Thread: Are Cork Doing a Shels?

Are Cork Doing a Shels?

I watched most of Friday night's game on Setanta and was very surprised to see Cork getting beat by St Pats. Did make me wonder though. When we beat Shels in the finakl of the Setanta last year they seemed to fall apart and it took them a very long time to recover. Could the defeat by Drogheda have the same effect on Cork?

and when are they gonna start work on the shed (mfa)?

Quote Originally Posted by David
    I watched most of Friday night's game on Setanta and was very surprised to see Cork getting beat by St Pats. Did make me wonder though. When we beat Shels in the finakl of the Setanta last year they seemed to fall apart and it took them a very long time to recover. Could the defeat by Drogheda have the same effect on Cork?
    I very much doubt it,id say its only a momentary blip in the season but i still dont think they are going to win it again this year!

For the record,i certainly dont expect Shels too either!

Interesting point David... personally I think they did suffer from the Drogheda game, which was no surprise: it was their second final defeat to Drogheda and the superiority they enjoyed in games against the Drogs between those two finals suddenly amounted to nought. Furthermore, Cork were easily the better team in the final.
    All the same, I think it's a blip and no more than proof of the fact that Cork lack the cover the likes of Shels and Drogheda have.

Are Cork Doing a Shels?

Nope, they must do two-in-a-row first then fail miserbly to get the third
    Who Cares?!

Johnny, if they continue to lack depth in their squad, Friday night will be far from a blip for Cork.

As for David's original question, I think the result was a combination of Cork having gone backwards since last year and us having made a big jump forwards.
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Johnny, if they continue to lack depth in their squad, Friday night will be far from a blip for Cork.

As for David's original question, I think the result was a combination of Cork having gone backwards since last year and us having made a big jump forwards.
    I was impressed by St Pats. First I have seen them and they played some good football and could well have scored more.

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC
    I very much doubt it,id say its only a momentary blip in the season but i still dont think they are going to win it again this year!

For the record,i certainly dont expect Shels too either!
    Who do you think then? I have seen Derry, Shels and Drogheda live and on TV as well as Cork on tv afew times and I think it is very tough to call. Some of Derry's build up play is brilliant but they do seem to lack the killer touch in front of goal, although that could well come in time as there can be no doubting the quality of their forwards. Shels have excellent players all over the pitch and if Crowe and Byrne can combine and start banging in the goals they could well be there or thereabouts. Drogheda against us in the first half were excellent. Fitzpatrick will run all day and I think Gavin at the back is superb. Their defence looks very good indeed but, like Derry, they seem to have a problem with goals. With their defence though, as has been shown quite a bit this season, one goal will usually be enough to get them maximum points. They could be hard to stop. Cork, as I have said, need to recover from the Setanta. If they can do thaty they are a class act. O'Callaghan and Fenn must be two of the best midfielders around. I was surprised to see Behan (at least I think that is his name) on the bench the other night as I think he is a cracking player. The keeper usually impresses me but I thought he was poor against St Pats. It all adds up to a very interesting season down there.

Lads I think if any team were missing Georgie and Flynny they would find it hard,and we certainly dont have the strength in depth at the moment to cope all that well without them.

In saying that though the under 21's on the bench are very talented players and given time I think they will show their quality,maybe not this year but in the long run things are looking good.The only problem is maybe the chairman is looking a bit too long-term for most people
    "They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson

Loosening the purse strings is not the main issue for Cork City .
    They lost two quality players and did not replace them even with free transfers, the squad is two less and the loss is being felt at the moment.

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Maybe thats why Rico is cryin about the B internationals. Cork are under savage pressure this season and are likely to make a mess of the champions league qualifiers, the Eircom League and absolutely every other competition they are invovled in.

Quote Originally Posted by daveh
    The only problem is maybe the chairman is looking a bit too long-term for most people
    Maybe he has been looking at chairmen that went before him and where they are now. There is nothing wrong with the chairmans vision, hes doing a great job. Lets face it, every single club in the country could, for example not pay the tax man and spend all over the place and it will work for a few years but long term that is not good sense.

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    Maybe thats why Rico is cryin about the B internationals. Cork are under savage pressure this season and are likely to make a mess of the champions league qualifiers, the Eircom League and absolutely every other competition they are invovled in.
    City players said it themselves last night .... B Internationals, whats games are involved ?? None, as of yet ..... How many games are there that players would really want to play in ?? None .... very few countries have B teams and they could be far bigger populations than Ireland, where we have circa four million ? It doesn't add up. And it looks even worse when U21 team would have only 3 domestic players on it, given that coutries like Norway have a policy that you can get onto U21 unless you are based domestically.

To be fair, they were missing Behan, O'Flynn, O'Callaghan. They'd start on pretty much any EL team. The team they had out wasn't too bad, but the likes of Softic needs time. Plenty of ability.
    I fancied Pat's to win the game Doc - I saw you against Bohs and was impressed with the organisation. Maguire is probably the most under-rated player in the league.

Early days yet no reason to panic. I watched the Pats game recorded after i knew the result & thought again we dominated the game without playing well. Softic can be a new star just a pity hes another central midfielder.

The squad isn't the biggest & already played 13 games in 2 months.

IF O'Flynn stayed fit for the full season he would score 20 goals & we would win the league. Big IF alright as little sign he'll be fit.

League looks like will be 4 horse race so that will probably help us as we do better in the big games. Clearly we not win the league if don't add 1-2 quality players in transfer window.

Record so far against the top 4:
    City 2 Drogs 0
    Drogs 0 City 2
    City 2 Shels 0
    Drogs 1 City 0

The next months will tell a lot.
    Shels v Drogs
    City v Shels
    Derry V City
    Derry v Shels

Strictly speaking the Setanta final was a 0-0 draw, meaning that Drogheda haven't beaten or scored against Cork in four competitive games. They've yet to play Shels or Derry in the league. Plenty to prove in my book. Cork do not.

Quote Originally Posted by JW.
    Strictly speaking the Setanta final was a 0-0 draw, meaning that Drogheda haven't beaten or scored against Cork in four competitive games. They've yet to play Shels or Derry in the league.
    Derry v Drogs was postponded as was Shels v Derry in the first series of games.

I think City have struggled to score goals which means defenders trying to create from the back. defence has been dodgy but conceded feck all goals.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Early days yet no reason to panic. I watched the Pats game recorded after i knew the result & thought again we dominated the game without playing well. Softic can be a new star just a pity hes another central midfielder.

The squad isn't the biggest & already played 13 games in 2 months.

IF O'Flynn stayed fit for the full season he would score 20 goals & we would win the league. Big IF alright as little sign he'll be fit.

League looks like will be 4 horse race so that will probably help us as we do better in the big games. Clearly we not win the league if don't add 1-2 quality players in transfer window.

Record so far against the top 4:
    City 2 Drogs 0
    Drogs 0 City 2
    City 2 Shels 0
    Drogs 1 City 0

The next months will tell a lot.
    Shels v Drogs
    City v Shels
    Derry V City
    Derry v Shels

You are talking about your record against drogs in the setanta.You left out the draw in the leauge.I reckon people are underestimating st pats.They are gonna surprise people this season..

I feel the title is there for us this year. That is not to say we will be champions come November but we have a great oppurtunity.

David pointed out the drought our forwards are going through but we have a midfield capable of scoring bucket-loads. Our forwards aren't playing bad rather they are going through a spell of terrible bad luck e.g Linfield - hit the bar, Glens - hit the post, missed peno. Our last minute goal against Shels in the Setanta shows how our play often leads to midfielders getting the goals.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ndrog
    I reckon people are underestimating st pats.They are gonna surprise people this season..
    Interesting to see how little credit Pats are getting here, after a fully deserved win the other night(Jésus, I'm starting to sound like Paul Doolin ) It may have escaped Petes notice, but we are in fact in the top four at the moment. Not that I'm saying we'll neccessarily stay there, we've a bit to go yet to do that I feel. It's not totally out of the question though. One thing is for sure, we've improved vastly on last year. The difference is mainly down to three players I feel, Keegan and Molloy up front, who given us someone to hold the ball up and that extra bit of sharpness around the box. Mulcahy in midfield has given us the strength we've lacked in midfield for the last couple of seasons. As for Pete saying Cork dominated the game on Friday, not from where I was sitting. Pats could have had a couple more goals, only a super save from Devine denied Michael Foley. Cork on the other hand had one penalty claim(Which we got away with, I'll grant ye ) and a shot which scraped by the post late on. Oh, BTW, let me just congratulate Dan Murray on his first goal for Pats. What a screamer