Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2005/06

Quote Originally Posted by gaffer
    All you have to do is look at the number of walkovers each team gave and you can guess the answer. The Bridge are bad but they always turn up for their match's.

Bridge 0 - 2 Pats
    Not claiming it anymore. Miscommunications in the ranks.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by myleftfoot
    Sorry Clifford I wasnt even at the game. Only heard the same thing as the Clare people had- that before the game B team supposed to have agreed to let A team through. Sounds like a great wind up to me. Fair play to B team - I saw your A team a few times this year and dont rate them at all. Few good players at the back and Mahony quality player up front but no pace or heart in midfield.
    Tell me this why dont several B team players want to play for the A team when they are easily good enough?? is there a rift with management or what??
    no rift what so ever. b team was formed to keep a bunch of lads together for crack and play some ball. most of these lads have put in 3 nights training and games with avenue over the last 10 years and just cannot give that sort of commitment anymore. they want to be able to go out on a saturday night etc. we trainied the first few months but was too many injuries and fights (indoor training was harder than some of the matches in 3rd div), so we don't train which suits most of the lads. if they want to train there can with a team. i can honestly say this is the last year for us. we've had a great 3 years won 3rd promoted from 2nd although relegated this year we also made 3 cup semi's (one final to come) and played in european cup in barcelona supposed to go to prague in june put has been pulled.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

43 Posts
    Apologies Clifford checked with guy who told me of your so called "illegal player". Turns out he was claiming your goalkeeper was illegal cos he has played enough games with A team this year to make him ineligible for Bs now. This doesnt apply to cup though so he is incorrect.
    Best of luck in the final. By the way how can a team be good enough to get to a a cup final and be relegated to the 2nd division??
    the main reason was losing j purtill to a team when spudy got injured. up to then no team had put more than 2 goals past us in the 3 years. our back line was mainly the same as well. then we had 8 different keepers in the run in and injuries mounted. joke, teams where scoring for fun stupid goals. we also could't get numbers. many games we had the bare 11, but we gave no walkovers. cup was always our holy grail.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

cup final?

Hey lads,

Who is in the Cup Final? Avenue B vs ?

J

Corofin

Wonder will there be the drama of last years final? Only saw the replay myself but corofin scored some peach of a goal. While they obviously weren't the best two teams in the county, they provided great entertainment. Hopefully a good omen for this years final??

Cup Final

Just wondering if the cup final went ahead this weekend & if so who won it ??

Also does anyone know how the promotion / relegation playoffs have panned out ??

Quote Originally Posted by Pauliwallnuts
    Just wondering if the cup final went ahead this weekend & if so who won it ??

Also does anyone know how the promotion / relegation playoffs have panned out ??
    I think the cup final was called off due to bad weather...

cup final

heard the cup final was re-fixed for this saturday evening. what a joke, the clare league obviously know avenue have a number involved with eire og on saturday versus quilty! ye are an absolute disgrace if ye dont re-schedule it for the week after as it will ruin the final! im sure corofin wouldnt want to win the cup either knowing they had to play an understrength avenue team! just emphasises how much of a joke the league is!

Quote Originally Posted by townie
    heard the cup final was re-fixed for this saturday evening. what a joke, the clare league obviously know avenue have a number involved with eire og on saturday versus quilty! ye are an absolute disgrace if ye dont re-schedule it for the week after as it will ruin the final! im sure corofin wouldnt want to win the cup either knowing they had to play an understrength avenue team! just emphasises how much of a joke the league is!
    I think the FAI Clare Area final is on Saturday also are Avenue A in this.

GAA rules again

GAA should never dictate when a soccer game is on.
    However I am not in favour of this final going ahead on Saturday evening either.
    Cup final should be on Sunday. (as I have said in my previous posts)
    Except Clare League dont want to clash with Clare Cork game!
    Still ruled by f**in GAA!!

Is this for real.If the cup final had to be refixed it correctly should be refixed for the following week irrespective of what else is on.Are you seriously saying the cup final should be fixed to suit guys involved in GAA.Who are eire og anyway???Did they not reschedule because the CUP Final was on???

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904
    Is this for real.If the cup final had to be refixed it correctly should be refixed for the following week irrespective of what else is on.Are you seriously saying the cup final should be fixed to suit guys involved in GAA.Who are eire og anyway???Did they not reschedule because the CUP Final was on???
    I agree completely with you shelbourne but it should be on Sunday.
    It was down for last sunday and should have been replayed this sunday regardless of what GAA is on.
    The fact is the Clare League scheduled it for Saturday because of a Clare hurling match on Sunday. Now that they have changed to suit one GAA match we have guys involved in other GAA matches complaining.
    Most leagues have the cup final and possible replay dates fixed in stone at start of year. Then everybody including GAA players will know well in advance when its on before they enter the competition. Is this too much to ask from the Clare League.

Thumbs down

I agree completely with you shelbourne but it should be on Sunday.
    It was down for last sunday and should have been replayed this sunday regardless of what GAA is on.
    The fact is the Clare League scheduled it for Saturday because of a Clare hurling match on Sunday. Now that they have changed to suit one GAA match we have guys involved in other GAA matches complaining.
    Most leagues have the cup final and possible replay dates fixed in stone at start of year. Then everybody including GAA players will know well in advance when its on before they enter the competition. Is this too much to ask from the Clare League.
    Like everyone else on the thread, I think that the Cup Final should be played on a Sunday regardless of what GAA, Rugby or Tiddlywinks game is on. What would have been the outcome if the original game had gone ahead last Sunday and had gone to a Replay? In previous years the replay had been played midweek, why was this not an option?
    All other games have now been put back a week to accommodate the few. There were 3 Schoolboy Finals due to be played this Saturday in Digifone which now have to be moved to the following weekend. I know that the Clare Cup Final should take preferance but try telling that to the 80 or so youngsters who were geared up for their own World Cup Final.

Are you guys saying that you want to compete directly with the Clare v Cork match ?? If you want our game to ever get any publicity then you would not do that. Whether you like it or not most players, managers & fans are also Gaa supporters. Its the number 1 sport in the country & trying to compete for any publicity against that is a lost cause.

I couldnt care less about the Cork/Clare match but I see no reason to compete against bigger events than our Cup Final.As in we equally should not put it on at the same time as the munster match or the English Cup Final.So I think sense has prevailed.However we should completely ignore any requests to change because someone palys for a GAA team.
    The reason the game was not on midweek was to give the county grounds time to recover after the rain.The under 16 cup final will be deffered again this Thursday unless another ground is available.At the moment Doora,Lees Road and Newtown are all closed so the other 3 schoolboy finals are also looking dodgy.

The original game was down for last Sunday when the Clare football team played a munster championship game and I didnt hear anyone complaining. In terms of publicity do you honestly think that our cup final will get huge coverage given the Clare hurling game and all the club football games on over the weekend. The same reporters cover GAA and soccer so dont get too optomistic about publicity especially from the Clare CHampion.
    As for Clare FM im sick of listening for soccer results on sunday evening and sitting through blow by blow reports of under 14 b hurling matches and cross country running to get 30seconds of soccer coverage. If it wasnt for this thread you would think that nobody in Clare gives a damn about local soccer.

Angry

why should they reschedule. This is the biggest game of the domestic season if the avenue players choose to play a GAA match over the CUP Final then its a poor reflection on their commitment to the club & their team mates who have done brilliantly to reach the final against the odds. Forget about the conspiracy theorys & have a look at the commitment of your players to winning a cup final medal
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

sh*t talk

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j
    why should they reschedule. This is the biggest game of the domestic season if the avenue players choose to play a GAA match over the CUP Final then its a poor reflection on their commitment to the club & their team mates who have done brilliantly to reach the final against the odds. Forget about the conspiracy theorys & have a look at the commitment of your players to winning a cup final medal
    i think there is a lot of ye talkin s**t, for one thing you are not professionally playing soccer in clare league and therefore should be allowed play gaa too , most of the best players playing soccer in clare league are playin gaa also! also i dunno when the last time was that a cup final be played on a saturday! thirdly players can be equally comitted to more than one sport and finally what sort of recognition would it be to win a cup final against an under strenght team! you get practcally f**k all regontion for winning anything in this joke of a league as it is! its all a joke if u asked me because of idiots like u tryin to compete with the gaa which has clearly more interest around the county! time to wake up i think...

GAA

Lads lets be realistic the GAA will always be number one in Clare, that is a fact, there will be at least 15000 approx Clare people in Thurles on Sunday and whether their are dual players involved in the Cup final or not is irrelevant.
    Eire Og have had Avenue players involved for a good while now and alot of Clare soccer teams will have players who use the soccer season to keep ticking over until the GAA season starts. Do not fool yourself into thinking that the Clare League can ever compete with the GAA and if Munster Rugby keeps going the way it has over the last 5 years you will find that soccer in Clare cannot compete with that either.
    I'll update this next year.

Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast