Could not agree more Stuttgart. In internation football only

France
    England
    Uruguay
    Italy
    Argentina
    Brazil
    Germany

have won the world cup. IF we say that Uruguay are not likely to win the thing any time soon why should anybody else even support their team going on Gonzo's logic. Some people here care about the Irish football team so thats why they support them and go to games or post up here. If you dont care that why are you even on a forum that talks about the Irish football team.
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 11/05/2006 at 9:43 AM.
    In Trap we trust

From the Irish Times

When Terry Dixon packs his bag for the Republic of Ireland's training camp in Portugal next week, his mother, Marion, will make sure he has remembered all the essentials: boots, shin-pads and, most important of all, his Maths and English textbooks. Her son may just have completed one of the most remarkable ascents to international football in Ireland's history, but she will not let that get in the way of his studies.

Dixon will sit his GCSEs later this month, but for the time being he is relishing a different sort of examination - one involving Robbie Keane, Damien Duff and Shay Given. The 16-year-old Tottenham forward was the most surprising name on Steve Staunton's 29-man list for the four-day camp announced on Monday, but perhaps this is a portent of things to come.

Players used to graduate from their clubs to their countries, but now they appear to do the opposite: Dixon's call-up came on the same day that Theo Walcott, older by just a year, was elevated to the England squad despite having never played for Arsenal. Dixon, for his part, has yet to feature for Spurs' reserves, let alone their first team, and will not even join the academy until July. Needless to say, his head is still spinning.

"I was at school when my mate sent me a text saying it had been announced on Sky Sports News," he said. "I was gobsmacked and my phone just started going crazy. But now I'm more excited: to be honest, I'm more nervous about my GCSEs than about training with such good players. It'll be great to be with the Irish squad and I'd love to get a chance to play."

Dixon has already impressed for Ireland's under-17s, but his sights are fixed on more prestigious targets. The senior side play a friendly with Chile on May 29th and, though Staunton claimed on Monday Dixon's inclusion was merely designed to "show him what we're all about", he is understood to want to accelerate his protege into first-team duties in order to deflect interest from England. Dixon is qualified to play for both countries; Marion hails from Bailieborough, Co Cavan, and Terry's father, Darren, is a Londoner.

"Ireland gave Terry his first international chance when they called him up for an under-16 game against Sweden," said Darren. "England never called so he just carried on. I must admit, I was surprised by that because he's been known by people in the game since he was under 14.

"I watched England pick boys nowhere near as good as Terry. It was a mystery to me, but it never bothered him - he just loved playing for Ireland. He says he feels Irish so I suppose I'll have to keep him away from the Guinness in a couple of years."

Dixon should find avoiding that pitfall easy enough, having grown up in Wood Green, a poverty-stricken suburb of north-east London where crime and unemployment are rife. Football has offered an escape route but many of his friends have not been so lucky.

"It is a tough area to grow up in and there's a lot of crime," he said. "I know a lot of friends who have been in trouble with the law but, luckily, I never had the time for any of that as I was always too busy with my training and stuff. Had I not become so involved with football then it might have been a different story."

He has been fortunate, too, to play for a club who realise the importance of giving youth its chance. Martin Jol, the Tottenham manager, has made a point of flooding his squad with young, English-speaking talent and the results have been spectacular. Spurs missed out on qualification for the Champions League last Sunday because of a combination of dodgy tummies and dodgier defending at West Ham, but consolation, of sorts, came the following day when four players - Paul Robinson, Michael Carrick, Aaron Lennon and Jermaine Jenas - were named in England's squad for Germany. The Seven Sisters Road has become a fast track to international recognition.

Dixon will take the first steps on his own journey next week, although he was at least given a taste of what to expect by being called to train with Spurs' first team last week.

"It was hard, but I really enjoyed it," he admitted. "I've been a Spurs supporter all my life. When I was growing up my hero was David Ginola because of the way he used to skip past people. Now I like Wayne Rooney for his power and his heart."

Dixon's barrel chest and stocky physique are reminiscent of the bullish Rooney, but for the time being he will have to make do with comparisons with Walcott, in itself no bad thing.

"I've never played against Walcott because he's older than me, but I'm glad he's been given a chance in a major tournament," he said. "He gives hope to the rest of us trying to make it in the game."

© The Irish Times
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    I care cause I want ireland to do as well as it can. So you asked the question who cares and I put my hand up and say I care. Any other people care out there.
    Yeah, you care and you get accused of chips on shoulders or anti-Britishness. Said it before and I'll say it again, certain people on this forum and in this country, need to grow up. You're in one of the richest and most successful countries on earth, punching well above its weight. Sometimes 'plastics' choose England because they don't feel Irish (mostly those whose Irish connection is confined to one grandparent), some are so unpoliticised they want what's best for their career, and if they could play for Brazil they would. Some actually would choose Ireland if they were the crappiest side on the planet and they were the greatest player its ever seen. Get over your inferiority conplex, lads.

As for Dixon, time will tell where his heart truly lies - Michael Robinson and Clinton Morrison prove that you can't always believe the old 'I'm Irish' line but then neither spent as a kid every summer in the place, did they? - but I feel, seeing Dixon's mother is Irish and his father's a genuine cockney geeza, he probably likes both countries.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Stauntons latest underage talent target! boywonder

Sign him up now!

2,796 Posts
    Pete, do you treat every topic in life with such cynicism, or just football?

Why waste your time posting on this topic Pete?

Quote Originally Posted by beautifulrock
    Why waste your time posting on this topic Pete?
    No sense of humour here.

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    Yeah, you care and you get accused of chips on shoulders or anti-Britishness. Said it before and I'll say it again, certain people on this forum and in this country, need to grow up. You're in one of the richest and most successful countries on earth, punching well above its weight. Sometimes 'plastics' choose England because they don't feel Irish (mostly those whose Irish connection is confined to one grandparent), some are so unpoliticised they want what's best for their career, and if they could play for Brazil they would. Some actually would choose Ireland if they were the crappiest side on the planet and they were the greatest player its ever seen. Get over your inferiority conplex, lads.:rolleyes
    Don't get me wrong, I've nothing against plastics. I even think the heritage rule should be extended. For instance someone with four or more great-grandparents out of eight should be allowed play for Ireland. This would go back as generations as possible as long as someone were able to show the majority of their ancestors of a particular generation were Irish with some documentary evidence. This could bring in the large communites of Irish descent in Cardiff and Liverpool, Hibs and Celtic fans in Scotland and the Argentinian community with roots in the Irish midlands.
    Last edited by Paddy Ramone; 11/05/2006 at 12:23 PM.

No sense of humour here. Yeah Pete good joke. keep them coming.

2,796 Posts
    There's a good picture of Dixon on oneteaminireland (good site). Very Rooney-esque:

http://oneteaminireland.bravehost.com/

Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Ramone
    Don't get me wrong, I've nothing against plastics. I even think the heritage rule should be extended...
    My argument isn't about the rights and wrongs of the playing of players born outside Ireland. I'm with FIFA. You're entitled to an Irish passport then there's nothing you or me can do about someone's Irishness.

This may sound like a broken record, but my problem is that there are still those that automatically assume that if you are born in England then you will automatically support and want to play for England, even if both your parents are Irish. Same with the US and Australia. This may not be self evident in this thread but it runs right through the forum and the 'national psyche.' Gustavo's observation that if the kid was picked by England automatically assumes he's a three hyenas on the chest through and through. He's been picked by Ireland but that doesn't change anything. He'll still pick England if they just give him a call.

Quote Originally Posted by gonzo
    I've just got a large dose of realism.......some on here should try it sometime.
    A true winners mentality.

26 Posts
    from bbc.co.uk

With all the furore that surrounded the call-up of Theo Walcott into Sven-Goran Eriksson's England World Cup squad this week, one other youngster's shock international selection went largely unnoticed.

Arsenal's Walcott, just 17, was the surprise fourth striker included in Eriksson's 23-man squad, despite not yet making an appearance for the Gunners since his £12m January move and making just 13 senior starts in his short career to date.

However, England were not the only international outfit looking to youth, with new Republic of Ireland manager Steve Staunton including Tottenham's 16-year-old striker Terry Dixon, who is even less experience than Walcott.

Dixon has yet to even establish himself in Spurs' academy set-up, and those outside of White Hart Lane could be forgiven for being wholly under-whelmed by his inclusion in Staunton's 29-man training squad.

However, the noises now coming from White Hart Lane and Staunton suggest Dixon's potential impact could be just as big as Walcott's.

Dixon in action for the Republic in a Uefa Under-17 qualifier
    The striker, who will join Tottenham's first-year trainee selection from next season, impressed many with a series of starring performances behind the front two in Ireland's Uefa Under-17 European Championship qualifiers.

Strong and skilful, his play has been compared to England's Wayne Rooney, though Tottenham have so far been keen to keep him under wraps.

But that may now change, with many expecting Dixon to step up into Tottenham's reserve, and possibly first-team, set-up as soon as next year.

And Staunton is convinced he could be a big star for Spurs and Ireland in the future, especially under the guidance of club team-mate and international captain and top-goal-scorer Robbie Keane.

"He is a very talented boy with good ability and he is highly thought of at Spurs," the former Liverpool and Coventry defender said.

It is a big step up and I did not expect it, but I will go there and enjoy it

Terry Dixon
    "I feel he is a special talent and if he progresses nicely, we will see the benefits in a couple of years.

"It will be good to take him along to the camp and show him what we are about. I said to Sean (McCaffrey) and Don (Givens) that I would like to reward at least one player for doing well and I have decided to bring him."

Dixon himself admits that the chance came as a shock, but that he will be making the most of the opportunity.

He said: "I was called on Monday with the news and I was absolutely over the moon.

"It is a big step up and I did not expect it, but I will go there and enjoy it.

"I met Steve Staunton at the European Championships and he told me well done, but I did not expect this.

"I am sure it will be a great experience - just training with the squad will be unbelievable. It will give me confident going into next season and I will be able to take tips off the likes of Robbie, that will be fantastic."

On the world stage this summer, Walcott could be writing back-page headlines single-handedly with England as Eriksson's men march on the finals in Germany.

But, under the radar with Ireland, Staunton and Tottenham will be hoping Dixon can continue his development, with one eye on making his own impact for club and country in the coming years.

He certainly seems big for his age. He'll still be 16 half at Christmas so has a lot of time on his side.

http://www.tottenhamhotspur.com/imag...les/2115-6.jpg

Show me any evidence to the contrary, that we have sufficient talent to prove otherwise?
    Now why would I waste my time doing that? I'm grateful players and staff do not share your attitude.

I am always suspicious of physical young players as there is the suggestion that only excelling in their age group as they much bigger than opponents. By the time the other youth players start growing his possible lack of techique may be exposed.

...I don't expect us to ever win any major competition. But still that's not the point of most international teams and sure there's still the craic.................
    Utter defeatist cr*p. Denmark and Greece both proved you can win a major tournament with not too much talent.

Well as Lopez said Greec won Euro 2004 and in addition they have had troubles qualifying for major tournaments so that does not mean Ireland cannot go and win a tournament sometime. I dont expect them to win a tournament but I am always hopeful that they can do. I want them to win every game they go into simple as that. You can be both a realist and an optomist in one go. I hope that we win but if we dont I like to assess how we have performed from a realist perspective.
    In Trap we trust

Its more fun though hoping your team wins. It has been proven in life and in busines and in sport that if you believe you are going to win you have more chance of doing so.
    In Trap we trust

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123