Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: England World Cup discussion

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir
    There was talk of Irn-Bru changing their product name during the World Cup to "Nae Danger"
    That's actually a brilliant marketing idea if it's true, it would be awesome if that ever happened

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    Look lads you know the rules. ONE thread for English football discussion. Please don't make ny job any harder when it's going to be a lot busier round here.
    It could be a very big thread by the end of the competition, it already has
    170 posts and a ball has not even been kicked yet!!
    Once threads go beyond a certain length they just become unmanageable
    IMO.
    I have seen threads on other forums which have over 5000 posts (they had
    to be split into "thread part 1" "thread part 2" etc..
    In the end it becomes a total mess, trying to follow what really are seperate threads
    becomes impossible!! You end of with hundreds of seperate topics being discussed
    at the same time, a complete nightmare to follow!!

Another poor performance by England with Gerrard and Lampard in the centre of a 4-4-2. Will Sven ever learn?

they won the match on a freekick which Stuttgart88 has talked about so much.

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    ...who of ye exiles will be supporting England?
    No chance comrade, don't see why we should either, I've heard alot about this 'well we support you when you play.' Really do they? Well...
    a) I don't care
    b) didn't notice too much support when they were acting the goat around Dublin and smashing up Lansdowne Road
    c) the support that they give is at best patronising; aren't little Ireland doing well - which leads to point a.

And I really do hate the nasty arrogant attitude that they have towards the Scots, Welsh and Irish that you have to support us, Why? no one thinks twice that the Dutch or Austrians don't like the Germans or that that the Baltic coutries don't like Russia, so why exactly why do other countries have to like Ingerland, I can't think of much that they have done to deserve our support.

So its gotta be the Ivory Coast far me.
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    England just about dserved victory today based on their first half performance. I've always said that Ericcson is England's main liability and that was proved again in this game. Joe Cole was England's best player and he was taken off for Owen Hargreaves of all players. Negative tactics will not win the World Cup for England.

71 Posts
    A very underwhelming performance from England today. As the game drew on they sat back more and more and failed to engage Paraguay. Paraguay were very blunt up front though. On that form England won't be winning anything. You'd barely have noticed Owen was playing.

As an aside, they had some English fan in a bar on Slovenian TV. They got him to say something small in Slovenian and then he just comes out with "Argentina...YOU'RE GONNA WIN NUFFIN! STEVE, YOU'RE A C(UNT!", leaving a very baffled reporter.

I don't think it was England that changed in the 2nd half, it was Paraguay. Their plan in the first half seemed to be long balls up to the strikers and it wasn't working. In the 2nd half they got the ball down and played a bit and most teams that do that against England will succeed. With Lampard in central midfield they might aswell be up against 10 men when they have the ball as Lampard will let you run by him.

71 Posts
    I missed the first twenty minutes but you're right about that. They played a lot of fruitless long balls which made no sense. That's food and drink for Ferdinand and Terry and their strikers are not tall. But I think England stood off them too which is a typical trait of Eriksson's England. England also seemed to be bereft of any real guile or ingenuity.

214 Posts
    If ING ER LAND win the world cup I will be truly amazed. They were played off the park in the 2nd half. Like Germany it seems England seems suspect at the back. Top strikers will have a field day against both.

My God Lineker/Hansen/Shearer and Wright were as annoying as usual on the BBC. All very smug at half time but soon changed their tune haha

52 Posts
    TBH I only saw the first hour of the game before I had to head out to coach my kid's team so here are my thoughts.

2 problems with England.

1: Lampard=Gerrard. They essentially fulfill the same role on the field. So many times, I saw a big gap between the defense and the midfield when the defense had the ball. Thus the defense launched the ball up to Crouch all the time. The need someone to go back and receive the ball and begin the build up in play forward. Noone was doing that. Roy Keane used to do that for United and Ireland.

2. Lack of Strikers. So if Owen goes down who to bring on? Bringing Walcott is a luxury you can afford to so if you have 3 other healthy forwards. But they only have Owen and Crouch for now until Rooney gets fit.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982
    If ING ER LAND win the world cup I will be truly amazed. They were played off the park in the 2nd half. Like Germany it seems England seems suspect at the back.
    I thought they looked fine at the back and didn't give Paraguay any clear cut chances. It was how easily that Paraguay were allowed so far up the pitch that's the problem.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    I thought they looked fine at the back and didn't give Paraguay any clear cut chances. It was how easily that Paraguay were allowed so far up the pitch that's the problem.
    yeah, if they give a more accomplished attacking side that much ball on the edge of their own third, they will get done goodo before too long, and what about Mr Stuttgart88's set piece prediction then??

stuttgart......STUTTGART!! are you there?? whats gonna happen next then?? i want to hurt ladbrookes badly you see,

England played well in the first half- Crouch was winning plenty of balls in the air and was given plenty of support from Lampard and Cole, also Owen was making good runs. However, in the second half Owen was taken off and the midfield didn't press forward as much. They still insisted on playing the ball to Crouch so that when he won the headers there was nobody there to take possession of the ball, so Paraguay got the ball and moved forward with it. This proves that England have no plan B and this could cost them dearly.

1,928 Posts
    I didn't watch the game, but it sounds like a familiar story for a SGE England team, fail to add a second, fall back, replace a striker with a midfielder, conceeding possesion and space and this is against an injury riddled Paraguay. Would changing the midfield radically alter that chronic mindset?

Looks like Rooney will feature against T&T. Not really surprised since England lacked a cutting edge against Paraguay.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...nd/5069582.stm

Spain could leave out Morientes.
    France could leave out Guily.

They could afford to as they have other fit on form strikers.

England (the self confessed best league in the world) bring two un-fit strikers, a beanpole and a 17 year old who hasnt played for Arsenal reserves yet (Stokesy has played first team and is not in Irelands squad).

England claim to have the best defence, do me a favour, not fit to lace Ayala's cocktails. Terry is exposed without Makelele in front and Carvalho or Gallas beside him. Ashley should be better and I wont mention the other two stockings Rio and Neville.

England claim to have the best midfield. Ha. Riquelme can't run and he's better than the lot put together. If you can't pass a ball, forget about it.

At the moment Ivory Coast and Mexico would beat England.

Rooneys return would solve one problem but not all three. Quarter Finals at best.

I thought England were appauling , and im not just having a dig here . Against a poor team they should have completely controlled the game and put at least 3 past them . England are missing a dictator in midfield . A player that can run the show , control the game and dictate to those around him and keep the ball. Playing deep in your own half , just one nil up against any opposition is asking for trouble so you have to question the manager there . I was gob smacked when he took off Owen and saw who he replaced him with . Then playing hopeful balls up to Rodney Trotter in the hope he knocks it down to somebody . Yeah , like who ?? Shearer was absolutely spot on when he commented , why not bring Walcott on , jesus at least give the lad a go , after all , having him sitting on the bench while struggling to get players into the box is laughable . The guy has pace .To say he's too young is crap , Sven is a gutless , hasnt got the balls to stick his neck out and make a brave decision .
    Watching England yesterday was like watching grass grow , no flair about their game , no skill , no imagination or ideas , cant keep the ball , slow , overated and usless. At half time we had to endure the BBC England love - in , with messers Shearer, Wright and Hansen . Wright talks absolute b******s most of the time and yesterday he excelled himself by saying England were comfortable , playing well , had full control of the game and expected to win the game comfortably .

If i were an England fan id worry . Id say the top sides in the competition were saying , ''Jesus i hope we draw that lot in the next round'' .

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke
    yeah, if they give a more accomplished attacking side that much ball on the edge of their own third, they will get done goodo before too long, and what about Mr Stuttgart88's set piece prediction then??

stuttgart......STUTTGART!! are you there?? whats gonna happen next then?? i want to hurt ladbrookes badly you see,
    What's going to happen next?

Well, England win with an og, and so far the only two upsets of the tournament both benefit England. They play crap and yet everything falls into place for them. But I'm paranoid.

I was genuinely anxious that England could win the tournament but that was until seeing the second half & also seeing the other games. Even Angola had better passers of the ball & a better tempo. Heat or no heat, their ball retention is still shocking. I don't care how well regarded their midfield is as individuals, they have no cohesion whatsoever.

Ashley Cole looked way off form, Robinson nervous and did you notice how often they fluffed their clearances near the end? Michael Owen (knob) is said to be livid at being subbed. Who does he think he is?

Joe Cole is lauded in many quarters (rightly) but the reality is that every other decent country has somebody at least as good.

They still look very limited: only threat is from set pieces, shots from distance or long balls. In the latter stages I'd expect the better defences to cope better with these threats. Also, like in 2002 when Denmark parctically beat themselves before they met Brazil, I'm not sure how well prepared England will be if they face a sudden increase in the standard of opponent.

I still think they can win it but now feel far more comfortable that they won't. The game "abroad" is just far more accomplished than in these parts.

But they will always have the ability to get goals from set pieces & from midfield and are also difficult to score against. With a bit of luck on their side this combination can go a long way. Being the first team in the last 16 will be a big psycholical boost for them.

England...another shocking performance

Who's to blame for yet another terrible performance by a team that fluffed its lines again? Ericsson? The players? Or media hype and pressure?

all of the above....

Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast