Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Any Score In Setanta Final

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I suppose teams reflect their manager if you think about it..
    rico has been accused of being a bottler since his shels days so you could be right

Quote Originally Posted by ColinR
    rico has been accused of being a bottler since his shels days so you could be right
    League Champions!

Shels definitely reflex Fenlon.
    Derry City very open like Kenny.
    Longford have Matthews *zzzzzzzzzzz*

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    League Champions!

Shels definitely reflex Fenlon.
    Derry City very open like Kenny.
    Longford have Matthews *zzzzzzzzzzz*
    touché

you can add keely-dub city to the list as well

I thought it was an OK game but I expected much better. Footballing-wise (and atmosphere-wise), the lesser team won.

Cork were obviously well on top in the first half and only for Connor's save and St. George missing a sitter, would have deserved to lead at half time.

They seemed to let Drogheda back into it much more in the second half. I don't think that can be attributed to St. George going off injured, cos on TV anyway, he didn't seem that central to Cork's earlier dominance - that was more down to Gamble who I thought was absolutely outstanding. For a lot of the second half though, he seemed to be carrying Cork - by comparison, O'Brien, Behan and Fenn were nowhere.

I'd say Drogheda persevered well and dragged themselves back into it - Doolin's substitutions seemed to work well and improve them, whereas Cork's smacked of desperation - it was almost as if Rico wasn't happy with his O'Flynn-less starting line-up to begin with and kept tinkering with it throughout. Even before the goal, Cork were starting to rely more and more on long balls, whereas what worked for them in the first half was passing interchanges and speed of movement.

The more it went on, the more I was thinking of Ozo's prediction of a 1-0 Drogheda win on last week's eL Weekly, that and the fact that they only nicked a late winner against us in the League a couple of weeks ago. They basically kept their heads more than Cork.

Doolin, on the other end, had totally lost his by the time of the post-match frothing at the mouth session - it was the nearest thing I've seen in our league to Kevin Keegan's notorious "I'd love it..." interview a few years ago.
    Revenge for 2002

Not strictly speaking from our league but David Jeffries on air response to Healy surpasses even Keegos rant.....they replayed it as the highlight of teh setanta cup this year at the end!

Its also totally obvious from the coverage that Alan Matthews utterly hates Dolan - the look he gave him at the end was pure evil. What a panel!

"some of the things that were said were absolutely obnoxious" Paul Doolin

To my knowledge no-one bar DOOLIN has commented on Drogs at all at all - its pure small time Murinho complex from the bald eagle!

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    "some of the things that were said were absolutely obnoxious" Paul Doolin

To my knowledge no-one bar DOOLIN has commented on Drogs at all at all - its pure small time Murinho complex from the bald eagle!
    I was thinking the same myself. No one from Cork City Football Club said anything derogatory about Drogheda.

The only people who said that Drogs didn't deserve their FAI Cup win were CCFC fans on internet forums. If Doolin reads these forums and takes them seriously then he has lost it IMO.

This mind game nonsense is superb. We are working away, getting results and will be a point behind Drogs if we win our game in hand while our challengers are getting flustered. We get little attention from the media and haven't been talked about on el weekly for a while. Keep it up lads.....
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    This mind game nonsense is superb. We are working away, getting results and will be a point behind Drogs if we win our game in hand while our challengers are getting flustered. We get little attention from the media and haven't been talked about on el weekly for a while. Keep it up lads.....
    I think the main reason yere not getting a lot of attention is simply because ye didnt qualify for the setanta final and ourselves and drogheda have bulit up a bit of a rivalry atm,ye shud be back in the spotlight soon enuf

As for the final itself,well done to drogheda,ye took yere chance and we didnt take our chances simple as that.

A note aswell on Mr McKeon.He is quite possibly the worst ref ive seen since jimmy o'neill.He missed so many blatant fouls and off the ball incidents,twice in the space of 10 seconds in the 2nd half Gavin went straight into the back of 2 city players with his elbow and the ref just stood there as if nothing happened!Its not a personal attack on the man himself but he's just not a good ref and he seems to get a lot of games that are just too important for him to be refereeing

rant over,well done drogs
    "They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson

Very good match report by Johnny Ward on the Setanta site:

http://www.setanta.com/portal/system...25715800779250
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by daveh
    ye shud be back in the spotlight soon enuf
    Im pretty happy not being in the media spotlight

.......i'D SAY IS WRITING SKILLS WERE IMPROVED BY THE BIG BET AT 12'S he took drogs at before the competition!

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Very good match report by Johnny Ward on the Setanta site:

http://www.setanta.com/portal/system...25715800779250
    Quote of that article:

The pace was frantic early on, with a rare atmosphere at the old Drumcondra venue impacting on the players.
    Atmosphere at Tolka - about time it showed itself
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Always is when Derry are there

Quote Originally Posted by iceman
    Just hope that the powers that be take serious action against Cork over this. Personally I think they should now be banned from the competition.

Hi, Wummy McWumerson here.
    Try again iceman.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Anyone know when the game is been repeated on Setanta?
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by iceman
    Just hope that the powers that be take serious action against Cork over this. Personally I think they should now be banned from the competition
    Are you actually serious??Danny Murphys actions pale in comparison to that scut of a keeper ye have
    "They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson

Are you actually serious??Danny Murphys actions pale in comparison to that scut of a keeper ye have
    Look at it again - he at least deserves a lenghty ban, The video does'nt lie.

82 Posts
    Either you didn't see what happened or you have zero credibility. Which is it?

I read in one of the papers today that Murphy was actually sent off after the whistle (absolutely correctly) so presumably its down to what McKeown says in his report as to how long Murphy is banned for.

Violent conduct is generally a minimum of 3 matches but Murphy deserves a lot more than that. To punch someone as they are clearing the ball and not in a position to either see it coming or defend themselves is the lowest of the low.

sunday indo reports Gamble as the player receiving the red card after the final whistle - might make sense if ref didnt see the punch and than red carded gamble who joined in afters and mouthed

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    Anyone know when the game is been repeated on Setanta?
    You would want to watch that again?!

Utterly tedious game. No idea how O'Callaghan missed his various close range chances in the first half. No idea how Drogheda keep winning despite putting ten men behind the ball and hardly bothering to play football at all. No idea how Drogs fans can watch that rubbish week-in-week-out - I've had it two weeks in a row now and it was too much for me. Couldn't bring myself to bother watching extra time - even left the pub so I wouldn't have to be tortured any more!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast