Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Designated singing section for Croker

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    Why not on the Hill?
    The Hill is terracing, and don't all UEFA / FIFA matches have to be all-seater? With 65,000-odd seats, there'd be little point in putting in temporary seating like they do in Lansdowne (except maybe for the odd really big game)

I heard the steps were too narrow to put seats in?
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by joema
    ......Also, the hill has no roof - atmosphere would drift away into the nights sky
    I don't think the Dubs would agree!

No doubt the best atmosphere and craic in Irish sport is when the Dubs mass on the Hill.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

It has been show in other threads that the away fans are getting the hill and it will have bucket seats. John Delaneys has said this in an interview. So therefore the home end will be the Canal as that makes sense. I am off the view that Croker Park will be full for all of the games with possibly the exception of the Cyprus match.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by crc
    The Hill is terracing, and don't all UEFA / FIFA matches have to be all-seater?
    See other thread on temporary seating at CP.

the canal end lower is where we want, covered and if this entire area was designated "singing" it doesnt obstruct the views of people elsewhere in the ground. also being a dubs fan who stands on hill 16, I think the canal end would be more suited to soccer as the noise reverberates around the stadium and for some reason gets far more television exposure (ever noticed it?). Plus from a footballing point of view, what the team need is an end to shoot into the second half with as much noise, colour and atmosphere as possible. I sent on the email joema.

good work lads a keep the ideas flowing. I am in charge of the Pats eL ticket section and would speak on behalf of the majority when I say we want to add to atmosphere. we collect an additional €2 for flags etc from every ticket we get, if other clubs and fans groups did this we could have the resources to really get this off the ground
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Exclamation

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    I am off the view that Croker Park will be full for all of the games with possibly the exception of the Cyprus match.
    Sorry to be a linguistic pedant, but this one is amusing because the mistake actually infers the opposite of what you want to say :

"off the view", means you no longer think it is true,
    "of the view", means you do think it is true.
    Last edited by crc; 21/04/2006 at 8:12 PM.

We (YBIG) will certainly give it a good show in the next one, don't know if we will be out for Chile game as of yet.
    to have it in print will give the fai more to think about

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom
    the canal end lower is where we want, covered and if this entire area was designated "singing" it doesnt obstruct the views of people elsewhere in the ground. also being a dubs fan who stands on hill 16, I think the canal end would be more suited to soccer as the noise reverberates around the stadium and for some reason gets far more television exposure (ever noticed it?). Plus from a footballing point of view, what the team need is an end to shoot into the second half with as much noise, colour and atmosphere as possible. I sent on the email joema.
    Would dispute Canal End gets more TV exposure. There is nothing special about the Canal End. TV coverage at CP on big match days always focuses on whichever fans are on the Hill.

How can you guarantee that in every game Ireland will be playing into the 'home' end in every game?

Id definitly be in favour of the canal end - the roof will ensure for louder noise. And its always better behind the goal IMO

The Hill will be used to hold away fans - John Delaney has already stated that

singing section ..... that made me laugh .. get over it lads aint gonna ever happen .. the fai handling of tickets is shoddy enough without having to organise a seperate section for people who want to sing . to be honest the atmosphere at lansdowne is good for the big games so dont forsee any problems at croker for any of the games

Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour
    singing section ..... that made me laugh .. get over it lads aint gonna ever happen .. the fai handling of tickets is shoddy enough without having to organise a seperate section for people who want to sing . to be honest the atmosphere at lansdowne is good for the big games so dont forsee any problems at croker for any of the games
    Give the Fai some credit - how hard can it be to organise?

"get over it lads aint gonna ever happen

How do you know its not going to work? Its definitly worth a try anyway - youd be surprised what a bit of fan power can do

As for atmosphere at home matches - its not always good for the big games - yes it was good for the France game...until they scored, then it was impossible to get people going. If there was a designated area this would not be the case. And for the other big game agains Switzerland the atmosphere wasnt that good atall - I mean we only have 3 songs ffs!

Zinedine, do you like being told to sit down? Would you not rather stand and sing? You do realise that if we had a singing section we could maybe sing more than the 3 songs we currently have (Ireland clap,clap,clap, Stand up for boys in green and Come on you boys in green)

Also, its not just about the "big" games - every Ireland game is a big game - this designated singing area would improve the atmosphere at ALL games.

could only be an improvement
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Also, its not just about the "big" games - every Ireland game is a big game - this designated singing area would improve the atmosphere at ALL games.[/QUOTE]

Hear Hear

89 Posts
    Lads,

I have stuck up a thread on the NLSA forum about this issue as well

http://nlsa.proboards62.com/index.cg...ead=1145733613

To anyone that hasn't heard about the NLSA before you can learn more about the group and download a membership form through www.nlsupporters.com and the forum.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Lads,

I have stuck up a thread on the NLSA forum about this issue as well

http://nlsa.proboards62.com/index.cg...ead=1145733613

To anyone that hasn't heard about the NLSA before you can learn more about the group and download a membership form through www.nlsupporters.com and the forum.
    not saying its a bad idea really dont think it will happen though .. That would involve too much organistation for the fai.

Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour
    not saying its a bad idea really dont think it will happen though .. That would involve too much organistation for the fai.
    Thanks for your input, much appreciated

Quote Originally Posted by joema
    Fair play, Stu - I'll send my definite ideas on to you soon!
    I'll post my ideas on the nlsa message board Stu

Has anyone got any type of a reply from the FAI yet?
    UCD sha-la-la

Quote Originally Posted by cullenswood
    Has anyone got any type of a reply from the FAI yet?
    Yeah, they just said they hadnt decided arrangements for Croke Park tickets yet but that they took my idea on board and will notify block bookers and those on waiting list about arrangements in the future.

Also, thepeoples flag website said they are behind the idea and will put something up on their website about it tomorrow!!

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast