Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Lavine is gone

75 Posts

He must be on big bucks

lads and dont expect him to train . Strange thing is ye play on saturdays which would affect his parenting problems mor yea.

Rumour has it that ATFC will have a creche in there new stadia!

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct
    Strange thing is ye play on saturdays which would affect his
    parenting problems mor yea.
    After this weekends game against Limerick we're switching back to
    Friday Night Football .

The committee switched to Saturday to see if there was any crowd
    improvement but there wasnt so its back to the Friday night under
    the lights.

I seen this quote on the official website

Stephen Lally is on the lookout for another striker after Eric Lavine had his contract terminated during the week.

Anybody care to speculate on who it should be? I have a feeling he might go for someone local, junior level player maybe? Wouldnt know anyones name of hand though.

75 Posts

Best Striker Locally based is

Jonny Mernagh and unfortunately his track record is worse than Eric's. I reckon he will have to go further afield and that means waiting for the window to come around.

and the only available striker at that level that I can see at the moment is CP O'Brien, who was released from Cobh. Of course, his record is just as bad as well !

30 Posts
    Eric Lavine signed for Athlone Town last night.
    He'll be in the squad for the game against Limerick on Saturday.

As far as I know its on a week-to-week basis.

Quote Originally Posted by Ash
    We definately need someone who can put the ball in the net.
    Well you might get that for about 8 weeks, then you'll get him to sign a longer contract, and the rest of us will watch the fun and games begin.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Well you might get that for about 8 weeks, then you'll get him to sign a longer contract
    Dunno about that, our new executituve committee are fairly business minded
    so I cant see them taking a risk like that, especially with Lavines track record
    and all the hassle we had getting rid of Andy Noonan and Gavin Doyle last
    season.

Lets hope he gets the goals though cos we have been fairly pathetic up front.

75 Posts

he wont be able to

play with ye till july or maybe he is " a special case ".Its a joke he cant train with galway but can travel to athlone ASH what do you reckon.

Quote Originally Posted by Ash
    Lets hope he gets the goals though cos we have been fairly pathetic up front.
    He'll fit in well then...

Best of luck to Athlone, but Eric is well past it and not up to standard anymore.
    You can see this in the recent matches he's played, too old, too slow and no loyalty or respect for any club

30 Posts
    play with ye till july or maybe he is " a special case ".
    Its a joke he cant train with galway but can travel to athlone ASH what do you reckon.
    His cotract was terminated so he's a free agant and can play straight away.
    He'll be getting to Athlone for training with Robbie Forde apparently

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06's
    Best of luck to Athlone, but Eric is well past it and not up to standard anymore.
    You can see this in the recent matches he's played, too old, too slow and no
    loyalty or respect for any club.
    Our finishnig is dire at the moment, just cant seem to score the tap ins, so hopefully that'll
    change. We have enough pace on the wings to do the donkey work, just need someone to
    finish in front of goal
    Last edited by Ash; 03/05/2006 at 9:58 AM.

75 Posts

Strange he

couldnt train with Galway because of work and his parental responsibilities and now he can travel 140 mile round trip to Athlone.Eric is not a goalscorer he says that himself he wont score anymore than 5 goals for ye mark my words.

84 Posts
    couldnt train with Galway because of work and his parental responsibilities and now he can travel 140 mile round trip to Athlone.Eric is not a goalscorer he says that himself he wont score anymore than 5 goals for ye mark my words.

At the moment if anyone scored 5 goals a season it would be great. No one else on the team seemingly gonna do that. He is troublesome but as Ash has said our new committee is very business minded and they will take no sh*t and he is here on our terms and not his. We will judge him on his attitude here and not what he did with the scum and yourselves. Forgot to add things might be different now he is at a big club.
    Last edited by Battery Rover; 03/05/2006 at 10:56 AM.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Eric is not a goalscorer he says that himself he wont score anymore than 5 goals for ye mark my words.
    Spot on there, i wouldnt even give him 5 goals with the amount of matches he wont be able to attend due to some sort of reason! Your lucky its the summer football we are still playing as he doesnt care much for playing in the rain either.

When is the cricket world cup on? I remember the last one, himself and luther took off a couple of weeks playing to watch it!

75 Posts

its on Aertel

but seemingly there are a few "contractual matters" relating to Eric's tenure at United that Athlone are not aware of "allegedly".

what are the odds on Eric scoring in his first game for Ahlone

Quote Originally Posted by Ranger
    what are the odds on Eric scoring in his first game for Ahlone
    Depends, If hilda is reffing I would say 2/1

It's even after making the "Daily Caribbean News"

Even if it is taken practically word for word from a certain irish website

http://www.hardbeatnews.com/editor/R...=Top%20Stories

Is Eric cup tied or can he play for Ayhlone against Galway in the Cup match? If he can you could not have written a better script. He could well put in a performance that would see an early exit from the competition for his former employers.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast