Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

Thread: Dalym-OUT

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red
    So, is there any point building the proposed stand for the Shopping Centre end. Doubt it if that will be built now. Have the board mentioned anything about this?
    the board sold the option on that back to the developer for a tidy lump sum 6 months ago. Came in handy when the revenue came knocking. We didnt get hit with a winding up order as a result.

Oh right, I didn't hear about that, cheers
    Who Cares?!

Silly boy

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Ever walked from ashtown to castleknock village? That is some walk. The 37 goes nowhere near the proposed location. Hate to break this to you but the 38 goes straight to dalymount. You could have saved yourself a walk!

I used to live about half a mile from the toll plaza and I will be astounded if a ball is ever kicked there.

On a practical level the nearest bus stop to it is about a 15 minute walk away. No chance of an access road being built from the motorway so anyone driving will have to exit at the blanch roundabout and then negotiate traffic through castleknock village. Also the M50 is due to widen from a two lane to a three lane motorway which will impact on any plans for a stadium.

Seems boez have seen the euro signs and gone for it. At the very least they have ?2m which should clear their debts and keep them afloat for two seasons. Maybe this is the real reason?!!

In effect though they are being rewarded for their consistent failure to do anything with Dalymount. Take away the main stand and the ground is a disgrace. Says it all about boez. Too many unanswered questions though. What about the Albion Properties deal with the famous tramway end which has been closed for "health and safety" reasons for a decade now? What about the recent deal they signed with the Mater hospital? Have the local residents been consulted?

Had to laugh at the sun at the weekend saying they are going to be the chelsea of this league. Isnt the 27m they are getting spread out over 25 years?

I make no apologies I love Dalymount and it will be a very sad day for Irish football if this goes through. But hopefully it wont.........

http://www.joanburton.ie/?postid=375

To respond to your many inaccurate assumptions:

- There are about five lanes spanning the M50 beside the land we own.

- We will receive €26m the day we are handed the keys for our new 10k seater stadium. Anyone who doesn't realise that this will result in dominance is living on another planet.

- Our consistent failure to do anything with Dalmount includes the building of the best stand in the league in very recent times. You should know about the difficulties and expense of building stadiums. In case you have forgotten you have a half built blot on the landscape sitting out in Tallaght for years.

Quote Originally Posted by ConorE
    To respond to your many inaccurate assumptions:

- There are about five lanes spanning the M50 beside the land we own.

- We will receive €26m the day we are handed the keys for our new 10k seater stadium. Anyone who doesn't realise that this will result in dominance is living on another planet.

- Our consistent failure to do anything with Dalmount includes the building of the best stand in the league in very recent times. You should know about the difficulties and expense of building stadiums. In case you have forgotten you have a half built blot on the landscape sitting out in Tallaght for years.
    Inaccurate assumptions?? Since when do boez own land there? Accept your second point though I'll believe when I see it.

That stand was finally constructed in 1999 after decades of having a **** stand. What about the rest of the ground?

Try actually reading my post kid and he calls me silly???????

Inaccurate assumptions?? Since when do boez own land there? Accept your second point though I'll believe when I see it.

That stand was finally constructed in 1999 after decades of having a **** stand. What about the rest of the ground?

Try actually reading my post kid and he calls me silly???????

Own land?? Where did you get that from. I was responding to your notion that the expansion of the M50 would impact on our stadium building project. There is enough room as it stands to build three lanes due to the extra lanes in place for existing booths.

As I said, the rest of the ground proved difficult to develop while keeping a team competitive in the Premier over the past 5 years. Again, you should know about staduim development costs.

I did read your post ans as stated above, it's silly and inaccurate.

Own land?? Where did you get that from. I was responding to your notion that the expansion of the M50 would impact on our stadium building project. There is enough room as it stands to build three lanes due to the extra lanes in place for existing booths.

As I said, the rest of the ground proved difficult to develop while keeping a team competitive in the Premier over the past 5 years. Again, you should know about staduim development costs.

I did read your post ans as stated above, it's silly and inaccurate.
    Your quote" There are about five lanes spanning the M50 beside the land we own."

Over the last 5 years? What about the decades before that? There's enough inaccurracies in your own post to make your contributions "silly".

Take away the €27m in my post and the hard questions there are avoided so you can nit pick.

Your quote" There are about five lanes spanning the M50 beside the land we own."

Over the last 5 years? What about the decades before that? There's enough inaccurracies in your own post to make your contributions "silly".

Take away the €27m in my post and the hard questions there are avoided so you can nit pick.

Fair enough we don't own the land as of yet, however the builder we are doing business does own the land and the signed deal will pave the way for that land to be used for our stadium. Again, your not really in a position to mock about land ownership etc..

There are no inaccuracies in my post and no 'hard questions' in your post.

Notion of 3 lanes causing problems for our stadium - Inaccurate

Notion of us receiving 1m a year - Innacurate

Notion that we have been rewarded for consistent failure etc... - Inaccurate, we have been rewarded for the existence of the membership structure. A similar model that you have used 116 years later to save your club from death.

I actually hope Rovers get into Tallaght and believe that most Rovers fans have said fair play regarding our deal. Don't comfort yourself by thinking that this is luck, the people who found and set up our club allowed this to happen. We are now going to reap the benefit. Our respective positions are down to the individuals involved with our clubs all thoughout our histories.
    Last edited by ConorE; 11/05/2006 at 11:23 AM.

Fair enough we don't own the land as of yet, however the builder we are doing business does own the land and the signed deal will pave the way for that land to be used for our stadium. Again, your not really in a position to mock about land ownership etc..

Notion that we have been rewarded for consistent failure etc... - Inaccurate, we have been rewarded for the existence of the membership structure. A similar model that you have used 116 years later to save your club from death.

I actually hope Rovers get into Tallaght and believe that most Rovers fans have said fair play regarding our deal. Don't comfort yourself by thinking that this is luck, the people who found and set up our club allowed this to happen. We are now going to reap the benefit. Our respective positions are down to the individuals involved with our clubs all thoughout our histories.

ny isnt mocking anything, he is asking some relevant questions about the deal now the initial fanfare and euphoria has died down. the reality is the bozos are contradicting each other here on the finer points of the deal.

is the 27m going into property or the playing side? if it is the former, how are you going to doinate the league? was it not made very clear to membership NOT to expect a significant increase in the playing budget as a result of the deal?

are you are are you not getting 1m a year until the deal is done, repayable by bozos if it all falls through due to lack of pp on either end?

i think this is a fantastic deal for and by bohs. but cut the crap about foresight and how its down to your membership structure. you got lucky because a fan has made it in property and wants the site. this came about when you canvassed opinion about the commercial value of pox park in light of the groundshare idea.

you let dalymount literally collapse around you and only renovated the jodi for your membership to watch the game in comfort while away fans stood in the cold with no toilets, food or even lights. the kip is literally beyond repair so stop bullshítting thats its part of some grand scheme of 115 years thought.

Just a quick question to the bohs lads who know the details of this deal:
    How big exactly is the actual site being handed over with the new stadum when completed? Is it merely the stadium or will it include surrounding lands to allow potential future development of any kind? Btw i dont mean the large areas that will be required for carparking!

Koh
    Thomas Davis have said they will be the last man standing, they were WRONG!!

SRFC will NEVER die!!

3,491 Posts
    Isn't it 8 acres or so?

Incidentally, I think the Dalyer deal was down as being 5 acres? Where are those five acres?! The football pitch is about 1 acre, and I know there was very little room around the ground to expand (main reason why the 20000-seater stadium idea was rubbish) - so where are the other four acres? Do they own other ground elsewhere, or did I just misread the original deal?

After admitting that he was wrong then he says "There are no inaccuracies in my post"

Re the €27m if you actually read my post I asked whether this was spread over 25 years. I didnt suggest otherwise. No notions there.

Tell me exactly how the widening of the M50 wont impact on your proposed stadium. Remember I know the area very well as a former resident.

You have been rewarded for consistent failure. Totally accurate.

The hard questions which you have failed to answer are in my original post. Try reading it in total. I'm not mocking anyone about land ownership. If you cant get away from these "notions" you have and answer the questions posed then stay away.

Quote Originally Posted by DvB
    Just a quick question to the bohs lads who know the details of this deal:
    How big exactly is the actual site being handed over with the new stadum when completed? Is it merely the stadium or will it include surrounding lands to allow potential future development of any kind? Btw i dont mean the large areas that will be required for carparking!

Koh
    The site being handed over is 8.5 acres. The site being sold (Dalyount) is 5.07 acres. The developers are building a new 10,000 seater stadium with 290 car parking spaces and (10-15) coach parking spaces. There won't be much if any room left over for future development except to say that the stadium being built will be built in such a way as to allow for the ground to be expaned to 20,000 if the need ever arises (i.e. we'll all be dead then, but like our forefathers, this can be our gist to the future generations!)

PS I know you don't mean to include the car parking spaces as part of your question, but the info we have includes the car parking so I can't break it down for you.
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

So there will be no youth/training facilities on the site?
    Will the stadium incorporate a gym or the like?

It looks as if the stadium, with a little parking, will completely fill the new site. It hasn't been confirmed yet if national toll roads will charge to give us our ball back. It might not be unreasonable for them to impose a quota if we're playing Drogheda.
    With our expertise gleaned from the patent-pending Liffey Valley Fan Propulsion System (i.e., catapult), we should have no difficulty setting up a mechanical solution to this problem.

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson
    The site being handed over is 8.5 acres. The site being sold (Dalyount) is 5.07 acres. The developers are building a new 10,000 seater stadium with 290 car parking spaces and (10-15) coach parking spaces. There won't be much if any room left over for future development except to say that the stadium being built will be built in such a way as to allow for the ground to be expaned to 20,000 if the need ever arises (i.e. we'll all be dead then, but like our forefathers, this can be our gist to the future generations!)

PS I know you don't mean to include the car parking spaces as part of your question, but the info we have includes the car parking so I can't break it down for you.
    Thanks for that. Suprised at only 290 car parking spaces being proposed though.
    I dont suppose its progressed to a stage where they have a general timeline as to how soon before an application can be made to Fingal County Council and indeed the application to Dublin City Council in relation to the rezoning of the Dalymount site? Or will this only follow after negotiations have concluded between the Board & the developer?
    Thomas Davis have said they will be the last man standing, they were WRONG!!

SRFC will NEVER die!!

Since you and ConorE seem to have gotten bogged down in the usual petty arguments between us lot an you lot, maybe I can answer some of your questions. I'm just being honest so don't get into symantics.

On a practical level the nearest bus stop to it is about a 15 minute walk away. No chance of an access road being built from the motorway so anyone driving will have to exit at the blanch roundabout and then negotiate traffic through castleknock village. Also the M50 is due to widen from a two lane to a three lane motorway which will impact on any plans for a stadium.
    I would suggest that the expansion of the motorway will not affect the site at all as the site is right beside the toll booths which are possibly 5 - 6 lanes each in width and won't need to be widened in the future.

I can't foresee an access route from the toll booths either so yes people will have to use the existing access.

Seems boez have seen the euro signs and gone for it. At the very least they have ?2m which should clear their debts and keep them afloat for two seasons. Maybe this is the real reason?!!

In effect though they are being rewarded for their consistent failure to do anything with Dalymount. Take away the main stand and the ground is a disgrace. Says it all about boez. Too many unanswered questions though. What about the Albion Properties deal with the famous tramway end which has been closed for "health and safety" reasons for a decade now? What about the recent deal they signed with the Mater hospital? Have the local residents been consulted?
    It's not the real reason most people have voted for the deal (to get €2m) although I do know at least one member who voted yes for these reasons.

I think for you to say that we are being 'rewarded' for the mistreatment of Dalymount Park is being a little bit rich. Bohs were given a grant to upgrade the stadium and used it to build the Jodi Stand. That is all the money that was available to do this. I also know that there were/are plans in the offing about upgrading the Connaught St side due to the car park money etc. which we hadn't been getting the full use benefit of until less than a year ago.

As ConorE states, we are in this position because we are a members club. You are in your situation because you weren't a members club. We are being 'rewarded' - as you so put it - because we are a members club and not because of anything else. We are moving because the members want to secure the long term future of our club, something I think that you as a Rovers fan should have a very good idea of.

Of course I would agree that the other three sides of Dalyer are in a shocking state of repair, but we have started losing money only over the last 5 years due to going from Semi Pro to FT Pro (similarly Rovers) and this has basically left us in the situation we are in.

Had to laugh at the sun at the weekend saying they are going to be the chelsea of this league. Isnt the 27m they are getting spread out over 25 years?

I make no apologies I love Dalymount and it will be a very sad day for Irish football if this goes through. But hopefully it wont.........

http://www.joanburton.ie/?postid=375

The remaining €25m will be handed to Bohs in one go once either the pp gets the go ahead or when the keys are swapped (not sure). Where you are getting the €1m per year is that in 12 months from now the developer is giving Bohs a refundable €1m and in every subsequent year this will be the case. As it is refundable, the money is not going to be touched except to put it into a high yeilding interest account.

Hope that clears up your questions.

Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc
    So there will be no youth/training facilities on the site?
    Will the stadium incorporate a gym or the like?
    No youth/training facilities on site, however I understand that the developer is taking an interest in sourcing land for us where we can develop it into a training centre, etc. details are a bit sketchy at this point.

There are plans to incorporate a small gym in the stadium, but as we can spec the stadium ourselves I'm not sure if this is something the club desire to have there instead of say, using the space for corporate entertainment, or something else.

Btw, love your ground! Especially drinking pints on the 'veranda' while watching the game. Great stuff!!

Quote Originally Posted by DvB
    Thanks for that. Suprised at only 290 car parking spaces being proposed though.
    I dont suppose its progressed to a stage where they have a general timeline as to how soon before an application can be made to Fingal County Council and indeed the application to Dublin City Council in relation to the rezoning of the Dalymount site? Or will this only follow after negotiations have concluded between the Board & the developer?
    Yep 290 is hardly a lot. I understand the SDCC implemented a minimum rule for Tallaght of something like 800 car parking spaces! Big difference!

In relation to the applications etc. I understand that the contracts are being signed this week. It makes no sense for either party to hang around so I would anticipate that the application will be winging its way to the offices of DCC in the immediate future while negotiations are continuing as to the final specifications of the stadium.

Our biggest problem will be the NIMBY's living in Castleknock. Already (the day after the annoucement) Joan Burton has been vocal about meeting our board about all sorts of details. While as a public representative she has every right to do so, the least she can do is to wait and see what the details are as we don't even know yet!

After admitting that he was wrong then he says "There are no inaccuracies in my post"

Re the €27m if you actually read my post I asked whether this was spread over 25 years. I didnt suggest otherwise. No notions there.

Tell me exactly how the widening of the M50 wont impact on your proposed stadium. Remember I know the area very well as a former resident.

You have been rewarded for consistent failure. Totally accurate.

The hard questions which you have failed to answer are in my original post. Try reading it in total. I'm not mocking anyone about land ownership. If you cant get away from these "notions" you have and answer the questions posed then stay away.

By speaking in the third person alt least we now know that this is about playing for the crowd rather than actually engaging with the facts. Perhaps they are a little difficult to digest after 20 years on the streets? I don't blame you to be honest.

Quote: 'Isnt the 27m they are getting spread out over 25 years?'

I think most rational people would agree that this would qualify as a 'notion', and as I stated previously on several occasions...this is an inaccurate notion. I can't make it any clearer for you than that.

What 'consistent failure' are you refering to?

We bought our land and stuck with the membership structure which was seen by many as a ball and chain for us in terms of progress. This very structure meant that no individual could benefit from the sale of club land, ala you know where. Thus, the reason we are being rewarded is that we stuck with sound club ownership structures and not because of consistant failure as you seem to have dreamt up.

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson
    Since you and ConorE seem to have gotten bogged down in the usual petty arguments between us lot an you lot,

Where you are getting the €1m per year is that in 12 months from now the developer is giving Bohs a refundable €1m and in every subsequent year this will be the case. As it is refundable, the money is not going to be touched except to put it into a high yeilding interest account.
    you arent singing off the same sheet, thats the problem. we are trying to tease out what exactly is in the deal when you lot dont appear to know.

Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast