Page 8 of 18 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland v Chile, 24/05/06

not great, seems to be lacking a bit of drive at the moment. Doyle and Given doing well, with Gonzales(liverpool player to be) looking very good. On the plus side you being at work means you do not have to listen to Niall Quinn, does the red button on Sky mute him i wonder : )
    Last edited by beautifulrock; 24/05/2006 at 8:10 PM.

230 Posts
    Rep of Ireland 0-1 Chile 7.30
    Iturra 48
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

John O' Shea should have gone on holiday. I for one would have no problems if I never saw him play for Ireland again, he brings nothing to the table bar a lax attitude and half hearted effort.

Jesus, bit of a shock there. Are they just not arsed or what? Was expecting a convincing display tonight.

Are Sky showing highlights of this later?
    Last edited by Don Vito; 24/05/2006 at 8:24 PM.
    "In life, it aint about how hard you can hit, it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep on moving forward"

Rocky Balboa

Quote Originally Posted by Don Vito
    Jesus, bit of a shock there. Are they just not arsed or what? Was expecting a convincing display tonight.

Are Sky showing highlights of this later?
    For your own good dont watch it, we created nothing bar a half chance from Robbie!

Highlights? What highlights?

Finishing with 2 midfielders in the back four.
    Ian "deadball specialist" Harte's terrible delivery from everywhere.

In fairness, means about as much as the Sweden win.....nothing.

Staunton out!*

Some shocking performances by some. thought Doyle did well and McGeady when he came on. Everyone else was poor

*NOt really but seeing as he was being deified afyer the Swedish win...

I thought Byrne was very good when he came on, a lot of nice knock downs.

Doyle was excellent, McGeady did well, Byrne did really well when he came on.
    Dunne did alright aswell.
    Steven Kelly was terrible, Harte was poor too, O'Shea might aswell have been at home

what about stans post match interview-god he just cannot speak at all.
    frasier robertson "were the players tired steve?"
    stan "you tell me"

oh dear. awful pitch didnt help but then the chillies were up for it and we werent. kilbane did well. mcgeady also finally got more than 2 mins on pitch and tried to put some spark into the play.

really terrible pitch does not help anyone though. doyle won a few headers and looks promising but it was a big mess the whole thing
    I

Quote Originally Posted by as_i_say
    kilbane did well.
    Forgot about Kilbane - I thought hd did pretty well and Id definitly have him in ahead of Harte

time for stan to go ????

disapointing result but meaningless all the same

[QUOTE=thejollyrodger]time for stan to go ????

Don't be so Fcuking pathetic and immature. Tell me what Staunton did wrong apart from experimenting for the first twenty minutes or more and giving a shlte interview pre and post match.

The players were horrendous apart from Given, Dunne, Mcgeady and Kilbane.The crowd were no better.O' Shea should take up ballet dancing because he is not a footballer. Enough said.

[QUOTE=FarBeag]
    Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    time for stan to go ????

Don't be so Fcuking pathetic and immature. Tell me what Staunton did wrong apart from experimenting for the first twenty minutes or more and giving a shlte interview pre and post match.

The players were horrendous apart from Given, Dunne, Mcgeady and Kilbane.The crowd were no better.O' Shea should take up ballet dancing because he is not a footballer. Enough said.

I really hate when people cannot pick up on things even if its on a forum.

246 Posts
    Maybe we'll be spared all the rubbish about how great Staunton is now. It's been making me sick ever since he got the job. Everything he did was a stroke of genius, everything Brian Kerr had done in two and a half years was crap. Culminated this morning in a typical piece of Dunphy nonsense - one of the main things Staunton has going for him is that he's not Kerr - Jésus wept. Ireland were totally outclsassed tonight. If Kerr had ended up with Kilbane at centre half he'd have been slaughtered by the media. (Though Kilbane was one of the few decent performances by an Irish player on the night.)

BTW - I'm not particularly anti Staunton. It's just that everything that's happened with the national team over the last few months has led me to the point where I honestly can't support the team anymore. I was quite happy when Chile scored, they deserved it.

[QUOTE=Soko]
    Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag

I really hate when people cannot pick up on things even if its on a forum.
    Are you having a pop at me here? If so explain to me what your quote means.

Kavanagh has to start against Germany. I kept an eye on him tonight and he was very good when he came on imo. I talk so much about Kav that people probably think I'm biased but I've no reason to be biased, I think he's much better than any other Irish player in his position. He was everywhere tonight and has all the mental attributes we need in the team with the likes of Keane and Cunningham gone.

Stuttgart88 was one of the few that never lost faith in S.Reid, fair play because he looks like he could boss out midfield for years to come.

If people thought McGeady was good than expect to see a lot more. He looked very nervous tonight and that's the least you'll get out of him.

And to the crowd in the north terraces - get a bloody voice.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 25/05/2006 at 8:54 AM.

At least the result will keep us grounded, we are a long long way from a solid unit at the moment and our lack of depth and quality at center back and center midfield is absolutely frightening.

The bright spot of the eveing was Stan's quote:

"There were a lot of positives. Young McGeady came on and did well, Stephen Kelly made his debut and Kevin Kilbane filled in at centre-half. "

I'm fully behind Stan BTW.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Doyle did well, Keane should have been taken off. Miller did well at the start but then faded away. Reid tried the spectacular pass too often. O'Shea was shocking- Kavanagh should have started.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    Kavanagh has to start against Germany. I kept an eye on him tonight and he was excellent imo. I talk so much about Kav that people probably think I'm biased but I've no reason to be biased, I think he's much better than any other Irish player in his position. He was everywhere tonight and has all the mental attributes we need in the team with the likes of Keane and Cunningham gone.

Stuttgart88 was one of the few that never lost faith in S.Reid, fair play because he looks like he could boss out midfield for years to come.

If people thought McGeady was good than expect to see a lot more. He looked very nervous tonight and that's the least you'll get out of him.

And to the crowd in the north terraces - get a bloody voice.

EB I know ye go on about kav but my god you must have been watchin a different Kav from the one I was watchin. Didnt think Mc Geady was too nervous...........himself and J Byrne were there only positives and alot more negatives but again what does it matter...

Page 8 of 18 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast