Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Eircom League Weekly

Eircom League Weekly

Was too tired (and headachy) to stay awake for it last nite but would love to know if Scully said anything bout our great victory on Sunday nite. He was writing as many notes as me at the game so would be interesting to hear what he said.

Anyone able to brief me?

1,550 Posts
    I don't think they actually said anything about the first division bar showing goals from Terryland and Newbridge and reading out the results.

Glad I didnt stay awake then! Wish it was on earlier!

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps
    I don't think they actually said anything about the first division bar showing goals from Terryland and Newbridge and reading out the results.
    Which is more than they showed of Sligo/Pats or Longford/CHF. What's the deal here - they showed plenty of Rovers games last year when they were in the first I'm all for giving a bit of coverage to the lower leagues but it shouldn't be at the expense of premier coverage - that's what programs like OB Sport, that are on once a month, are for.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Question Late Late

Does antone have any idea why the EL show is on so late??Is it to protect children or something??

It just seems like TV3 have to put it on but dont want anyone to see it???

1,550 Posts
    The first division clubs involved organise their own coverage and send it to TV3 as far as I know. It's not a case of the first being covered 'at the expense' of the premier.

I remember floating an idea on here before on all clubs paying into a pool weekly to ensure that there's a camera at every league match. Of course it shouldn't be necessary but if noone else will do it the clubs should get together and promote the league themselves.

Magicme, I have got my new dvd recorder set to record it every week now. If we ever get a mention I'll have a dvd couriered straight to you.

They should have spent more time looking at the Finn Harps "goal"

1,550 Posts
    Damn right they should- one of the greatest goals in the history of football !

Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc
    Magicme, I have got my new dvd recorder set to record it every week now. If we ever get a mention I'll have a dvd couriered straight to you.

Thanks! With Pat Scully having been to 2 of our games out of 4 this season I thought he mite have said something!

Why so?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Do they actually show any football? I started watching during the ads thinking they would leave U.C.D. till the end. How can you have a decent highlights programme by shoving all the action into the first half- and that doesn't even have all the games.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Why so?
    Because it was a controversial decision and it was hard to see without a replay whether anyone touched the ball before it went over the line. Talking points like that make the show more interesting, instead of the usual "yeah, Drogheda will be there or thereabouts at the end of the season" and replaying a goal with Osam or Scully describing exactly what you can see on the screen anyway.

I think it is time for eircom League Weekly to improve. The music, graphics, everything give it the feel of a transition year project.

1,550 Posts
    I think it is time for eircom League Weekly to improve. The music, graphics, everything give it the feel of a transition year project.
    Spot on. They've been at it long enough to start making a better fist of it.

Because it was a controversial decision and it was hard to see without a replay whether anyone touched the ball before it went over the line. Talking points like that make the show more interesting...
    How is talking about some insignificant event in a D1 game interesting?
    Talking about it certainly wont change the result!

75 Posts

Thats some comment

peadar.The decision was nothing short of disgraceful watched it again last night in slow mo after the programme the ball never touched anyone direct from a throw no goal .It could probably end up on what happened next on BBC.

Lads,

Last night's show was appalling - what sort of camerawork would you call that at United Park?? Also, i know Scully hates Bray but why do they consistently ignore us? On the drog v bray game they spent the whole time talking about how great drogheda were doing ( and fair play - they are! ) but not even a word on us. It's the same every week. Talk about Shels, Cork and Drogheda and f**k the rest!!

Last night

I actually think Scully is starting to grow into the job. I thought the two of them spoke particularly well regarding the transfer of players last night.

Not as good as Setanta coverage thought. I think Healy is excellent and the general coverage is of a decent standard apart from Brian Hamelton who should learn to shut up every now and again.

1,550 Posts
    Doesn't the fact that you had to watch it in slow-mo show that it was a tight call? I saw it twice and it was very hard to say whether there was or wasn't a slight touch somewhere. The ref got one look at it and had to make a snap call. Maybe he got it wrong (I think he did), but there's no way on earth it was as clear-cut as it's being made out to be.

And Peadar- talking about any game doesn't change the result, and virtually nothing said on eL weekly is interesting. And if a goal that comes from a throw-in isn't intersting, what the hell is?

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps
    And Peadar- talking about any game doesn't change the result, and virtually nothing said on eL weekly is interesting. And if a goal that comes from a throw-in isn't intersting, what the hell is?
    I don't think anyone would sit down and say, "Harps are a poor side but they have the ability to score from a throw in to they'll be there or there abouts at the end of the season!" Why does it need to be analysed? gufct had to record it and slow it down in order to convince himself that no one touched it. What chance did the ref. have at the time.

The fact remains, it was a goal because the ref. awarded it.
    Get over it!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Why does it need to be analysed? gufct had to record it and slow it down in order to convince himself that no one touched it.
    Exactly! Why didn't eircom League Weekly play a slow-mo replay during the programme? That's what I wanted to see, then have Scully say yes it was goal, and Oso say no it wasn't, or whatever, while I make up my own mind. It's not about criticising the ref, it's simply that it was a talking point and TV3 have the capability to do a slow-mo replay, that's the advantage of a tv highlights show.
    (Ill have to slow it down on the recording on my new dvd recorder hard-drive myself now)

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast