Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Sligo Rovers Vs. Finn Harps

Sligo Rovers Vs. Finn Harps

Right, we lost to U.C.D. but next up is Harps, an underpar first division side, we're fully expected to win this, and win it in style(provided we've a strong side out). I expect Mansaram to play considering he's going to be suspended for our next league game. If McNamara is injured then we shouldn't risk him and we should play McKenzie instead. Brush should get a chance to prove himself in goal considering it's not a major match and Flannery should play up front with Flash. Foy should be rested but I don't think he will. Considering we have such a small squad, we can't really afford to drop big players but anyway...

My team would be:

Brush,

Kelly, Burns, McKenzie, Peers,

Hughes, Feeney, Curran, McCartney,

Mansaram, Flannery

I think we'll win 2-0. Harps aren't as strong as they even were last season but we'll have to watch Stephen O'Donnell as we all know what he can do.

What do ye think lads?

i think harps might put out a weak team cos they've already lost gethins&gorman's been injured as well. they need to get back on track&winning a cupla league cup games is no benefit to em. connor sed last week that he was gonna use the game to experiment with formations etc. but a lotta ppl will need to be rested so he mightn't have many options. mcnamara went off injured so he'll hardly play even if it's not bad, dunno whether judge was injured or not yesterday. i'd say jay, curran, seanie kelly and bellew could start. mikey creane prob still has exams&steve mightn't be available.

brush
    peers mckenzie burns kelly
    faz turner curran jay
    mansaram bellew

there's an u21 game the next day so it's hard to predict what the team will be tho
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

what time is kick off?i have a feeling we are going to get beaten. they are starting to find a bit of form and we are in a bad patch. this game brings back the memories of carlos' celebration against them last season.my favourite moment of the season

Kick off is 8pm.

Formerly: wild rover
    gorman v gorman on the touchline possibly....its going to be one crap game anyway

we should win...aet

Id say Seean will put out a strongish team we need a win to boost morale after Saturday . Of course setbacks like that will happen to us this season so we shouldnt get too upset about it.

Bellew should get a run in this game....himself and the flash would make bits of harps

Heres hoping but i get hte feeling it might a case of "flash in the pan"

Quote Originally Posted by roversforever
    . this game brings back the memories of carlos' celebration against them last season.my favourite moment of the season
    is that the one when he directed the celebrations at robert cullen??...
    wasnt that a league game v galway???

id go wit: brush
    Peers Burns McKenzie Foy
    Curran Feeney Hughes Faz
    McTiernan Judge

Bellew to come on at sum stage i hope!!

Is this game defo at 8-00 ?

i heard its 7.30

ill be there at 6.50 so if its 8 0 clock it'll be a nice long wait

On the Rovers website it says kick off is at 8.

i heard on ocean its 7.30

Ah well I'll just have to go to Mooney's earlier to be on the safe side!
    I wonder how many people will turn up to watch the game considering the Keane testimonial is on tv.
    Last edited by nephin; 09/05/2006 at 11:35 AM.

ill spend the time on debuting a brand new flag at the showgrounds tonight.....

I didn't realise we were ground sharing with Harps ;-)

From Rte.ie
    Team news for Sligo Rovers v Finn Harps
    Tuesday, 09 May 2006 12:35

Sligo Rovers boss Sean Connor is considering his options following his side's worst display of the season in losing 3-0 at UCD last Saturday.

Connor could make changes or give the team a chance to regain some pride.

Skipper Michael McNamara is definitely out as he came off at half time at Belfield with a foot injury.

Harps, buoyed by their 3-2 win over Dundalk at the Showgrounds on Thursday, are without midfielder Barry Curran who got married at the weekend.

Kick-off tonight

Just double checked the start time - it is 8pm this evening.
    former (!) webmaster for sligorovers.com

i wonder will there be much of a crowd?....roy keanes testemonial v celtic is on terrestrial tv and alot of people will be expecting rovers to have a young team out

Well if People would rather watch a glorified friendly game between 2 British Clubs in celebration of a man who walked out on Ireland 4 years ago than watch us play in a local derby of a competitive competition that could provide us with silverware then thats their own choice!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast