Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Best covers of songs?

Quote Originally Posted by Neish View Post
    Just heard a nomination for worst cover version

How soon is now - Love Spirt -----(Orginak version The Smiths).

Its the theme tune to American show Charmed, have a Tv in the canteen at work and a load of woman watching the show, wanted to throw the TV though the window when I heard the tune.
    It's vile indeed. Horrible faux-metal poser muck.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    ...should all be on a compilation called 'Rock N Rolls Greatest War Crimes'.

Opportunistic pub rock, grand scale karaoke and cynical basking in the afterglow of greater talent.
    Steady Lionel!! - some of your tender love ballads are not above criticism!!!!
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Steady Lionel!! - some of your tender love ballads are not above criticism!!!!
    More sinned against than sinned. Faith No Mores' pointless regurgation of 'Easy' comes to mind.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Other faves, not already mentioned, off the top of me head:
    The Futureheads - Hounds Of Love
    absolute genius !

also richard cheese and stephan hawking " the girl is mine" LOL
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    bruce springsteen - viva las vegas
    bruce springsteen . jersey girl.
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Sonic Youth: Into The Groove(y)

115 Posts
    Neish, Marked Man, read the thread through lads! :P

Didn't know 'Step On' was a cover though, you really do live and learn!
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by Neish View Post
    Just heard a nomination for worst cover version

How soon is now - Love Spirt -----(Orginak version The Smiths).

Its the theme tune to American show Charmed, have a Tv in the canteen at work and a load of woman watching the show, wanted to throw the TV though the window when I heard the tune.
    tATu's version isn't bad. It's exactly how you'd imagine a tATU cover of How Soon is Now to sound,

Jimmy Eat World - Last Christmas - Wham
    Goo Goo Dolls - A Million Miles Away - The Plimsouls (nothing to do with The Offspring)
    The Get Up Kids - Regret - New Order
    Stabbing Westward - Bizarre Love Triangle - New Order
    Therapy? - Diane - Hisker Du
    The Lemonheads - Mrs.Robinson - Simon & Garfunkel
    Everclear - Brown Eyed Girl - Van Morrison
    Me First And The Gimme Gimmes - The Rainbow Connection - Kermit The Frog
    The Ataris - Boys of Summer - Don Henley
    Feeder - Can't Stand Losing You - The Police
    Foo Fighters - Baker Street - Uh... I'm not sure actually... Jerry Refferty?
    Faith No More - I Started A Joke - Not sure again but The Bee Gees wrote it
    Quietdrive - Time After Time - Cyndi Lauper
    Limbeck - I Want It That Way - Backstreet Boys
    Social Distortion - Pretty In Pink - Psycedelic Furs
    Codeseven - Boys of Summer - Don Henley

and the greatest cover of all time is:

Lit - Pictures of You - The Cure
    Last edited by sadloserkid; 17/07/2007 at 12:12 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Didn't know 'Step On' was a cover though, you really do live and learn!
    They didn't exactly advertise the fact.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

60 Posts
    Sonic Youth's cover of Superstar by the Carpenters is pretty damn good.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Channel 4 (I think) did a feature on Eurovision a few years back and it featured two excellent Cover Versions. Keneckie did Brotherhood of Mans' 'Save All Your Kisses For Me' and Shane McGowan and The Popes did Johnny whatsisface' 'What's Another Year?'

I detest Eurovision but both those were quality.

Ian Brown - Billie Jean
    Oasis - I Am The Walrus (circa 94)
    The Lemonheads - Mrs Robinson

Does "Walking with Jesus" - Spiritualized actually count or is Spacemen 3 too close?

Lots of Cash ones on the "American" albums. I would've put down his coming back to prominence down to those albums rather than the film tbh, but I wouldn't have thought he slipped that far from the consciousness of music people, would he? The scousers would claim credit for feckin anything if they're attempting to claim credit for the Cash revival...

Leather Nun: Gimme Gimme Gimme (Abba)

20 Posts
    there is a country band called hem who have an album waiting for tom. has two cracking cover versions on it.
    south central rain - REM and the criminally underated - radiation vibe by the fountains of wayne.
    check them out on itunes - well worth the 1.98€

Quote Originally Posted by Marked Man View Post
    Leather Nun: Gimme Gimme Gimme (Abba)
    Gabba -Gimme Gimme Gimme Shock Treatment at Midnight

Not sure if this has been up all ready as im not reading through all the posts but this is my favourite song at the momment

Israel Kamakawiwo'ole :- somewhere over the rainbow/ what a wonderfull world .

Every cover version The Clash did.
    California Über Alles - The Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy
    It's A Heartache - Arab Strap
    Shiny Happy People - Fatima Mansions
    They say what about the meek?
    I say they’ve got a bloody cheek

115 Posts
    The Klaxons - It's Not Over Yet.
    Isn't this a dance tune from a few years back that I thought at the time was yer wan from Texas but wasn't? It's a better version if so.
    more bass

It was a hit around 1995 as i recall , Grace I think the artist was called,
    Some other ones I like
    Jose Gonzalez - Heartbeats
    Futureheads - Hounds of Love
    Placebo - Running up that Hill
    Manic Street Preachers - Suicide is Painless

Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast