Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Eircom League/Irish Football Magazine

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I'd advise against going down the road of club focus. Would give me the impression of a periodical rather than a magazine. LAso doing a story on ROvers being relegated was up to date ilast november. You might get away with a thing on "life in the first division" but you should talk about how other big clubs are doing there (Dundalk)

Basically don't have a set format for each month. Unless its a news round up thing a the start of mag like pretty much every magazione in the world. If you're doing player features do proper interviews, don't do "favourite goal/music/tv" rubbish. Give Paul Osam a monthly comment. He's a football and comedic genius.

I presume you've seen the previous Irish football mags? Irish Soccer magazine was good but a little uptight. Kickin was rubbihs ans aimed at shoot readers. 11-a-side was from a GAA background and went down the formatted route witha club focus and player in profile lark. It got real boring, real quick. Remember there's only 22 clubs out there so spread them round.
    Seen them all and all had their good and bad points.

It will be a monthly magazine by the way!!

All good points but the idea of doing a club from each division every month means that we can inform those who don't know anything about the league. It isn't set in stone either if something more important/interesting is going on then that's the news! The point is this there is little information available on any club and most clubs have storie o interest surrounding them the club review thing will only be a tiny aside to a bigger article.

There will be both regular sections and special features. And as we're coming out in during the World Cup we'll have to take advantage of that to market to the non-eircom league fans and suck them in.
    And then there souls will be mine forever ha ha ha ha!!..... Sorry! I meant we might get them to subscribe or even just take an interest in the league!
    How can we have a successful League if no-one knows we exist

Can you have a bit about "Foxy Fans"?
    Hot chicks in their teams kit showing as much flesh as possible?
    If you have a Drogheda fan on though, make sure she wears shoes and covers up and covers herself up from head to toes. Cheers!

Seriously though, interviews with players, officials, eircom League staff etc. would be reason enough for me to buy your publication.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    If you have a Drogheda fan on though, make sure she wears shoes and covers up and covers herself up from head to toes. Cheers!
    Yeah stuff like this !!

, don't do "favourite goal/music/tv" rubbish.
    I disagree there - for e.g "The Boy's a bit Special" interviews in four four two have stuff like that in them and they are very good IMO - they are a bit different to the normal and sometimes boring interviews you see in most footy magazines

http://www.fourfourtwo.premiumtv.co....,11442,00.html

How much will it cost?
    Do ye have a website yet?

Good luck with it - I'll subscribe to it anyway!

I'd be less than confident about the viability of an EL magazine in these days of the internet being king, but I know I'll buy it anyway! You'll have to try to flog it at grounds and the 4-4-2 angle is the way to go.

Are you going to cover the IL as well?
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Quote Originally Posted by JW.
    I'd be less than confident about the viability of an EL magazine in these days of the internet being king...
    There's nothing like have an auld mag or a paper when you're on a plane or a train or just sitting on the bog.

I'm not a big fan of reading in the jacks Peadar but yes: the tangibility of magazines/newspapers/books give them an intellectual gravitas that the internet will never have. But I'd be confident that football magazine sales have suffered because of the internet.

Quote Originally Posted by JW.
    I'm not a big fan of reading in the jacks Peadar but yes: the tangibility of magazines/newspapers/books give them an intellectual gravitas that the internet will never have. But I'd be confident that football magazine sales have suffered because of the internet.
    But if you cover stuff that is not on the internet ..... i.e. well researched articles that inform readers of stuff they dont know about or cant get on the net.

Do you have an email address for people to get in touch.

Would certainly be willing to contribute and know of another potential contributor also.
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

I've sent you a PM, GF.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Like this? I thought people looking for the high browed approach?

I think Peadar is Irelands David Sullivan

I agree that monthly profiles not good as becomes like review of the month plus can run out of clubs very quickly.

- Few regular columns for league commentary as this is rarely seen in the irish eL media.
    - This boy a bit special interview suggestion good. People will read a 1 page profile of some 1st division squad player but thats the limit.
    - Where are they now featuring some of the more colourful characters from the recent last, foreign players & such.
    - Behind the scenes, tea lady at Oriel park, eL office in Merion Square or similar.
    - Betting column
    - Best food, pint, toilet (Tribune used to rate them a few years ago) etc...
    - Nutter fan of the month

Best of lucky & i'm sure most fans will buy a couple of copies before judging. However if its not up to scratch fans will stop paying for it fairly quickly.

F**king hell Pete you been bugging our meetings!
    Would you believe that every single one of those ideas has been posited. Not all will make the first issue though all are definite runners and contacts have been made already.

I am pleased to say I am surprised and delighted at the level of support for the project. I think that larely we are on the same wavelength as most of the people willing to offer an opinion.

A basic website with a portal for submission of RED CARD entries, letters and articles will be announced tomorrow.
    How can we have a successful League if no-one knows we exist

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    - Best food
    Gotta be the Mon Dogs

- Nutter fan of the month
    Surely Tom would win this every month

112 Posts
    Cracking idea, long overdue. It'd be great for the league and it'll start getting people interested! How will you advertise it though? TV ads and radio ads might be a bit of a budget wrecker, word of mouth is surely the best way as well as regional newspapers at first and if it takes off....
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

If Tom's in the mag I'm boycotting it...

I think he should be given his own column
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

Quote Originally Posted by harpskid
    I think he should be given his own column
    Like that David Blaine fella had.

I would say you could easily get free publicity through sports media such as Off the Ball on Dublins Newstalk 106, the Hub on Setanta Sports & RTE1 Radio SportNight.

I think you need humour & lots of it. Don't take any of the stuff seriously as lets face it eL fans must have a great sense of humour.

Football Tourism - theres a bunch of Bologna fans from Italy (strangely enough) that came over for Cork City game last year & now coming back in a few weeks & bring more people. I am sure must be other stories like that around...

Compare the eL with other countries. The sort of "..we not this badly off..." type feature...?
    Last edited by A face; 04/05/2006 at 12:38 PM.

Compare the eL with other countries. The sort of "..we not this badly off..." type feature...?
    But that is exactly it .... we have had negativity rammed down our throats for years trying to convince us out league is poor, and through that sanctions were put on our resources ... a mag like this would be a perfect platform to tell everyone what is really going on.

Great idea !!

Just wondering, if you have to go knocking on doors to get adverts etc. would you want to have an idea of how many you will sell. What i am saying/suggesting is that i will take a subscription for a year anyway (if its not good after than then it'll change obviously) but do you want make a list of people who will take one out? I just thinking about you getting adverts as thats what will keep it afloat and if they knew there were X amount of people already interested then it might make your job easier.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast