp.
    In fairness to Glenn he has played through the pain barrier for a lot of the past season and withdrew from the Under 21 squad becasue of that injury. Wouldn't be at all surprised if he went under the knife in the coming days!
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Fair pay to the lad.

When was the last time that two eL players were in the same squad, apart from Weso and Crowe against Greece?
    Who Cares?!

Lol :d

PP, what the f**k are ye on about?

I'm hardly one to stcik up for the l@ngers but fair play to joey gamble - best midfielder in the league by far - really hope he does well for himself as I reckon competition is very tough for places in the centre of midfield (though not a great standard if that makes sense!!)

Btw I wouldn't be surprised to see Jason Gavin get a call up soon. We don't have much in centre defence and I reckon Gavin is as good as most of them. Obviously Steve Coppell thinks so too as Reading are sniffing around him - and look at what happened to the last 2 EL players he signed!

Thankfully we can hold on to our better players these days though and are not a selling club
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

christ on a bike thie thread is depressing. classic platic hammer v real fans. joe gambles is in the top 10 midfielders we have and as such makes the 29 when injuries and engerlish playoffs are taken into account.

need i remind people that theiry henry was a total flop in italy? and gamble was released as part of cost cutting when barnet went down? big deal, a move went wrong for him, so he came home to build it back up again and has gotten his reward. would he earn more in the chamionship 2 or whatever its been renamed this week?

best part about this is that langers being a selling club means they are less likely to keep him as a result of this exposure

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie

best part about this is that langers being a selling club means they are less likely to keep him as a result of this exposure
    Probably - how long does he have left on his contract I wonder?

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    and does dolans brother know the buy out clause to the euro?

lets all laugh at cáwk

I'm a Cork City supporter, Gamble is good in eL terms but not international class. I have no objections to him being called into a large group for a training camp. I'm not sure what Stan's rationale is for calling him up but I have to say it looks odd when James O'Connor who has been a very consistent player for Stoke and Burnley is not called up ( unless he is injured but I don't believe he is. )

And the ultimate self-promoter Roddy 'Wankah' Collins wants to **** on everybody's parade....

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/boysing...p?newsid=22515

Roddy wary of Byrne inclusion

May 14, 2006

Former Bohemians and Dublin City boss Roddy Collins has labelled Jason Byrne’s call-up to the Republic of Ireland senior squad as a “political” decision by Irish manager Steve Staunton.

Byrne was the sole eircom League player included in a 29-man senior squad for a training camp in Portugal followed by the friendly against Chile at Lansdowne Road on May 24th.

But Collins is wary of Staunton’s motives for including the prolific Shelbourne striker, claiming that there are better players in the lower divisions of the English league.

He told Newstalk 106: “It’s a political move. Brian Kerr went down that road and Steve Staunton is going the same route.

“Fair play to Jason, I hope he enjoys his holiday. But you have Richie Foran, [Lee] Trundle, a stack of players in the lower leagues who would be superior to Jason. It’s a cosmetic, political decision.”

The way people were talking I thought Gamble failed in the conference. From my little bit of googling it seemed his season in the conference was a success. He started 44 games in the season.

http://www.griffinpark.org/forums/sh...ad.php?t=25801
    "This lad is on-loan to Barnet from Reading, and is their consistent performer this season."

Reading's director of football:
    "Joe had a season-long loan at Barnet and did very well for them," Hammond told the club's official website.

"But he's now at the stage where he needs to be playing regularly in the centre of midfield, and given the quality of players in that position already at the club, it's unlikely he'd do that here next season."

Steve Finnan was playing English division 3 football at 22 and spent the following season in division 2, look at him now. With the role Gamble has it's hard to judge whether he'll be able for a step up. imo Graham Kavanagh was good enough to be playing premiership football all his career but nobody bought him.

Just signed a new 2 year contract recently so wont be going anywhere cheap anyway

Quote Originally Posted by micls
    Just signed a new 2 year contract recently so wont be going anywhere cheap anyway
    Good to hear, its great having him in the league!

PP, what the f**k are ye on about?
    Think you need to read the thread in full. PP was after a hard day and fancied a bit of a wind-up. Deep down, he'd probably like to see Joe being a success as much of the rest of us would.

It's funny seeing a Rover coming on here calling City a selling club. At least we're not a club who gets relegated and gives all our players away.

I don't think Joe Gamble is good enough for international football. Wes Houlihan is a better footballer, is he injured or was he just over looked? (Sorry, don't follow the SPL closely.....)

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Wes Houlihan is a better footballer, is he injured or was he just over looked? (Sorry, don't follow the SPL closely.....)
    You may not be aware of this but Wes was part of the team which was relegated with the lowest ever points in the league. Hardly suitable preparation for a player if he was hoping to join the Ireland squad. Being in a league below us, you're unlikely to have seen as much of Joe as we have.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar

It's funny seeing a Rover coming on here calling City a selling club. At least we're not a club who gets relegated and gives all our players away.
    as opposed to just folding and starting again like cork celtic/hibs/alberts/united etc etc etc? i remember outnumbering you lot 10-1 in bishopstown, so hold off being a smartarse.

we employed roderick, we live with the consequences.

and do i need point out that we have provided more players to the senior side than any other club, here or overseas. how many have you provided? 0?

Aahh, poor little Rovers feeling left out so they have to hijack this thread and dig out the history book. We've heard it all before, move on. You really should stop living in the past and support Shamrock Rovers FC Est. 2005

Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast