Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: House-sharing tips...

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish
    Would a Bean an tí be considered a landlady? If it is, then 'Up Galway' has a whole new meaning.
    Tell ya the truth, OSO, there are Galway folks here who just might - know/be related to/be a neigbour of - my landlady when I was in Galway. I have great stories which, honest to God, were a young lads fantasy come true, I'd love to load them but for the reasons above, but I really can't. You wouldn't believe some of the sceals I could tell you and it was in the 70s too.
    I mean, it's a small country.
    Jesus, that flat had everything, randy landlady, nympho nurses, visiting wives playing away from home, gallons of free drink the first night we arrived, poitin and we only paid rent for two weeks out of the two and a half years we stayed there. She wouldn't take the money - husband was loaded. When I think back, it was a Carry On film come true.
    As that English journalists says, "you couldn't make it up".

230 Posts
    I believe you 'hamish, that's why I asked the question.1978 was a year I'll never forget. And Connemara of all fcuking places.
    *My first pint of Guinness, ye dirty minded feckers*
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Exclamation Anyone for Battered Sausages?

Quote Originally Posted by $Leon$
    Your right there had bad experience living with a pair of galway girls. No one else in the house liked them either. It got ugly towards the end.
    I'd say half the problem was not getting near enough to batter the auld sausage.

Its tough at the top, but even tougher at the bottom.......don't forget that!

Any chance you'll fill the lads in on your encounter with a lady in uniform? ........or is that too sore a point?!
    Last edited by JoeSemi; 25/04/2006 at 11:05 PM.
    Mens sana in corpore sano

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish
    I believe you 'hamish, that's why I asked the question.1978 was a year I'll never forget. And Connemara of all fcuking places.
    *My first pint of Guinness, ye dirty minded feckers*
    Oh sh!te, my landlady and her husband was from Connemara - in your case. her initials weren't GF???

Quote Originally Posted by $Leon$
    For a change this one is true.When Joe moved into digs he got the landlady's old room. One day he found a pair of handcuffs in the back of the wardrobe. And they were brought out on a night on the town.
    I really don't think you were all there that night Leon so its best stay quiet ....or we'll tell all about your encounter with a skanky wan in a uniform.

Handcuffs, baton, uniform, t-shirt ?! .........try and recall that night before you start spoutin sh!te. What comes out of most peoples ar$es comes out of your mouth generally.

Pipe down like a good lad
    Last edited by JoeSemi; 26/04/2006 at 12:02 AM.

C'mon Joe Semi/Leon - out with it - you two have me and Strangeirish going nuts wondering about what you two were up to and who the wans were..
    I mean UNIFORMS - are we talking role playing here???
    heh heh

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    C'mon Joe Semi/Leon - out with it - you two have me and Strangeirish going nuts wondering about what you two were up to and who the wans were..
    I mean UNIFORMS - are we talking role playing here?
    For Leon's birthday in 2nd year we hired a lovely lady from Ballymun to put manners on him and she found it hard! A few things anyway.......

Baton, uniform, handcuffs, a very large attendance, security(!) on the door, friends, aquaintances......you name it, and he wasn't grateful in the least the aul f€cker They came from far and wide to see Leon become a man; but they found a mouse instead and left slightly disappointed!!

We decked out the lads flat, packed the place solid and he still wasn't grateful. Everyone was wondering who this legend was who had the massive party with 'Patricia the Stripper' and he still moaned.

If only you knew half of it hamish. The man could have become a legend put is currently a leg end. We'll sort him out yet, hopefully!

P.S: We're keeping everything crossed tbh.

LOL That man needs a spanking - where's Green Tribe when you need her.

Remember the same thing happening when a mate of mine was "arrested" by some Athlone bird in our local, masquerading as a Bean Garda. (She was masquerading, not our mate). He was sure he'd get off with her after she disrobed but she was just a bored student making a few bob on the side. Great big t!ts though. -and we've been telling him to go on a diet for years.

112 Posts
    oh and another tip! When your leaving your house make sure the guy who replaces you actually moves in and gives you back your deposit. The guy replacing me down my old gaff has fecked off apparantly and my month's deposit is now in doubt!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

A good tip is to move in with 2 ex boyfriends coz then u r not tempted to go over old ground. A bad tip is to move in with someone from Kinsale who insists on tea from a tea pot in china cups and leaves mouldy alpen lying around for weeks.

Another good tip is to find out how many women have gotten pregnant in the bed u will be using.....3 in my old one that I know of!

a good tip is dont move in with smelly actors woh dont clean up properly, i have a mild case of food poisoning from the bastids, feeling sick all night and topped it off with getting sick on the tube today. how embarrassing

230 Posts
    Oh sh!te, my landlady and her husband was from Connemara - in your case. her initials weren't GF???
    No, they were BF! She wasn't that good.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme
    A good tip is to move in with 2 ex boyfriends coz then u r not tempted to go over old ground. A bad tip is to move in with someone from Kinsale who insists on tea from a tea pot in china cups and leaves mouldy alpen lying around for weeks.

Another good tip is to find out how many women have gotten pregnant in the bed u will be using.....3 in my old one that I know of!
    Any chance you'll sort Leon out?!

Quote Originally Posted by JoeSemi
    Ah, all I'll say is that Don Vito brought them to the freshers ball with him
    and there were young wans trapped for the night with him........!! A skip of Druids ensured he was as determined as be damned

Over to you Don
    Jesus Joe I'd forgotten all about that! What a night-druids cider and the freshers ball, what more could a man ask for! Those were the days I tell ye. For anyone out there who is still in college-live everyday as if it was your last because before you know you will be out of there and life will never ever be as good again, it's all downhill. Sat at my desk here in work, don't know what time I'll be home at tonight, God this is depressing.
    "In life, it aint about how hard you can hit, it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep on moving forward"

Rocky Balboa

Quote Originally Posted by JoeSemi
    Any chance you'll sort Leon out?!
    Stop pimping me....in public...pm!

112 Posts
    Another useful tip. When throwing a house warming, try and remove all expensive looking ornaments or chairs!!! And if new to a house, try and stay neutral in any discussions about the other housemates. it can all rebound on you! Oh and from my many housemoves, controversial maybe, but I have found that Irish women are the worst possible housemates. Im preparing for the backlash....
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Pauro, one good thing about blokes sharing with ladies. It's amazing how the fellas will improve their efforts in the area of hygene.
    In my first flat we had a doctor (to be) who used to fart and belch at dinner time. No amounts of threats, scolding etc could make him stop but once a girl joined us - he was a gentleman personified.
    He was an ignorant wnaker - he visited us in Beeslow once and at a party in a local hotel he joined a gang of us in the owners private lounge and defecated on the carpet despite the fact that an empty jacks was only a few feet away.
    Embarrasing for me to say, I had to be held back from beating the sh!te out of him at that time - whatever sh!te was left in him anyway - as he had crashed that party 'cos he said he knew me.
    That bloke, I presume, is now a practising doctor FFS.

Pick yer flat-mates carefully. I'd rather share a kip with a bunch of sound blokes/girls than a palace with freaks.

112 Posts
    Pick yer flat-mates carefully. I'd rather share a kip with a bunch of sound blokes/girls than a palace with freaks.
    Claim to fame here, was housemates with Jimmy Hill's grandson! Sound bloke actually, his chin was nothing like 'The Chin' though. good job too. I find two blokes and three girls a good balance, makes it useful for a watch the footy down the local option. and a respite from any female nagging.

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7
    Claim to fame here, was housemates with Jimmy Hill's grandson! Sound bloke actually, his chin was nothing like 'The Chin' though. good job too. I find two blokes and three girls a good balance, makes it useful for a watch the footy down the local option. and a respite from any female nagging.
    I can't imagine any female housemates nagging a sound fellow like you Pauro - I think your problem would be in deciding which one to knock off (that's knock off, not knock up btw) without the other girls being jealous.

112 Posts
    I can't imagine any female housemates nagging a sound fellow like you Pauro - I think your problem would be in deciding which one to knock off (that's knock off, not knock up btw) without the other girls being jealous.
    heh I wish! Best not to go there....one of my housemates who did just that, is now living with her technically.... that said wouldnt say no as long as i didnt sign the contract! As opposed to some ex housemates who you wouldnt touch with 5 mile long bargepole.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123