good lad! worth a bet!
Live updates here
Last edited by 1 9 2 8; 02/05/2006 at 7:03 PM.
08:54 PM 1-0 Goal for Cork City. Dan Murray header from a corner by Neale Fenn.
sounds awfully familiar![]()
no burnsy on the pitch this time either. we came back after an early set back v shels so it ain't overOriginally Posted by gustavo
"Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."
09:29 PM 2-0 Goal for City. Neale Fenn curls the ball with the outside of his boot into the net. Class goal from the edge of the box
back down to earth we go
"Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."
sounds like we had a few chances but cork defo deserved 3 points. i'd say burnsy was sorely missed. can't expect much on a tuesday night away to the champions but we'll bounce back on saturday. hopefully it wasn't backs to the wall stuff&we actually played some football cos we're still building every week and results ain't the end of the world at this stage
Picking up points away is proving its self to be very difficult, cant see us winning to many, Bray or Waterford maybe. The managers mentality seems to be pick up points at home and one away and he is not alone in this. The league is way too defensive minded, teams set out their stalls against the likes of Cork,Shels and Derry and this even at the Showgrounds on Saturday when it looked like Rovers settled for the point in the second half. True we had not the quality Shels had on the bench, but after playing so well in the first half there was no momentum in the second period. It looked like we were the away side then trying to catch them on the break.
They played us off the park for most of the first half, although if McT had got a better first touch on one ball instead of getting it trapped under his foot, he would have had a clear chance to score.
We were a lot better in the second half. Partly maybe because Cork were happy with what they had, but Mansaram made a big difference - 2 wonderful crosses in the late stages. I think he and Judge have to be our starting pair up front, Mc is really struggling with the lack of time you get on the ball at this level.
It was unfortunate that we opened the game largely conceding midfield and hanging back, playing as if we were afraid of Cork. Fair enough, they're one of the best sides in the country, but you can't let them come at you.
Another matter for concern was letting in a very soft opener from a set-piece.
We're still noticeably a bit off the pace of the top sides, but we look okay for a mid-table finish. The next couple are games we really need to get maximum points from.
Also, nice of Sean and the lads to come right across the pitch at the end to thank the fans - handshakes and all.
Pictures from Turner's Cross are at:
http://www.flickr.com/groups/sligorovers/pool/
"Even if the wind stops to blow
Even if the sea ceases to flow
Even if the sun ceases to rise
The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."
After Sean saying that we worked on set peices last week I find it hard to believe that we conceeded 2 or our last 3 from set pieces.
Are we only working on scoring from them or do we practice defending aswell?
Is the black fella Mansaram or Turner?
He really brought ye to life when he came on.
Don't know where he was meant to be playing.
He was all over the fecking place.
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
City always do that, even when we're losing.Originally Posted by Fivesilver
He was handy enough alright, definitely added something to your game.
Not quite as bad as you are making out, Sligp moved it around well when they had it although you'd probably find your whole game improve if passing was two seconds earlier, just getting caught a bit when it should be moved on.It was unfortunate that we opened the game largely conceding midfield and hanging back, playing as if we were afraid of Cork. Fair enough, they're one of the best sides in the country, but you can't let them come at you.
Not doing bad at all, and to be fair lads, at least Sligo are a good side to watch which is half the battle.We're still noticeably a bit off the pace of the top sides, but we look okay for a mid-table finish. The next couple are games we really need to get maximum points from.
Fair play for fans travelling down aswell. On a rainy Tuesday to fly the flag for the club .... good stuff !!Also, nice of Sean and the lads to come right across the pitch at the end to thank the fans - handshakes and all.![]()
Heard gary played well last nite and didn't deserve to be taken off. Any truth in that
Was their many Rovers supporters at the game?
About 7 or soOriginally Posted by 1 9 2 8
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
I thought there was two dozen or so.
Weren't very noisey though.
Would ye have a good crowd down for the next game at the Cross presuming its a Friday night.
I'm trying to count them in my head - comes to about 15 (I have problems counting much higher than that).
"Even if the wind stops to blow
Even if the sea ceases to flow
Even if the sun ceases to rise
The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."
Originally Posted by Rogue Trader
A refreshing change from the "we'll outsing them all night" approach.
Maybe you'll be able to take in the next match.
They always do that at away games!Originally Posted by Fivesilver