Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Any Score In Setanta Final

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    Hi Sir H
    Was there much trouble at the end of the match? and was it all onesided as the Derryboys are claiming above
    Hi Eire06 - just saw on Setanta a clip of a a Cork player clattering a Drogheda player and getting a slap in return - they were serarated quite quickly though.

89 Posts
    We aren't "claiming" anything.......

It was clearly shown on the TV, to the extent that they showed a replay of Murphy's punch, and Fabio's attempted retaliation. The Gamble bowled in and lots of finger pointing ensued.

The linesman did an absolutely storming job in defusing the situation.

The camera cut away then, and then cut back to Murray and Devine surrounding the referee.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

82 Posts
    Hi Sir H
    Was there much trouble at the end of the match? and was it all onesided as the Derryboys are claiming above
    Roll your eyes all you like, there are quite a few posts referring to what happened above.

The Cork players also hounded & verbally abused the ref after the final whistle.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
    Roll your eyes all you like, there are quite a few posts referring to what happened above.

The Cork players also hounded & verbally abused the ref after the final whistle.
    Just wanted an unbiased view and Sir H usually is.
    Drogs were ment to be well winding up the Cork lads too so don't think it was all city, still no need for that kind of retaliation..

82 Posts
    Drogs were ment to be well winding up the Cork lads too so don't think it was all city, still no need for that kind of retaliation..
    You got an unbiased view. I personally couldn't care whether Moneybags Utd or the People`s Republic FC won, as I`ve no great love for either BUT Cork`s behaviour was out of order.

By the same token Fitzpatrick was lucky not to get a 2nd yellow, but no amount of provocation justified what happened.

Next Athlone v Galway match - get back to me on that unbiased thingy.

heh heh.

Codding aside, thank you for the nice compliment, young lady.

Disgracefull behaviour from Murphy - nothing but a bad loser, Fabio threw a punch at him in retalliation but failed to connect

What did they say?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    What did they say?
    I`m not sure, I`m not fluent in Langer.

Was that when you were out making a sandwich too?

Quote Originally Posted by ORA
    POTM
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Just back from the game , and I have to say - appalling behaviour by the Langers , spitting at the Referee in the tunnell , its all there on video. Murphy the thug hitting out after the final whistle - really bad losers. Just hope that the powers that be take serious action against Cork over this. Personally I think they should now be banned from the competition - theres sufficient evidence on video , I've seen it.

I`m not fluent in Langer.
    LMAO

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Ground seemed well filled but not capacity.
    My guess is about 6,000 - 7,000 at it.
    Anyone know the crowd??
    Great atmosphere too.
    Congrats to Drogheda United and hard luck Cork City.
    At the game it was announced at 6000 but looked like more! someone pulling a stroke i would guess

But you still determined that it was verbal abuse?
    Last edited by Risteard; 23/04/2006 at 12:30 AM.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

6000 was the crowd attendance that was announced. Strange it was exactly 6000. Ollie pulling a fast one again?

Main stand - full
    Ballbough - 3/4
    New stand - 1/2
    Riverside - 2/3 minimum

For 10k capacity ground can't see how got 6000.

I saw some come action at FT but couldn't see what happened - recorded match but didn't record long enough for of extra time. If an city fans seen spitting then thats disgraceful & no way can be condoned.

You may call this bitter but heres my take on the game:

I really though Drogs would threaten us but they were shockingly poor except for Connor, Gavin & Gartland. I know all eL refs are poor but McKeon was useless. Gavin was on a yellow card, he took 2 attempts with his elbow in 10 seconds & the ref just talks to him. FFS should have been straight red. Drogs deserved to win the FAI Cup final as eventhough we didn't play well they still scored 2 goals. I can't see how anyone would think they were best side last night - sure they won but almost as bad football as Longford. Aside from the goal Bradley & Keegan who are supposed to be great players were complately outplayed. BTW Fitzpatrick had 2 deliberate handballs while on a yellow card but no red card. We were commenting during the game that McKeon was leaving tackles go so much that was inviting a big challenge.

I heard the game came across crap on TV but what did neutrals think?

82 Posts
    It wasn`t great Pete but I`ve seen a lot worse.

Cork should`ve had a few goals in the first half & they paid the price.

A neutral's opinion:
    Well done Drogs. Despite having the grumpiest manager in football anywhere, you are having a great run of success and deserve credit for that.
    Not a great game by any stretch, except for the fact that the result hung in the balance for so long.
    Cork played the best of the football (Gamble and O'Donovan were brilliant), but missed chances that were easier to put away. Tough.
    Leech took his goal brilliantly.
    Pretty filthy on both sides, with plenty of off-the-ball stuff that went unpunished by the ref and unremarked by the pundits (although I didn't watch the studio afters). I can't see how Cork fans can feel aggrieved: O'Callaghan was shocking yet again, and Murphy deserves a very lengthy ban and/or intensive anger management counselling.
    Spitting Corkies should be easily identifiable from the video. It will speak volumes if they are not banned by the club.
    (I trust this post won't go the way of previous ones that haven't been sufficiently genuflecting towards the deep south.)

Quote Originally Posted by pete

but they were shockingly poor
    Wait until we play well against ye - if we can beat ye playing like that, we have absolutely nothing to worry about playing against ye in the 2 league matches, even at the cross
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

O'Callaghan was injured. He came back for the 2nd half early to try to warm up his ankle but was obvious in the ground he not going to last.

I suppose teams reflect their manager if you think about it..

We didn't put away our chances. Oh for a fully fit John O'Flynn! Drogheda took their chance well. So well done to Drogs and a big well done to some of the comments in the press during the week that seem to have really wound up the Drogs Manager and players. Pat Doolin on TV was still spitting about some of the comments from City players about not turning up for the Cup final etc.
    I couldn't understand during the week why city would wind up the opposition with comments like that, you'd never hear the Cork Hurlers going on like that about the opposition. You do not in any circumstances provide your opposition with motivation, respect yes but motivation definitely not!
    Cork City FC

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast