Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Football books and documentaries

Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke
    what would anyone reccommend in relation to a book on tactics, formations etc? im basically looking for some in depth detail on the game and the nitty-gritty of it all.
    Haven't read the book but if your looking for a book on tactics i'd say this would be a place to start
    Teambuilding by Rinus Michels - founder of Total football and one of the greatest football brains ever. The man FIFA named Coach of the Century.
    "If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    Best football book(s) I've read are Roy Keane's autobiography and Simon Kuper's Football Against The Enemy.

Not sure off the top of my head about the documentary.

I played football for The Irish Embassy Team in Paris with Simon Kuper...I'm sure that was his name and now I've googled him and it is the same fella! yeah is it a good book? I might read it so....He wasn't that good a footballer was Simon and a little sure of himself if ye know what I mean. I remember he was left on the bench this one game and he wasnt happy and I thought deary me if ye know anything about football dont have a strop when you dont get picked for a sunday league team that barely got 11 down each week. Didnt know he was as famous as he obviously is...

Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover
    I played football for The Irish Embassy Team in Paris with Simon Kuper...I'm sure that was his name and now I've googled him and it is the same fella! yeah is it a good book? I might read it so....He wasn't that good a footballer was Simon and a little sure of himself if ye know what I mean. I remember he was left on the bench this one game and he wasnt happy and I thought deary me if ye know anything about football dont have a strop when you dont get picked for a sunday league team that barely got 11 down each week. Didnt know he was as famous as he obviously is...
    He's Dutch! Work it out for yourself

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    978 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by $Leon$
    Haven't read the book but if your looking for a book on tactics i'd say this would be a place to start
    Teambuilding by Rinus Michels - founder of Total football and one of the greatest football brains ever. The man FIFA named Coach of the Century.

Quote Originally Posted by John83
    I haven't read it, but this sounds like what you're looking for, and it's supposed to be good, if a little dry.

There's a list of similar stuff here. I have no idea how good any of it is meant to be.

thanks for those lads.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    He's Dutch! Work it out for yourself

yeah...thats mad...i thought he was brittish..think he studied there...anyway he has a english accent...it all makes sense now...

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover
    yeah...thats mad...i thought he was brittish..think he studied there...anyway he has a english accent...it all makes sense now...
    He spent most of his childhood in Holland, but he has English parents or something like that.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Paul McGraths book is outstanding absolutely out on its own as the best.

Who stole our game by Daire Whelan - about the demise of the LOI is an average read with the leevl of writing not great, more a historical factual book than any great insights.

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    A Year with Verona is the best football book ever written, but only one red army hits the league of Ireland nail on head!
    I read that book, talk about a bunch of nutters those Verona fans. Thought that it was an excellent read and really enjoyed it.

not a big reader to be honest......read a class football book when i was younger but to be honest cant even remember the name! then the only othyer real book ive read was roy keane's! very good like but dont know if its the same genre as been talked about here with it been an autobiography?

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234