Thread: Cavan to Monaghan

30 Posts

Cavan to Monaghan

Long shot I know but by any chance would there be anyone travelling from
    Cavan to Monaghan on Friday for the match?

Not sure if we'll have enough to run a bus, but I can get a lift from Athlone to
    Cavan (I've to spend the weekend in Cavan anyway) but need transport from
    there to the game and back.

Aw god help ya! Could u not do a Ray and hop on the team bus in Cavan and ditto back?

alternatively there is a bus from Cavan to Monaghan and u could sleep in the club house (has been done b4!) and get bus back to Cavan next day!

there are some links to the buses

http://www.buseireann.ie/site/your_j...ocal/162cd.pdf

http://www.buseireann.ie/site/your_j...ocal/162dc.pdf

http://www.buseireann.ie/site/your_j.../local/175.pdf
    Last edited by dahamsta; 26/04/2006 at 11:11 AM.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme
    Aw god help ya! Could u not do a Ray and hop on the team bus in Cavan and ditto back?
    Nah, I dont think that option is available for us mere mortals

alternatively there is a bus from Cavan to Monaghan and u could sleep in the club house (has been done b4!) and get bus back to Cavan next day!
    Afraid not, I have to be in Cavan Friday night.

Cheers for the links though.

You never know, someone might be driving up from Town

Surely if you can get there by bus there'll be some Athlone people heading back after the match?
    Surley they'd let you on the team bus back as far as Cavan. Clubs have to value their loyal fans.

Or have an "accident". With A&E closed in Monaghan hospital the ambulance would have to bring you to Cavan !!
    Last edited by dahamsta; 26/04/2006 at 11:10 AM.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc
    Surely if you can get there by bus there'll be some Athlone people heading back after the match?
    Surley they'd let you on the team bus back as far as Cavan. Clubs have to value their loyal fans.
    Not too sure what the story is there, we've had so many managers over the
    past 2 seasons and each have had their own rules.
    Firstly people were allowed travel, then nobody was allowed travel, then the committee were
    allowed travel, then nobody again, then the comittee only but had to pay €5 or something to travel.

All a bit confusing so I'll leave that to a last resort!
    Last edited by Ash; 26/04/2006 at 11:06 AM.

500 Posts
    You'll get better responses to your threads if you give them more appropriate titles.

He will get more response if he doesnt post in the Monaghan forum on here!

30 Posts
    True ... maybe I should have had the title as
    "Long shot that anyone will read this"

No point in posting it in the Athlone forum here as bugger
    all people bother with that either

I will be doing the PA system so if you do make it up I can announce that you are looking for a lift to Cavan and we mite get someone to volunteer.

Cant have a fan stranded!

30 Posts
    I will be doing the PA system so if you do make it up I can announce that you are looking for a lift to Cavan and we mite get someone to volunteer.

Cant have a fan stranded!
    Cheers Magicme, I'll let you know i I make it up there

No problemo!

30 Posts
    Cool, looks like I have a lift sorted

Brill! Good on ya.

137 Posts
    Now what in God's name would I be doing hanging around Cavan on a Friday!!?

Quote Originally Posted by Ash
    Firstly people were allowed travel, then nobody was allowed travel, then the committee were
    allowed travel, then nobody again, then the comittee only but had to pay €5 or something to travel.
    I wouldn't believe everything you hear Ash!
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by atfconline
    I wouldn't believe everything you hear Ash!

True ...
    As for travelling with the team, theres always something uncomfortable
    about roaring abuse at somone for 90mins and then sitting beside
    them on the way home

Ha ha atfconline u pedantic git.

30 Posts
    Magicme, sorry I didnt egt a chance to chat ya at half time.
    Busy texting the highlights to the Cootes who couldn't make it.
    The "Mon Dogs" got an honorable mention in all my reports

On a more serious note, where are the 4 cows gone????
    I was shocked to see they were replaced by 2 horses!!!

Magicme, sorry I didnt egt a chance to chat ya at half time.
    Busy texting the highlights to the Cootes who couldn't make it.
    The "Mon Dogs" got an honorable mention in all my reports

On a more serious note, where are the 4 cows gone????
    I was shocked to see they were replaced by 2 horses!!!
    Yeah your shock was relayed to me by atfconline by text....fecker enjoyed rubbing the result in too!

So what was ur excuse at the end of the game??? I met another Ray from Athlone at the game and he was still in the pubs and clubs of Monaghan on Sat nite!!

Glad u enjoyed the MonDogs....they are becoming an integral part of all that is good about the eL....pity I am a veggie and have never sampled one!

30 Posts
    We hit the road straight after the game as the Cavan Road was closed off
    so we had to divert through Newtownbutler, adding an extra bit on to our
    journey.

Yeah, the other Ray was up visiting a lad he used to work with.
    He was a regular in Mels for years but hasn't been able to go to a game in
    ages cos of college and work. He was terrified that he'd jinx the Town by
    turning up to the game in CHP

Yeah, there was conflicting reports about the Mon Dogs. One of the lads
    got one earlier in the game and wasnt best pleased, I waited till the half
    time break was nearly over before putting in my order and it was
    satisfaction guarenteed

We hit the road straight after the game as the Cavan Road was closed off
    so we had to divert through Newtownbutler, adding an extra bit on to our
    journey.

Yeah, the other Ray was up visiting a lad he used to work with.
    He was a regular in Mels for years but hasn't been able to go to a game in
    ages cos of college and work. He was terrified that he'd jinx the Town by
    turning up to the game in CHP

Yeah, there was conflicting reports about the Mon Dogs. One of the lads
    got one earlier in the game and wasnt best pleased, I waited till the half
    time break was nearly over before putting in my order and it was
    satisfaction guarenteed
    The lad he was visiting was an old mate of mine (used to date his uncle!!) so it was good craic Sat nite! Forgot bout the closed road. Its a bloody nusiance. Will have to bear it in mind when am going to Galway but will probably go via cootehill instead then!