Thread: Objection to the Bowl

3,491 Posts

Objection to the Bowl

From some doddery aul wan, as reported in the Irish Times apparently... Doesn't seem to have any sort of substance though.

Sports upgrade at UCD appealed
    A proposal by UCD to upgrade the Belfield Bowl has been challenged by a local resident. UCD wants to upgrade the spectator and playing facilities at Belfield Bowl which would incorporate 840 seats to replace part of the existing standing capacity, extending the perimeter fence and relocating sports activities from Belfield Park on Foster's Avenue to the bowl. Mary Glazier, with an address at Greenfield Park, Donnybrook has appealed planning permission for the development which she believes will affect her property because of its scale. Her house is 50 metres from the development and says there are no proposals to screen the stadium from her house. She is concerned that Belfield Bowl will be used by rugby and soccer teams, trebling the number of games at the stadium. Her appeal contends that the use of the facility by the soccer club will bring bigger crowds to the venue. The noise, nuisance and disturbance generated by the development are also concerns.

Where is "the bowl" anyway?

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Where is "the bowl" anyway?
    It's #43 (by the red arrow on the right) on this map: http://www.isat.ie/images/UCD_Map.jpg Belfield Park is #36 on the left hand side and the main entrance is at the bottom for reference.

20 Posts
    Over by the Sport Centre. The nearest main entrance is the Clonskeagh gate but it's right beside the one which brings you out near RTE and that is the area I would assume the complainant is from (don't know the name of the road, it's Green something).
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

3,491 Posts
    Just looking at that map - I don't see any houses within what could remotely be called a 50m radius? You can garner some sort of scale (if there is any) from the astro pitches - 46 and 47 - which are about 80-90 yards long (stupidly short...) So she lives half as near again to the Bowl?

What's at entrance F? Looks like fields, whereas the objection seems to imply she lives out that way (if only because any other direction doesn't make any sense, and I don't really know campus out that side of the Bowl)
    Quote Originally Posted by Aberdonian Stu
    don't know the name of the road, it's Green something).
    Greenfield, I assume? Per yer wan's objection.

The scale looks arseways to me. The building behind the Bowl is Hugh Brady's place and the road runs towards that, much nearer than the map shows I think. The house on the corner nearest the Bowl might be within 50m maybe.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    From some doddery aul wan, as reported in the Irish Times apparently... Doesn't seem to have any sort of substance though.

Sports upgrade at UCD appealed
    Her appeal contends that the use of the facility by the soccer club will bring bigger crowds to the venue..
    she hasn't a leg to stand on, so ...
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan
    You haven't seen rugby attendances, have you?

I'll be out jogging that way this evening so I'll check it out better but from what I can gather if she is in the closest house she is already screened from the ground by about 30 meters of forest (including a stream), a road, the fence surrounding the ground and about 5 meters of shrubbery. This is all added to the fact that the ground itself is in a hole. Her complaint that she is not shielded from the development is absurd.

71 Posts
    Funny thing is though, now that I think about it, I live possibly further than that from the ground of an AIL club and I can hear the crowd very clearly on match days. Granted it's not dug into a bowl. Still, if they wanted to do up the ground I'd say more power to them.

20 Posts
    Now PS I'm assuming the nearest AIL club to you is Terenure, if not what I'm about to say is more irrelevant than most comments on internet message boards.

Terenure's ground, as you rightly point out, isn't dug into a bowl and also has little or nothing else in the way of permanently erect structures (as in big walls) to shield the rest of the locality from the noise. Furthermore the tightness of the pitch to the outer boundaries of the club (as in beside where the houses are) increases their proximity to the noise.

Now I'm guessing one of the engineers who post here might understand the science of this way more than I do and can explain it better.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

71 Posts
    Well I was avoiding mentioning the club so I wouldn't pin down my location on the worldwide web.

AS, I hear what you're saying but I'm shocked I can hear it as I live streets away. I personally don't care and neither should the biddy, but I guess she needs to keep herself occupied in retirement.

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan
    Better start reducing the "crowd" estimates on foot.ie in case they are used as fact in the courts....

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Better start reducing the "crowd" estimates on foot.ie in case they are used as fact in the courts....
    You'd want to be a total bufoon to pass those figures off in any sort of professional field Pete.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    You'd want to be a total bufoon to pass those figures off in any sort of professional field Pete.
    Perish the thought.

Ye might have to burn the bodhran lads

The house is the nearest house on the other side of the road. The near end of their garden is about 50m from the nearest corner of the fence around the ground.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    So what's the story with this now?

Still with the planning board.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Application Type: Permission
    Application Date: 18-Jan-2006
    Main Location: University College Dublin, Belfield Campus, Belfield, Dublin 4

Council Decision: GRANT PERMISSION
    Council Decision Date: 10-Mar-2006
    Final Grant Date:
    Extension of time to:

Proposal:
    Upgrade the spectator and playing facilities at Belfield Bowl, UCD Campus to comply with fire health & safety legislation and sports licensing requirements. Improvements to include (i) erection of additional 840 number seats to replace part of the existing standing capacity, (ii) provision of permanent toilets to replace use of temporary toilets, (iii) upgrade of existing drainage works, (iv) extension of existing perimeter fence, (v) upgrade of existing floodlights, (vii) upgrade of existing disabled and ambulance access, (vii) turnstiles and administrative offices, (viii) associated ancillary works including drainage, hard standing, on campus signage ect. When completed it is intended to relocate the existing sports activities from Belfield Park, Fosters Avenue to Belfield Bowl.
    I don't see how all the above could be done in time for the new season, especially with no date set for the appeal decision.