Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: UCD...aaaaah!

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    He isn't saying that. He is saying that anyone could call someone who disagrees with something they hold to be true or right as a "minority of idiots".
    Thank you.
    Lads if yee do well in the league ye have very strong chance of been in the elite league.
    What is this legal case yere intending on bringing against the FAI.Is it in conjunction with CHF?
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    He isn't saying that. He is saying that anyone could call someone who disagrees with something they hold to be true or right as a "minority of idiots".
    My mistake then.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    Ive made my feelings known about the subject before and i don't sell like another onslaught of whining from UCD fans.
    You have to admit, for a club with allegedly no fans, we can bring quite a whinging onslaught when need be.

ConorH, I completely agree with what you're saying. Pete Mahon has been saying it to the lads all season, go out there and finish high and make it unjustifiable to relegate us. Conversely, Galway, a club allegedly favoured by the process, are doing themselves no favours with only 2 wins so far this season. That said, UCD could easily drop to the bottom three and we'd then see what the process is made of. To be honest, I met one eL chairman (who I believe is helping drive the Elite League) along with Pineapple Stu earlier this season and he told us that ideally in his personal preference league placing would be just one criteria totally equal to ground, fanbase etc. So if you lacked on all those, your league position would not save you. Who knows? We still have a vote to go. Also, this is totally off topic and only being discussed due to the petulant retort of a Sligo fan.

I think it's important all factors be taken into consideration....if you read my prvious posts i did say league standings were vital.
    I didn't mean it to across as you were the one I was giving out about.

i'd say the guesstimate of 500 was probably right but there was 150+ rovers fans. fair play to ucd on their style of football, kept passing throughout, even shels were lumping balls into the corners last week. that was comfortably our worst performance since 2004. absolutely no1 could be happy with their contribution. no closing down, stupid mistakes&bad decisions throughout. even though mcwalter's two goals were crackers there might as well have been no defenders around cos he was allowed two free shots from 25 yards. we had our 1st shot on target in after bout 75mins. defending from set pieces was shockin, perhaps the players need to be more cynical and make sure they have a healthy chunk of their man's jersey. although most ppl might question the pride in the jersey yesterday i doubt any would question the commitment of players like foy, peers or hughes(who have been superb so far but these guys weren't their usual selves yesterday. i genuinely believe the schedule has the players juiced.

on the subject of conor kenna, it's not his fault mansaram got sent off it's the ref's. it was a free but it wasn't that bad from flash, it would warrant a 1st yellow but a ref with common sense wouldn't have sent him off&the ref didn't even see it nor did the b*tch on da line cos she didn't flag. perhaps conor should invest in some new shin guards if that tackle hurt him so much. kenna did deserve every bit of booing he got for his dive a few mins later, i was bout 2 metres away from it so don't dare try to defend him ucd fans. later on he made gestures towards our fans&started smirking&laughin at us as well. i havent sed a bad word about ucd bar this guy so i'd disappointed if ye treid to defend him
    Last edited by Red4Eva; 07/05/2006 at 7:08 PM.
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

About the Kenna incident/sending off; was it 2 yellows or straight red and if two yellows are Sligo fans angry about 1 or both?

Quote Originally Posted by dmandmythdledge
    About the Kenna incident/sending off; was it 2 yellows or straight red and if two yellows are Sligo fans angry about 1 or both?
    It was two yellows...

3,491 Posts
    What is this legal case yere intending on bringing against the FAI.Is it in conjunction with CHF?
    It's just general legal problems with the proposed structure. UEFA statutes basically say that they will not support any structure which aims to screw over smaller sides. A league structure which chooses sides based on factors such as attendances and marketability clearly falls within the remit of the structures UEFA are talking about. The FAI are members of UEFA so, you would imagine, must be guided by its statutes. Therefore any club which gets screwed over by the FAI should have recourse to complain to UEFA that the FAI were not acting in accordance with UEFA statutes. That's before we get to potential legal cases against the FAI from players, managers, etc. whose wages are cut from Premier Division wages to First Division wages on the basis of the FAI acting outside its remit.

Red4Eva - I've defended Kenna in this thread and will continue to do so. He's played 73 games for the club and no away fans have ever had a problem with him, and I've never seen any evidence of him diving. Sligo's challenges were quite physical throughout the match, as I noted earlier. I was surprised when the red card was issued, but I think Sligo fans' reactions is standard own-team bias (and I note that that can be levelled at me too...).

3,491 Posts
    No, it was clearly stated elsewhere that schumi counted.

I would say there were in around 450 at the game. 500 at most. 150 rovers fans, 200 ucd fans and maybe 100 neutrals.

We were well off the pace and ucd thoroughly deseved their win. Losing to cork and derry is one thing but it is worrying if we are losing games so easily to mid table teams

No one I spoke to was surprised at all about mansaram being sent off. He really should have been taken off before he was sent off.

Sean Conor was extremely quiet considering how badly his team was playing. By contrast I wouldn't like to see what Pete Mahon if his team were losing 3-0, the look on some of the subsitutes faces as he roared at the ucd players in the last ten minutes was priceless (I was standing near the ucd dugout in the 2nd half)

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    He's played 73 games for the club and no away fans have ever had a problem with him, and I've never seen any evidence of him diving.
    i never said anythin about what in those other games but i know what he did yesterday and i can only assume you didn't what i saw
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

The performance against UCD was the worst I have seen in a Long Long time. Not one tried, no one they were like a bunch of mercenaries playing for a wage and not an ounce of passion for the club. I felt sorry for Connors & would say he felt extremely let down by the team. UCD well deserved their 3 points, Rovers gave them to much time, didn’t push forward & conceded possession easily & UCD punished them for it, they were like a bunch of lads on the pi55 all week and after having a big feed from the Bistro, they couldn’t move and couldn’t be arsed! Paul Doolin & Tony Cousins were in the stand & I would say they slept soundly on Saturday night!!

Fair play to UCD, totally outplayed us all over the pitch. Our best player by a long shot was Foy. Not only did he cover his own area, but he did Faz's job as well.
    About Kenna, not only did he pretend his leg was broke with the Mansarem incident, he also got McT booked, again pretending an injury. Totall disgraceful behavour. If any player touched him he was off rolling on the ground. He was also trying to get the Sligo fans going by putting up his fist to us, and then trying to cover it up by pretending he was urging on his team.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Ah now come on. You can all give it but you cant take it! He didn't do anything offensive even tho ye were shouting, "Wait til you come to the showgrounds" and the like. McT could have been sent off for his challenge, and Kenna wasn't involved in that one. He made no attempt for the ball as our centre half tried to shield the ball through to our keeper and McT must've thought he was Mr T by milling in to our two players.

Mansaram should have been sent off just before half time for his late challenge when he was already booked but the ref said one more and your gone and Mansaram duly obliged with a stupid late tackle again (albeit not the worst tackle your likely to see), so the ref had no choice.
    College Kids

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader
    Yes as was clearly Stated before !
    That guesstimate was in relation to the number of away fans, not the crowd.

Quote Originally Posted by markh
    I would say there were in around 450 at the game. 500 at most. 150 rovers fans, 200 ucd fans and maybe 100 neutrals.
    100 neutrals? How'd you work that one out?!

3,491 Posts
    The question re neutrals was to MarkH.

3,491 Posts
    I wasn't questioning your right to reply; I was just saying it was a pointless post given that you were directly replying to me about neutral fans whereas it was MarkH who had brought the issue up.

Lads,
    Bickering over the attendance figures is childish. I say that to both UCD and Sligo fans.

With you on that one - it's not as if people are arguing over whether there were 45,000 or 50,000 at the game.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

812 Posts
    Have to admit, I found it amusing when it got down to 450 vs 500.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast