Thread: Lims/Drogs in the FAI!

Quote Originally Posted by Drog Lad
    Heard Lester is suspended for this game! Anyone confirm this?

What for?

Excessive use of the whip?

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    No, they're probably saving themselves for the final Celtic League game of the season at Thomond Park next week. Shur don't you know that all these 'die hard' Munster fanatics pack out Thomond for every Celtic League game that's played there....... Fair play to Munster, but it's the biggest bandwagon I've ever seen in my life. I seen people with Munster t-shirts and replica jerseys who have never even held a Rugby ball in their lives. Worse still, a lot of them were at the game as well

Something not so funny though - if Limerick FC found it hard to attract sponsorship up to now, can you imagine what the future holds with every Tom, Dick and Jane looking to jump on that bandwadgon.....
    Perhaps its time then for a leaf or two to be taken out of the Munster commercial book, rather than lambast it. Bandwagons are what generate money, so perhaps if Limerick FC could generate a little bandwagon of their own, then how bad?? It would be great if Limerick FC's bandwagon hit towns and cities all over Ireland in the coming years, wouldn't it??

And before you say it, Munsters average Heineken Cup attendance pre 1998 was 4,000 with a couple of hundred travelling to away games. Its not as if it was success brought these crowds along, cos Munster have only ever won 2 trophies. Its how its marketed, promoted and publicised. Football sadly, probably will never rival rugby in this city again, but if it could be hyped up to crowds of 3-4000 then who knows???

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Its not as if it was success brought these crowds along, cos Munster have only ever won 2 trophies. Its how its marketed, promoted and publicised. Football sadly, probably will never rival rugby in this city again
    What a cynical attiude. Marketing, promotion and publicity is not what the Munster team is about. It is honesty and commitment. Fans are following Munster because they can see in the team that they actually care about the fans and relate to them. There is nobody that plays for Munster that is after a pay cheque - which is not something that could be said of every Limerick FC player in the last few years.

Football as a spectator sport will never rival rugby again - and it hasn't done for many many years - even before the huge success of this decade of the Munster side. At the start of the AIL Limerick derbies were drawing thousands.

Also, of course there is a bandwagon element to the whole thing - that's what happens to successful teams. Elitest attitudes about who can and who can't be a fan are sad. And if you think this is the biggest bandwagin you've ever seen you must have slept through Italia 90.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

57 Posts
    In fairness rugby has always been king in the city. The AIL drew huge crowds in the 90's and people lamented the demise of the Munster Cup which drew huge crowds in the 70's and 80's (and before I assume).

However there is still huge potential in the city. As recently as 1989 we had 8,000 people crammed into Rathbane on temporary scaffolding for a game v Derry city and the majority were home fans.

Our first home game in 1979/80 v UCD was watched by a few hundred yet we had 4,000-5,000 for every game from November on because we were challenging for the title.

I can remember a time when we outnumered the Cork City fans at Flower Lodge and Turners Cross. Many of the thousands going now were going in the Hibs days though.

We need proper facilities for fans and a level of success. The potential is there and the crowds will come back. We do have a large catchment area. there is a strong interest in football.

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    What a cynical attiude. Marketing, promotion and publicity is not what the Munster team is about. It is honesty and commitment. Fans are following Munster because they can see in the team that they actually care about the fans and relate to them. There is nobody that plays for Munster that is after a pay cheque - which is not something that could be said of every Limerick FC player in the last few years.
    And you say my attitude is cynical... . I never mentioned any fault of any players in what I said, merely that a leaf could be taken out of how Munster have created a superbly successful bandwagon.

Football as a spectator sport will never rival rugby again - and it hasn't done for many many years - even before the huge success of this decade of the Munster side. At the start of the AIL Limerick derbies were drawing thousands.
    And this differs from my point how exactly???
    Also, of course there is a bandwagon element to the whole thing - that's what happens to successful teams. Elitest attitudes about who can and who can't be a fan are sad. And if you think this is the biggest bandwagin you've ever seen you must have slept through Italia 90.
    Munsters success has been 11 Heineken Cup seasons in waiting, and only one other trophy (Celtic League) in that time. People did not jump on the bandwagon because of the 'success'. They jumped on it because it was the thing to do...the place to be ad extremely enjoyable and adventurous. There is no elitist attitude. And I certainly slept after Italia 90...certainly not through it.....that would have been a waste of a great 2.5 weeks trekking round Italy...
    Last edited by joeSoap; 24/05/2006 at 8:06 AM.

Whats the latest news on the pitch lads - hows the draining coming along? Will it go ahead?

What a cynical attiude. Marketing, promotion and publicity is not what the Munster team is about. It is honesty and commitment. Fans are following Munster because they can see in the team that they actually care about the fans and relate to them.
    Not totally true. I could name you a hundred people who went to Cardiff who are not rugby people. Alot of them, my own father included, have only become fans in the last two seasons, and don't go to any games in Thomond Park - Heineken or Celtic. They go to the away games, simply because of the craic and atmosphere. They couldn't tell you the rules of the game if you asked them, and none of them were ever involved in rugby in any way, shape or form. A hundred of them, and I can tell you there're many more. This is the new type of supporter that travels to support Munster - primarily there for the craic and not very knowledgable on the rules of the game. As I said, fair play, but that's just not my scene. I'd be there for the football/team first, the craic second. Chocolate supporters if you like, which is why Thomond is half empty for Celtic league games.....

I don't agree with that either. I've seen worse rugby games than football. Some of the six nations games were atrocious this year. The two best sporting specticles I've seen in the last few years were last years Champions League final, and this years FA Cup final. Both football and both unbeatable for drama, guts and tension.

Elitest attitudes about who can and who can't be a fan are sad. And if you think this is the biggest bandwagin you've ever seen you must have slept through Italia 90.
    Nobody is saying who can or can't be a fan - it's just funny when you know yourself who's going to the games, and these are the 'great fans' that everyone is referring to in the media. Where are they for the Celtic League? Or is it just the GAA sunshine supporter syndrome all over again? BTW, I wouldn't know anything about Italia '90 bandwagons as I was a regular at Lansdowne Rd well before that, even though I was only 7 at the time

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    I don't agree with that either. I've seen worse rugby games than football. Some of the six nations games were atrocious this year. The two best sporting specticles I've seen in the last few years were last years Champions League final, and this years FA Cup final. Both football and both unbeatable for drama, guts and tension.)
    I think the point we were making by saying football will never rival rugby in Limerick again is based more on public interest than quality. The majority of the people supporting the rugby side are doing so as part of a social scene and that has gotten such a head start on football now it is going to be impossible to claw back. Plus the rugby is a million times more glamorous, Sky Sports, European visits, carnival atmospheres etc....its easy to see why.

I think the club should look at developing its own 'hardcore' bandwagon, and if that rolls on and develops into crowds constantly above the 2000 mark, then you will attract more of the 'wannabe' supporter. Schools, factories, and the likes should be bombarded with positive marketing ploys; more positive relations developed with the media on a local level to ensure the ability to manipulate them when needed. All average, run of the mill commercial activities.
    Last edited by joeSoap; 24/05/2006 at 8:07 AM.

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by iceman
    Whats the latest news on the pitch lads - hows the draining coming along? Will it go ahead?
    So anyway, the matter at hand, any news?

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by iceman

the pitch is still very heavy and there was heavy rain again last night IMO i think the match will be off AGAIN on friday. limerick really need to get covers for the field the pitch is so poor

Is there any sporting occasion in the world anywhere that attracts an attendance of 70,000+ where everyone in the ground has a full knowledge of teh game and has played it before? Has everyone at an All-Ireland hurling final played hurling or gone to National League matches (obviously not) or at Irish international football matches does everyone know all the players even?

Every high-profile final attracts fans that do not go to the other games and are there for atmosphere. In fairness to Munster they would have the highest attendance of any club in the Heineken Cup if they had a ground big enough to hold it. When we get to the FAI Cup final we will bring a few thousand to Lansdowne Road. Will be glad of them - chalk it down we will. And we will not be asking "where were you for the Monaghan game?". At least the less green-eyed among us won't. In short I can't wait for the day when Hogan Park Stadium is packed to the rafters with fair weather fans for a European game.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72
    the pitch is still very heavy and there was heavy rain again last night IMO i think the match will be off AGAIN on friday. limerick really need to get covers for the field the pitch is so poor
    I agree that the pitch will be very heavy but i dont agree that the game will be off. I think it will go ahead down pours or not.

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    I agree that the pitch will be very heavy but i dont agree that the game will be off. I think it will go ahead down pours or not.
    I know we are playing more football this season, but a sticky pitch has got to be in our favour.

25 Posts
    Is it still going ahead, heavy rain last night but its meant to be dry for the rest of the day.

Is the match on,lads?What's the weather like in Limerick?

Formerly skibbereen co.cork but now Oregon USA
    25 Posts
    well done yee have already gone further in the cup than us so congrads
    west cork district league
    west cork commandos

Quote Originally Posted by citybone
    well done yee have already gone further in the cup than us so congrads
    You do know limerick didnt win lastnight?

Formerly skibbereen co.cork but now Oregon USA
    25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dyl10
    You do know limerick didnt win lastnight?
    ya i know but yee are still in it till monday at least
    there is no cork team in the 3rd round after 3 cork teams in the intermediate cup semi's this year typical
    west cork district league
    west cork commandos

Is there any sporting occasion in the world anywhere that attracts an attendance of 70,000+ where everyone in the ground has a full knowledge of teh game and has played it before? Has everyone at an All-Ireland hurling final played hurling or gone to National League matches (obviously not) or at Irish international football matches does everyone know all the players even?

Every high-profile final attracts fans that do not go to the other games and are there for atmosphere.
    I wasn't referring to just the final, I'm talking about all of Munster's Heineken away games. But now that you mention it, All-Ireland Final day has little or no non-gaa people in attendance because all the tickets are distributed through GAA clubs (corporate tickets don't count). Certainly no people who have never played the game or have no knowledge of the game! For Ireland internationals, yes at meaningless friendly games you get a lot of riff-raff supporters. Some regulars make their tickets available mainly due to the messing that goes on with tactics/experimenting/endless substitutes in these games. Come competitive qualifiers you won't find any riff-raff. It's a ticket scheme based on loyalty and benefits people involved in the game. Unlike Munster's which seems to be a free-for-all. They should enforce a loyalty scheme through a season ticket for Celtic League games. Season ticket holders would get preference for European cup games, just like premiership football clubs in England. It'd be interesting to see how that would go down with all these 'die hard' Munster fans. Could ruin a lot of peoples social lives