Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Eircom League/Irish Football Magazine

112 Posts
    Or invite football writers from other countries to check an eL game for themselves and get them to write a piece about it. If its positive, it might encourage the barstoolers and persuade them that they're missing out...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

3,488 Posts
    Good idea, apart from the fact that barstoolers won't be reading the magazine obviously. Would be interesting though.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Good idea, apart from the fact that barstoolers won't be reading the magazine obviously. Would be interesting though.
    Thats one thing that i would do aswell, drop a few copies in a good barber shop, doctors waiting room or taxi base, basically anywhere where people will pick it up and have a flick through. You'd be suprised the people who'd actually be interested in it.

Edit: A&E on a Saturday night .... how many people would read it from cover to cover? Its not like there aren't people there bored to tears and would love to read it

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I think you need humour & lots of it. Don't take any of the stuff seriously as lets face it eL fans must have a great sense of humour.
    Except when you're mocking their club.

Compare the eL with other countries. The sort of "..we not this badly off..." type feature...?
    Pineapple Stu does a similar feature for Stig. I'm sure he'd be happy to oblige.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

3,488 Posts
    Do I? Do you mean "Around the World"? A bit different, really.

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Do I? Do you mean "Around the World"? A bit different, really.
    Sure, if you want to be blatent, it's different. On the other hand, the ineptitude of some league managements makes the eL look good at times, which amounts to the same thing.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

1: do "celebrity fan" features as well, if you can find any
    2: maybe a few pages on a european round-up
    3: round the wacky world of football feature, doing stories on mad goings on across the globe etc

good luck
    sounds like a good magazine

How much are the magazines going to cost?

Couple of other suggestions:

Get people like Rico/Noel King/Pat Dolan/Patsy McGowan to have columns

Have a 'quotes of the month' thingy - gaffes from players/bosses/Foot.ie users ()

Start a campaign to find the LOI's all time cult hero - like what they do in Football Focus, but putting their ability/character in words instead.

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1
    some are better at the Queens English than others
    The irony of a badly punctuated retort on this.......

How many queens are there....?

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    The irony of a badly punctuated retort on this.

Come on now steve ... you're about three days late like !!

The maggots and vulchers have been and gone, there is no horse to flog !!

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    10% of the population on average so they say

Good luck with the magazine and get people who check their facts before they write articles...right pineapple stu?

Great idea and best of luck. No real suggestions as most have been covered already. One point though. I work within the defence forces for our magazine and it is trying to change style at the moment from "intellectual historical articles" to a more "easy read style". Readers will read little articles (page or 2) with good content rather than 4 pages of drivel containing padding and very little substance. Thats were good strong editorial direction will come in.

The 4-4-2 style is probably good way to go.

Again ...... best of luck
    Growing old is mandatory; growing up is optional

Quote Originally Posted by BillyG
    I work within the defence forces for our magazine and it is trying to change style at the moment from "intellectual historical articles" to a more "easy read style". Readers will read little articles (page or 2) with good content rather than 4 pages of drivel containing padding and very little substance. Thats were good strong editorial direction will come in.
    I disagree to a point ... its well noted alright that even some of the broadsheets have made some sweeping changes on this issue, in effort to get peope to read the full article, but the thing is .... its back to quality, if the article is captivating and good factual information that the reader didn't already know is being relayed to them then it could be 6 pages long. Equally if the first paragraph is cráp on a small article, it'll get left behind too.

Small topics just couldn't be covered properly in a small article .... for example the FAI and League merger .... i'd be scared if it were only covered in two pages. One thing that wont help, is not using paragraphs and pictures to break it up for the reader, by that i mean no one is going to read a wall of text no matter what its about.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monzo
    Patsy McGowan to have columns
    Anybody but him. Do you ever read the crap he writes in the People?

Maybe Eamonn Sweeney to write a column but he seems content writing about GAA and Rugby these days for the Sunday Independent

42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face
    "Thats one thing that i would do aswell, drop a few copies in a good barber shop, doctors waiting room or taxi base, basically anywhere where people will pick it up and have a flick through".
    excellent idea there.
    also i'd try to find out some so called "famous" or well known people who follow the EL and interview them about their club etc
    and fair play lads.can't wait already. i pressume i'll be able to pick a copy of it up in Thailand this summer ????? go global
    Last edited by A face; 06/05/2006 at 1:48 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by desaintsno.12
    also i'd try to find out some so called "famous" or well known people who follow the EL and interview them about their club etc

Sligo Rovers relatively famous fans that have written on us in the past include
    Eamonn Sweeney
    Adrian Eames
    Tommy Gorman
    Oliver P. Sweeney - Hot Press Magazine

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Small topics just couldn't be covered properly in a small article .... for example the FAI and League merger .... i'd be scared if it were only covered in two pages. One thing that wont help, is not using paragraphs and pictures to break it up for the reader, by that i mean no one is going to read a wall of text no matter what its about.
    Agree with you but something the new mag could look at is "Feature Article" which would be able to justice to the more serious topics. The FAI/League merger wouldnt fall into the category of "small topic".
    Growing old is mandatory; growing up is optional

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Anybody but him. Do you ever read the crap he writes in the People?
    That was a bit of a joke suggestion tbh. Haven't seen his People articles but his Democrat ones are often class.

Irish football badly needs a decent mag, so best of luck with it.

Some observations:

IMHO, the title needs a rethink. 'Ground football' means nothing to a lot of people. I only found out by chance today, in a rather ignorant article by Tom Humphries in The Irish Times, that it is a derisory term used by lovers of bigot ball. Maybe you have a different, more informed take on that.

Think hard about getting the balance right in the content mix. Don't make it a fanzine, or give it such an insider take that it alienates the curious general reader. Don't indulge your writers, no matter how much they love the league or their club, unless you actually want a collection of fan rants. And easy on the history and nostalgia (unless you want to make a case for 100% government funding to rescue the Home of Irish Football).

Keep a tight editorial rein so that you deliver good quality for the reader. Tell amateurs and show-boaters to write for foot.ie (no offence) but be open to good new talent.

Make it newsy. I know that's hard for a monthly, but there's an awful lot you can cover outside of last weekend's results that can add to newspaper and broadcast coverage. You can especially cover club development, league development, and the place of Irish football internationally. You're never going to beat 4-4-2, so avoid the EPL except to slag it off (a regular column exposing Sky-hype and how plain bad English football can be might be good). Run stories that will get picked up by the mainstream press. Slag off some of the great and the good of Irish sport and see if you don't get a reaction. Again, being awkward and pugnacious will put some distance between you and a cosy fan mag.

Vary article length. By all means have one or two long reads, but keep most short, 800 to 1,200 words. Again, discipline is key.

Get the design right. You can have the best content in the world, but if your layouts, type and images are a mess then only the most dedicated, such as foot.ie members, will read it. Spend lots of time, attention, and money on the all-important cover. Put Kevin Hunt on the front. Jason Byrne can posture as many times as he likes in front of the Jodi Stand, but he's never going to be cover material. Do good action centrefolds (with plenty of black and red).

On the business side, do everything you can to get it into Easons -- or distribution will kill you -- and hustle hard for proper ads.

Think about a spin-off website.
    Last edited by BohDiddley; 06/05/2006 at 3:50 PM.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast