Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: Designated singing section for Croker

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    From what? Too much excitement or too much gargle (it's those three pints you horse down in the 30 minutes before the game that does it )
    Ah but if I had 60 minutes to horse down the 3 pints I'd be a bit better, and i could even have a 4th!!!

[QUOTE=jbyr

as the wales match is the first ever in croke park scenes similar to highbury yesterday should be organised. some sponsor should jump on this bandwagon and make 80,000 green t-shirts[/QUOTE]

I agree say we should try and get the Cusack,Canal and Hogan stands all having a green or white t-shirt and have one block green, one block white then green and so on it would look very very impressive. Also perhaps every seat is given a green scarf this would add to the colour.

On an other note the first rugby game in Croker against France is on at 5.30 on a Sat in Feb so that means it will be a floodlit match so maybe just maybe we might have a Sat night game against Wales in March. I seriously cant wait for the first game in Croker

Ha, singin section. Like we didn't try this already in the poxyness of the North Tce. "Yeah, lets all meet up & sing". Yeah right. I think I recall siging Team of Gary Breens up to number 14 on my own. Sorry to rain on the parade but this idea has no chance of working. Either everyone sings or we'll all be on our own again (someone even shouted that at me!).
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Quote Originally Posted by Colie
    Ha, singin section. Like we didn't try this already in the poxyness of the North Tce. "Yeah, lets all meet up & sing". Yeah right. I think I recall siging Team of Gary Breens up to number 14 on my own. Sorry to rain on the parade but this idea has no chance of working. Either everyone sings or we'll all be on our own again (someone even shouted that at me!).
    You could have picked a better song!
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colie
    Very true...

I suppose the hope here is that every person getting a ticket for a Croker game would be able to actively choose to head into this section knowing what to expect. There's a lot of other punters in the North Terrace who don't get tickets through the eL section who complain about people standing up. This wouldn't be happening here as they wouldn't be in our section. (I'm aware there are some from the eL section doing it as well, but it's a step better...)

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Very true...

I suppose the hope here is that every person getting a ticket for a Croker game would be able to actively choose to head into this section knowing what to expect. There's a lot of other punters in the North Terrace who don't get tickets through the eL section who complain about people standing up. This wouldn't be happening here as they wouldn't be in our section. (I'm aware there are some from the eL section doing it as well, but it's a step better...)

Agreed, if the canal end is sold as a "singing end" you wont get people who want to sit looking for seats in that end, it's not rocket science but still probably above the FAI's abilities!

Lads good to see a reference to this idea in the match programme for last nights game. It has clearly been taken on board by the FAI and lets hope they can organise it in conjunction with the supporters clubs and organisations.
    In Trap we trust

Did no one else see it mentioned in the programe for the game. Does anybody have any info on the progress that this idea is making and are the FAI serious about taking our views on board.
    In Trap we trust

I didn't see it Neil, but sure I'm in Canada at the mo so I wouldn't have. Could someone post up what was said, even a paraphrase. I would be interested to hear what they said about it.

Cheers
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Quote Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
    I didn't see it Neil, but sure I'm in Canada at the mo so I wouldn't have. Could someone post up what was said, even a paraphrase. I would be interested to hear what they said about it.

Cheers
    Match programmes now have a feature called Fans Zone, in which there are various items about fans groups etc.

The National League Supporters Association (NLSA) look like they are going to be a regular contributor (one of the guys involved here will let you know) Under the NLSA section the following item appears:

Croke Park Atmosphere!
    The NLSA has mooted with the FAI the suggestion of setting aside a block in Croke Park - and in the new Lansdowne Road - to allow all those, including current block bookers, who want to be central to the atmosphere at Ireland games going forward. We would welcome any feedback from supporters who would be interested in such an arrangement so we can sort out the best arrangement for Ireland fans in our new homes!

What isn't make clear is whether the We is the FAI themselves or the NLSA. Again perhaps one of the guys on here who is involved in NLSA can clarify.

BTW, the major article in the Fans Zone section of the Chile programme is about the official Republic of Ireland Supporters Club in London. They look remarkably well organised and appear to have the ear of the FAI. According to the article, John Delaney led an FAI delelgation, including Steve Staunton, which travelled to London recently to attend a club meeting.

I have heard of this club before, through someone I know who is/was a member, but did not realise they were so well organised. Worth looking at their website www.rissc.org, which is excellent.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

When I met the with the FAI before the Chile friendly I put the idea to them about putting the block bookers who want to sing into the same section as the eircom league tickets. They said that it seemed a good idea and that they'd take it on board.

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student
    When I met the with the FAI before the Chile friendly I put the idea to them about putting the block bookers who want to sing into the same section as the eircom league tickets. They said that it seemed a good idea and that they'd take it on board.
    Just for clarity (and if it has been clarified before then apologies), when you say 'I met', is this you as an individual or is this 'I' as part of NLSA or some other supporters group? Also can you say who in the FAI you spoke to/met with?

NLSA delegation.

www.nlsupporters.com for more info. Remember membership is open to all el fans!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    NLSA delegation.

www.nlsupporters.com for more info. Remember membership is open to all el fans!

Thanks NYH.

I had read the notes of the meeting that NLSA had with FAI on 25 April on the website. When Bald Student talked about a meeting he had with FAI before the Chile game, I was wondering if there had been another avenue of approach apart from the NLSA meeting.

Good news, it seems this idea has picked up momentum and has the backing of various aspects of Irish Support whether that be the London Brach or the NLSA or just somebody posting on this site. Hopefully the FAI has the interest and ability to implement this good idea. Fair play to all involved for bringing it to the attention of the FAI.
    In Trap we trust

Well done everyone involved.This actually seems to be going somewhere
    <insert witty remark>

52 Posts
    I've gone to a few US games in the last few years, they used to be pretty dull affairs but more recently, a section called "Sam's Army" has gotten more popular. Last year a few of us went to this section for the qualifier against T&T in Hartford and we went again last Sunday for the friendly against Latvia. It is a standing only, GA(general admission) section, and almost everyone wears red (despite the team usually wearing white or blue these days). It was great craic, singing the whole time, they got out the "Big Ass Flag" for the national anthem and when the team scored:
    http://www.ibiblio.org/footy/2006c/0...web_13_sab.jpg

Some people like to sit quietly and watch a game in peace. Good for them. But for me, it is a lot more fun to get stuck in and sing through the game. There is a Sams Army website, you can check it out, also the US Soccer Fed works in conjuction with SA regarding tickets rules etc. There should be something like this done for LR and CP to help boost the atmosphere.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

I assume that all clubs participating in the eL scheme would bee included in the NLSA section?
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

All I hope is that if this does goes ahead the FAI make it inclusive and not just for NLSA members or Eircom League Fans. This is not a dig at the NLSA at all (far from it), more of worry of how the FAI act on things. Great credit should go to the NLSA without question for bringing the idea further forward than most of us could have done.

I still believe however that in the long run, we really need a group representative of our whole support base (barstoolers included!) working with the FAI to improve athmosphere & relationships with our overall football community but this without question is a MAJOR step in the right direction.

Again, well done to everyone so far and keep plugging & supporting it
    Last edited by Karlos; 03/06/2006 at 12:44 PM.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Quote Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
    ....I still believe however that in the long run, we really need a group representative of our whole support base (barstoolers included!) working with the FAI to improve athmosphere & relationships with our overall football community...
    How would you go about setting this up? Who would be involved?
    Do the NLSA and the various Republic of Ireland Supporters Clubs not fill that role currently?

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast