typical staunton and his lack of kerr like preparation and attention
    to
    detail....

i mean why have a "warm weather" training camp before a Chile
    game???!??!

and surely John Frost would be the el man to call up for this game?

ehh

There's not a hope he'll get his game, which is a blessing going on what we saw of him against Drogheda!

F*ck the begrudgers!!!!!

For ages people have been calling for another cap for an Eircom Lge player and for the manager of the National team to give EL players a chance and now that it has happened the attitude taken is,lets hope he doesnt play

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC
    ...now that it has happened the attitude taken is,lets hope he doesnt play
    You pretty much completely dominated against Drogs yet Byrne was nonexistent for most of his time on the pitch. His form this season has been terrible! Do you really want him to take that form into the national team and have everyone say, "eL players are shíte and can't play at this level!"?

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    You pretty much completely dominated against Drogs yet Byrne was nonexistent for most of his time on the pitch. His form this season has been terrible! Do you really want him to take that form into the national team and have everyone say, "eL players are shíte and can't play at this level!"?
    Id have to agree with that.

I think it would be bad for the league if he came on and played sh**e,thats not to say that O'Neill,Gavin or Georgie wouldnt play sh**e but surely the players who are in form have a better chance of doing well.IMO when Flynny is fully fit he should get a call up.Hes proven himself at u21 level before and is the best striker in the league on his day
    "They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson

How can we find a way to blame Devlin on this....c'mon lads there MUST be a way!
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

Quote Originally Posted by el punter
    How can we find a way to blame Devlin on this....c'mon lads there MUST be a way!
    Not that hard really.... Devlin has been/is an advisor to Byrne, Devlin is eL advisor to Staunton... Only surprise is I'm the first to post it.

people are right about EL fans always looking for something to moan about.

We`ve been moaning about EL players not getting a chance and now that our top scorer for the last 3 seasons is called up to a squad we`re hoping he doesn`t play cos he`s not good enough

Byrne hasn't looked great to me in the bits I've seen of him this year but in fairness to him, he's the top scorer this year (as well as the last few years) and a poor performance with a goal is more useful from a striker than the opposite.

Ciaran Martyn before Georgie. Barry Molloy is also as good as Gamble.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    Ciaran Martyn before Georgie. Barry Molloy is also as good as Gamble.
    Martyn before Georgie!Not a chance buddy Hes a very good player,no doubt about that but no way is he ahead of Georgie!
    "They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC
    F*ck the begrudgers!!!!!

For ages people have been calling for another cap for an Eircom Lge player and for the manager of the National team to give EL players a chance and now that it has happened the attitude taken is,lets hope he doesnt play
    Spot on. Couldnt give a flying **** which EL player is called up as long as someone is. Form or not on form he is the top striker in the league and has played for his country, albeit for 10 seconds and never touched the ball. Lets hop he gets more minutes this time!

If he playes and scores the winner you'd have people here moaning

Dave, would I be right in saying Georgie has been disappointing so far this year? He has been criticised a few times on the CCFC forum. Martyn was the top scoring midfielder in the league last year is currently 2nd top scorer overall.

TBH I was just putting Ciaran's (and Barry's) name into the hat as I knew no other City player would be mentioned
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

89 Posts
    Duffs been dismal for the last twelve months, yet he gets into every squad...........

Lets just hope Byrne does well, as we all know he can, and that this leads to future call ups.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

71 Posts
    Here's a conspiracy theory for the A faces. Anyone reckon it has anything to do with Devo's relationship to Staunton and Jason Byrne being a Bray product and a player whose sale could raise money for Bray?

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog
    As for boy george his fukcin head would explode if he got a call up ..Unbearable !
    Typical measured and balanced post from a Drogs fan.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    If he playes and scores the winner you'd have people here moaning
    I don't think so. I'd be delighted for him if he did.

Fair play to Stan - I think he's right to pick Jayo - he has proved himself over the past 3 or so years - O'Neill is best striker on form but isnt as proven as Byrne. Also, Byrne's aerial ability is top class.

Dissapointed Gamble isnt included but we do have enough centre midfielders I suppose btw Kavanagh is an excellent player and is definitly ahead of Gamble in pecking order IMO

Fantastic news. Makes us all proud of Shelbourne. Hopefully he will get a run about in the friendly. give robbie a rest.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Gamble is unlucky that there are a number of centre mids around at the moment. Unfortunately, only a move back to England will give him any sort of chance of being selected.